English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 December 2010, 21:53   #1121
Oliver_A
Soldering Ironman
Oliver_A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany, NRW
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigarobbo View Post
Err, in my case, that would work, as the maprom command has not been run.

Should the first line be acatune -maprom * >NIL:

???

Because I just tried it, first boot fine, the on reboots only showing the purple insert disk screen, no dh0: in boot devices etc.
I'll explain again what the problem is:

The ACA1230-56 has a very fast CPU->Amiga mainboard and CPU->SDRAM interface. The card can indeed do some memory related operations faster than a 68060 board.

When you turn on your Amiga the first time, Kickstart is executed from the slow internal ROM. So, when your Amiga waits for the IDE device to initialize, it waits long enough to be recognized.

When maprom is active, Kickstart is executed from very fast SDRAM. When the Amiga reboots with maprom activated, it doesn't wait long enough for your IDE device, jumping to the purple disk screen before it can answer "HERE, I AM THERE, I AM READY".

This happens when you use acatune -maprom * -cache on -burst on >NIL: option, because that way, maprom is reset proof.

There is a second way to do maprom, by using the cpu command, which is part of your Amiga OS. This time, maprom is not reset proof, since the MMU is being used to map the rom. Which means, every time you reset the Amiga, it starts from ROM, recognizes the IDE drive, boots, and THEN copies the Kickstart to RAM.

So again, does it solve your problem if you insert the exact two lines I posted earlier in your startup-sequence?

acatune >NIL:
cpu cache burst fastrom >NIL:

That way, you should have a booting Amiga WITH maprom (which is called fastrom if you use the cpu command).

Last edited by Oliver_A; 19 December 2010 at 22:21.
Oliver_A is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 19 December 2010, 22:09   #1122
amigarobbo
Registered User
amigarobbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 182
Yes, that worked.

Last edited by amigarobbo; 19 December 2010 at 22:13. Reason: deleted reference to deleted material.
amigarobbo is offline  
Old 19 December 2010, 22:20   #1123
Oliver_A
Soldering Ironman
Oliver_A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany, NRW
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigarobbo View Post
Yes, that worked.
Great, this means that you now have a working ACA1230-56Mhz at full speed.

So, anyone having problems with a non-booting Amiga and the ACA1230-56Mhz, use

acatune >NIL:
cpu cache burst fastrom >NIL:

for the time, while we try to work around these issues.
Oliver_A is offline  
Old 19 December 2010, 23:38   #1124
vroom6sri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peterborough
Age: 41
Posts: 566
@Amigakit - where does the package tracking show these accelerators (only selfishly interested in the 28mhz A1200 one TBH) are? On the M25? Damn I hope you get them tomorrow.
vroom6sri is offline  
Old 19 December 2010, 23:47   #1125
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,709
DPD courier website shows that the accelerators are in Oldbury (UK) at the moment- I hope the snow doesn't delay them getting down to Cardiff tomorrow.
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 20 December 2010, 00:27   #1126
TronPlayer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: California, US
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oliver_A View Post
Great, this means that you now have a working ACA1230-56Mhz at full speed.

So, anyone having problems with a non-booting Amiga and the ACA1230-56Mhz, use

acatune >NIL:
cpu cache burst fastrom >NIL:

for the time, while we try to work around these issues.
I added this to my startup sequence and the system seems more stable. But with this added, I am unable to initiate a reboot via Settings->System->Reboot under ClassicWB ADVSP. Could someone please test this? Thanks
TronPlayer is offline  
Old 20 December 2010, 04:06   #1127
RMK
Registered User
RMK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 177
Please tell me that no one has experienced any issues with WHDLoad and the ACA 56MHz?
RMK is offline  
Old 20 December 2010, 15:25   #1128
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,709
Good News!

The ACA 1230/28 and 1230/56 arrived today despite the very heavy snow conditions that have hit us today. The courier decided to only deliver a small amount of his usual packages and randomly selected us in that small quota of parcels.

We will now continue processing the accelerator orders..
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 20 December 2010, 15:36   #1129
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,617
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigakit.com View Post
Good News!

The ACA 1230/28 and 1230/56 arrived today despite the very heavy snow conditions that have hit us today. The courier decided to only deliver a small amount of his usual packages and randomly selected us in that small quota of parcels.

