English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 January 2011, 20:23   #1301
Abaddon
Registered User

Abaddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chicago/USA
Age: 48
Posts: 422
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
Re-read my last reply. I edited it.
I edited mine as well after re-reading yours. Should I just open a ticket with amigakit?
Abaddon is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 01 January 2011, 20:43   #1302
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abaddon View Post
I edited mine as well after re-reading yours. Should I just open a ticket with amigakit?
Well its better to do that, as we are using this thread for support.
FOL is offline  
Old 01 January 2011, 21:29   #1303
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abaddon View Post
Kickstart memory: $bf7cc20
That should be $bf80000 - thanks for that report. Seems to be a bug in ACAtune.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 01 January 2011, 22:37   #1304
Oliver_A
Soldering Ironman
Oliver_A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany, NRW
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abaddon View Post
The message I get when using maprom is:
Kickstart memory: $bf7cc20
Copying 512kb Kickstart... done!
Is this the message when starting ACATune from startup-sequence? Or did you use ACATune from Workbench? What happens when you do this after booting your Amiga without startup-sequence?

ACATune is only guaranteed to work when it is the first program started from startup-sequence. The reason for this is the fact that it needs to allocate memory at a certain fixed position. If some app has already taken parts of that memory, then things are certain to screw up.

Guess I need to fix the detection routine if that case has happened.

Last edited by Oliver_A; 01 January 2011 at 23:05.
Oliver_A is offline  
Old 01 January 2011, 23:33   #1305
Abaddon
Registered User

Abaddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chicago/USA
Age: 48
Posts: 422
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oliver_A View Post
Is this the message when starting ACATune from startup-sequence? Or did you use ACATune from Workbench? What happens when you do this after booting your Amiga without startup-sequence?

ACATune is only guaranteed to work when it is the first program started from startup-sequence. The reason for this is the fact that it needs to allocate memory at a certain fixed position. If some app has already taken parts of that memory, then things are certain to screw up.

Guess I need to fix the detection routine if that case has happened.
I started it from workbench, but after reading your post I restarted my Amiga without workbench and executed the command and it worked fine. I have added the command as the first line in startup and -maprom is working fine.

Now I just have to figure out why WHDLoad freezes with the mmu tooltype.
Abaddon is offline  
Old 02 January 2011, 05:12   #1306
Magno Boots
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Hertfordshire
Posts: 685
RE: ACA630/30

Finally got a chance to fit the board this evening.

First impressions... wow! ... completely different machine.

I was initially worried about clipping the card onto the 68000, but there were no problems at all. The board's socket gave a nice reassuring click when pushed down upon. It just sort of snapped into place.

I've been running it solid for about four hours and am pleased to report no problems at all.

Here's a couple of screenshots showing the device straight out of the box (haven't used ACATune as yet)..

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_8291.jpg
Views:	380
Size:	223.2 KB
ID:	27463

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_8292.jpg
Views:	417
Size:	211.2 KB
ID:	27464

Might be time to offload a couple of my A1200's
Magno Boots is offline  
Old 02 January 2011, 16:33   #1307
Nikolaj_sofus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Copenhagen / Denmark
Age: 37
Posts: 259
Send a message via MSN to Nikolaj_sofus
Magna Boots.... thats one sexy miggi
Cant wait to get my board.
Unfortunatly ive been out of the country over christmas and newyears, so had to postpone the delivery.
Cant wait to get home

Where did you get that cf adaptor from?
Gonna have some problems fitting mine in the machine with the ACA630 installed.
Nikolaj_sofus is offline  
Old 02 January 2011, 17:11   #1308
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
Yeah I wanna know where you got that CF adaptor too, it's super convenient!
Akira is offline  
Old 02 January 2011, 17:19   #1309
cv643d
Registered User
cv643d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 726
Its made by the finish dude who makes the IDE A500 interface.
cv643d is offline  
Old 02 January 2011, 20:34   #1310
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,946
Yup, that is the CF adapter by mkl but they are all sold out.

http://amibay.com/showthread.php?t=7158&

I'm not a fan of them. What is the point over a $2 standard adapter + cable if you cannot get access to remove the card?
alexh is online now  
Old 02 January 2011, 20:46   #1311
PulsatingQuasar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 57
Built In

This is my Amiga 600 with the ACA630/30 built in. My personal opinion is that the cooling element was getting quite warm so I decided to do something about it.

