English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 September 2010, 21:54   #101
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
If you do thermal tests, please have a go with a HxC Stand Alone (SD) Floppy emulator unit fitted.

http://www.torlus.com/floppy/

I'm sure the guy would send you one and now there is no need for the LCD because it has a host application they are looking pretty cool.
alexh is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 September 2010, 23:35   #102
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
If you do thermal tests, please have a go with a HxC Stand Alone (SD) Floppy emulator unit fitted.
Sorry, that's not going to happen. I will do the thermal tests in order to have something on file for warranty cases where people make funny claims. In any case, I will not do tests with any foreign hardware, as I have no influence on their quality control, component sources or component tracking (I doubt that they have implemented any QA of that level).

If the user decides to combine certain pieces of hardware, my responsibility ends whenever I do not make that hardware. Only exception is the Amiga itself. I'm not liable for anyone else's hardware, so I don't spend time on testing. I'll do my thing, and I'll keep some safety margin. It's up to common sense of the user not to exceed those safety margins.

As always at the end of a working day: Results!
I noticed that the memory chips got pretty warm (over 40 deg. Celsius) and found that I have implemented the "automotive" refresh timing, which makes a lot more refresh-cycles than the "commercial" refresh requirements. I have now reduced to commercial timing, and the memory temperature came down to 37 degrees. In theory, memory performance should have increased, but it seems that the effect is below measurable threshold when using the bustest tool.

Like I wrote this afternoon, memory is now added to the system memory pool automatically on startup using Z3 autoconfig.

I also implemented a non-MMU Maprom function for $f8 kickstart (re-mapping to $40f80000) and it seems that performance is considerably higher than using an MMU. Could anyone verify this? Result looks really pretty, almost 6 MIPS out of this poor little 25MHz EC030!

Jens
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ACA630_proto_EC030.jpg
Views:	622
Size:	76.8 KB
ID:	26491   Click image for larger version

Name:	ACA630_proto_EC030_25MHz_Maprom.jpg
Views:	589
Size:	55.9 KB
ID:	26492  
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 17 September 2010, 00:43   #103
Khyron
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: SnowLand, Canada
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omolungo View Post
I would like to keep my old good floppy drive inside the A600, an all in one machine

But we will see, for now I wish you a very good work
I agree, the compact/portable design of the A600 is what makes the system. If it gets to be the size of an A1200 then the A600's usefullness over the A1200 stops existing..
Most people I know use the A600 because it makes a nice "game console" for playing games on the living room TV, and it's able to run most of the more stubborn/older games (Kick1.3/68000), but it is missing the extra ram, and some more horse power for some games (Archipelagos, Virus, Frontier etc..)

I wouldn't mind taking a speed hit if it meant keeping the floppy drive internal.. and being able to switch the accelerator off to fallback to the 68000 would also be a very nice feature
Khyron is offline  
Old 17 September 2010, 02:55   #104
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
The plan is to have ACA630, A603, Indivision ECS and a harddrive-replacement properly fixed in a closed A600 case with an external df0: and no soldering required.

Jens
Hiya Jens,

Yep it makes sense to ditch the internal floppy drive (which are next to useless now). I used my PCMCIA CF reader much more than my floppy drive

How about mounting a simple CF reader where the floppy normally sits? This way users can use the vacant floppy slot to stick their cards in and leave the PCMCIA free for other duties. I saw someone has already made such a board for the A500 (it's in this months Amiga Future mag).

Also with the 'hard drive replacement', any chance of creating a proper cradle/mount that will hold a hard drive or flash card securely?


Last edited by NovaCoder; 17 September 2010 at 04:42.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 17 September 2010, 09:36   #105
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
How about mounting a simple CF reader where the floppy normally sits?
You can already do that and I'm 90% sure they already make kits for the PC so they will be cheap. However I don't think they would be any smaller than the floppy drive and so won't fit with Indivision ECS fitted.
alexh is offline  
Old 18 September 2010, 22:54   #106
rockersuke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Madrid / Spain
Age: 50
Posts: 253
I'm following with interest the results of those thermal tests. I particularly dislike the idea of dismembering my A600, whose internal floppy thing still works OK, but I desperately need the fast RAM to make it the perfect easily portable whdload machine to carry to retro-gaming parties.

That means, and I hope you, Zetro, are listening , that against all odds I'm still interested in certain A608 project, but my opinion could drastically change if the A600 accelerator is usable without removing the drive.

I'm keeping an aye on this!

--
rockersuke is offline  
Old 19 September 2010, 02:55   #107
cv643d
Registered User
cv643d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 726
Very nice, already looking for an A600 to add these goodies.

A pin header for an on/off switch for the A600 card would be a nice thing, totally useless yes, but still nice

Nice work, I hope you make a million from the cards in December
cv643d is offline  
Old 20 September 2010, 03:16   #108
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 767
The obvious thing to do would be to have a SD card slot right there on the acc board itself, and use an SD card as hard drive. I bet it would also be a heck lot faster than using the motherboard IDE controller, and heck... why not throw in a row of pins and a breakout board with another SD card slot to act as "floppy drive", to exchange ADFs with other devices, or just use image files on a card for the lot, like on MiniMig.
kolla is offline  
Old 20 September 2010, 05:40   #109
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,785
When are these cool cards coming out?
Pyromania is offline  
Old 20 September 2010, 05:44   #110
stefcep2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 174
IMO, a stock A600 and A1200 are unfinished computers. Some form of RAM or CPU expansion is essential. I reckon the A600 cards will sell like hot cakes: small form factor, fast ram, PCMCIA, CF on the IDE interface and you have a great portable Amiga WHDload machine
stefcep2 is offline  
Old 20 September 2010, 11:04   #111
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by stefcep2 View Post
I reckon the A600 cards will sell like hot cakes: small form factor, fast ram, PCMCIA, CF on the IDE interface and you have a great portable Amiga WHDload machine
Depends if Zetr0 can get his ass into gear with his A608. The Fast RAM this card offers makes WHDload work much better and will be the best "value for money" upgrade for an A600. If he could produce them now at a good price I think they would be more attractive to cheapskates like me.
alexh is offline  
Old 20 September 2010, 11:19   #112
rave
Amiga's made me who I am.

rave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Nottingham UK
Age: 38
Posts: 167
Send a message via AIM to rave Send a message via MSN to rave Send a message via Yahoo to rave Send a message via Skype™ to rave
Im exstatic!

Patiently sitting here waiting for the A600 version

I remember having a conversation with Jens about one a few years back, its awesome to see them closer to production now.
rave is offline  
Old 20 September 2010, 12:44   #113
Amigaman
Registered User
Amigaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: London
Posts: 116
This is all great news. I am looking forward to being able to get one of these. Is there anywhere we can officially pre-order? A600/30 sounds cool. When are we going to get a A600/60? just kidding
Amigaman is offline  
Old 21 September 2010, 00:36   #114
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amigaman View Post
When are we going to get a A600/60? just kidding
Running at 66MHz? A666? Evil!

I'd buy it though, even if it would cost a fortune
kolla is offline  
Old 21 September 2010, 10:57   #115
Amigaman
Registered User
Amigaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: London
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
Running at 66MHz? A666? Evil!

Yeah we need a new badge "A666"

Jens; are you up for a challenge?
Amigaman is offline  
Old 23 September 2010, 16:11   #116
Mick_AKA
crusader of light

Mick_AKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stone, Staffordshire.
Posts: 1,136
Cant wait for the day my A600HD may actually be useful for something!
Mick_AKA is offline  
Old 24 September 2010, 17:50   #117
DyLucke
Cookie Muncher
DyLucke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Spain
Age: 42
Posts: 232
When are these A1200 expansion boards coming to light? Could i pre-order one? Or will i need to wait 'till they come to light? How many boards are projected? Will these new ones be slightly faster than a Bliz IV? Or maybe it wouldn't be worth the change? I'm anxious. ^^
DyLucke is offline  
Old 24 September 2010, 22:25   #118
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
I haven't made the SD-Ram controller for anything faster than 25MHz/28MHz yet, so at this point, the Blizzard is faster. You cannot pre-order, the accelerators will be available before Xmas from my known resellers.

Many parts have arrived this week, most of them for the A600 version. The second prototype is assembled, but not yet operational (will do that tomorrow). The basic idea for the A600 is "angled":
Click image for larger version

Name:	ACA630_proto2_naked.jpg
Views:	475
Size:	52.2 KB
ID:	26546

The CPU will be covered with a heat-transfer pad:
Click image for larger version

Name:	ACA630_proto2_trans_pad.jpg
Views:	433
Size:	45.3 KB
ID:	26547

A laser-cut aluminium cooler (4mm thickness) is mounted on top:
Click image for larger version

Name:	ACA630_proto2_cooler_mounted.jpg
Views:	422
Size:	45.7 KB
ID:	26548Click image for larger version

Name:	ACA630_proto2_cooler_sideview.jpg
Views:	400
Size:	17.8 KB
ID:	26549

...and the mass-storage unit (here: CF card acapter) is mounted on the cooler:
Click image for larger version

Name:	ACA630_proto2_CF_adapter.jpg
Views:	440
Size:	59.7 KB
ID:	26550

The whole unit is then pushed on top of the 68000 processor, and held in place with two screws:
Click image for larger version

Name:	ACA630_proto2_screwmount1.jpg
Views:	403
Size:	43.2 KB
ID:	26551Click image for larger version

Name:	ACA630_proto2_screwmount2.jpg
Views:	404
Size:	45.6 KB
ID:	26552

Indivision ECS on an A603 now fits, even with the CPU in a socket. The A603 is at a slight angle and all components touch each other, but there is no short or anything dangerous:
Click image for larger version

Name:	ACA630_proto2_Indivision_fit.jpg
Views:	404
Size:	36.4 KB
ID:	26553

...to be continued in the next post, as I may only upload 8 pictures per post.
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 24 September 2010, 22:29   #119
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
...and more Indivision ECS fitting:
Click image for larger version

Name:	ACA630_proto2_Indivision_fit2.jpg
Views:	459
Size:	70.4 KB
ID:	26554

I have moved the mass-storage unit about 10mm to the back of the computer, so the keyboard still fits nicely:
Click image for larger version

Name:	ACA630_proto2_keyboard_fitted.jpg
Views:	409
Size:	51.3 KB
ID:	26555

And one more picture of the whole test-setup:
Click image for larger version

Name:	ACA630_proto2_overview.jpg
Views:	489
Size:	63.5 KB
ID:	26556

I will fire up the thing sometime tomorrow, close the case and make a few AIBB modules. If the temperature inside the case stays below reasonable temperatures, I'll keep it with passive cooling. Keep your fingers crossed!

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 24 September 2010, 23:00   #120
Omolungo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Livorno, Italy
Posts: 328
Crossing finger, but for now: great work!

Three months to Xmas
Omolungo is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Santa's come early... A new scandoubler from Individual Computers NovaCoder News 708 18 October 2016 23:43
Details for the next generation of Flickerfixers from Individual Computers MarkONE News 2438 01 February 2016 13:04
A600 board versions and accelerator cards LePiaf support.Hardware 9 03 September 2012 13:49
Individual Computers Silver Sponsor of the Revision gibs Amiga scene 1 22 April 2011 17:43
New products by individual Computers Paul News 0 30 November 2004 16:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.48845 seconds with 12 queries