The fan is running on 7V so the loudest thing is still the harddisk but the temperature difference is enormous.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0036.jpg
Views:	235
Size:	315.5 KB
ID:	27470   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0037.jpg
Views:	342
Size:	442.9 KB
ID:	27471   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0038.jpg
Views:	329
Size:	491.0 KB
ID:	27472  
PulsatingQuasar is offline  
Old 02 January 2011, 20:50   #1312
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,517
This is why CF instead of HDD is recommended, imo.
Predseda is offline  
Old 02 January 2011, 20:52   #1313
PulsatingQuasar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 57
Using a CF doesn't change the temperature of the cooling element.
PulsatingQuasar is offline  
Old 02 January 2011, 20:54   #1314
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,517
I dont think so, CF doesn't produce much additional heat, in comparison to harddisk. At least my experience.
Predseda is offline  
Old 02 January 2011, 20:58   #1315
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post

I'm not a fan of them. What is the point over a $2 standard adapter + cable if you cannot get access to remove the card?
Its cosmetic, looks better - thats all

I bought one a couple of weeks ago so maybe he still has a couple.

I imagine there will be quite a few people wanting these again regardless of price.

And perhaps if there was a group buy the price would come down.

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 02 January 2011, 20:59   #1316
PulsatingQuasar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Predseda View Post
I dont think so, CF doesn't produce much additional heat, in comparison to harddisk. At least my experience.
The harddisk occupies 10 to 15 percent of the space of the heatsink and is running much cooler then the heatsink on the ACA630. The temperature of the heatsink is totally due to the 68030.

I run the Amiga 600 with the harddisk in the location where it is on the photo. Believe me, the harddisk doesn't do diddly squat to the temperature. I know because I have tested this.
PulsatingQuasar is offline  
Old 03 January 2011, 02:22   #1317
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,617
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
Its cosmetic, looks better - thats all

I bought one a couple of weeks ago so maybe he still has a couple.

I imagine there will be quite a few people wanting these again regardless of price.

And perhaps if there was a group buy the price would come down.

Steve.
If there was enough interest i would make a batch of 50, the price would be ~ $20. As Steve says small orders do not get the price break to make it worthwhile.

edit. i would be willing to try to accomodate the design of the boarrd to make the CF card removeable without opening the case, and of course not interfere with the other cards that may be in the Amiga
kipper2k is offline  
Old 03 January 2011, 04:38   #1318
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
If the heatsink is warm then you can kiss your keyboard ribbon cable goodbye shortly
gibs is offline  
Old 03 January 2011, 11:05   #1319
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by gibs View Post
If the heatsink is warm then you can kiss your keyboard ribbon cable goodbye shortly
The heatsink is warm, not hot. It's well within the limits of that flat cable.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 03 January 2011, 12:53   #1320
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,946
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
I imagine there will be quite a few people wanting these again regardless of price.
Nah, glue a regular one to the top of the PCMCIA connector and file the slot taller. Looks perfect and gives you access to the card.
alexh is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Santa's come early... A new scandoubler from Individual Computers NovaCoder News 708 18 October 2016 23:43
Details for the next generation of Flickerfixers from Individual Computers MarkONE News 2438 01 February 2016 13:04
A600 board versions and accelerator cards LePiaf support.Hardware 9 03 September 2012 13:49
Individual Computers Silver Sponsor of the Revision gibs Amiga scene 1 22 April 2011 17:43
New products by individual Computers Paul News 0 30 November 2004 16:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.55496 seconds with 12 queries