We will now continue processing the accelerator orders..
My order for the aca630 is showing ...

Status: Awaiting Stock 12/03/2010 Next Stock Expected: Thursday 23 December, 2010
and the 1230 showing

ACA 1230/56 AcceleratorStatus: Awaiting Stock 12/03/2010

both orders showing pending ?
kipper2k is offline  
Old 20 December 2010, 15:51   #1130
deicidal
Registered Insane

deicidal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ununited Kingdom
Posts: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigakit.com View Post
Good News!

The ACA 1230/28 and 1230/56 arrived today despite the very heavy snow conditions that have hit us today. The courier decided to only deliver a small amount of his usual packages and randomly selected us in that small quota of parcels.

We will now continue processing the accelerator orders..
ooo I wonder if this meens I may have mine for christmas morning so I am not just opening socks from my loved one
deicidal is offline  
Old 20 December 2010, 16:15   #1131
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,709
@kipper2k

The ACA 1230 accelerators have only just come through our doors! The system will be updated shortly.

We will be processing orders in the order we received them.

Last edited by amigakit.com; 20 December 2010 at 16:29.
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 20 December 2010, 19:19   #1132
Pavel
The Swede
Pavel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Age: 37
Posts: 43
No point in using fedex for me now... even they cant deliver it to my doorstep by thursday... oh, well at least i have something to look forward to after christmas holiday - ACA1230/56 together with two weeks off from work!
Pavel is offline  
Old 20 December 2010, 23:01   #1133
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,671
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
I would like to ask a favour:

Can someone that already has a new ACA (better the one I'm waiting, 1230/56) try the new ScummVM with Full Throttle and tell?

AGA port of ScummVM V1.2.0 for 68030

AGA port of ScummVM V1.2.0 for 68040

AGA port of ScummVM V1.2.0 for 68060

I tried with my B1260 and I coudn't run it right.
I've been searching in Google, " scummvm full throttle english ". I have no idea what's there

BTW: I've changed my avatar... Oh... I liked that Queen soundtrack and that Flash Gordon movie:
Zogi, the High Priest: Do you, Ming the Merciless, Ruler of the Universe, take this Earthling Dale Arden, to be your Empress of the Hour?
The Emperor Ming: Of the hour, yes.
Zogi, the High Priest: Do you promise to use her as you will?
The Emperor Ming: Certainly!
Zogi, the High Priest: Not to blast her into space?[Ming glares at Zogi]
Zogi, the High Priest: Uh, until such time as you grow weary of her.
The Emperor Ming: I do.
Dale Arden: I do NOT!

Last edited by Retrofan; 21 December 2010 at 00:24.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 21 December 2010, 00:33   #1134
amigarobbo
Registered User
amigarobbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by RMK View Post
Please tell me that no one has experienced any issues with WHDLoad and the ACA 56MHz?
They seem to be working fine for me.

But alas I've been really busy, so I've not exactly tested, everything
amigarobbo is offline  
Old 21 December 2010, 14:50   #1135
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,671
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Are the Amigakit order status updated yet? Mine shows 1 xACA 1230/56 Accelerator
Status: Awaiting Stock 11/23/2010
I don't understand... I posted here they were for sale before Amigakit even told it, and I bought it 1 hour, 39 min later. Am I so down in the list?
Retrofan is offline  
Old 21 December 2010, 15:05   #1136
Paul_s
needs more ice cream

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 39
Posts: 3,162
@RetroFan, usually AmigaKit carry out Quality Control testing (*FOL wears an hair hat, white overalls and wellies like they do in ASDA at the cheese counter) so that may take a couple of days to sort through... I reckon you won't be waiting much longer

*this may not be true
Paul_s is offline  
Old 21 December 2010, 15:11   #1137
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
@Retr0fan, there are a lot of Ninja's here
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 21 December 2010, 15:11   #1138
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Are the Amigakit order status updated yet? Mine shows 1 xACA 1230/56 Accelerator
Status: Awaiting Stock 11/23/2010
I don't understand... I posted here they were for sale before Amigakit even told it, and I bought it 1 hour, 39 min later. Am I so down in the list?
Asking here wont help.
We are currently working through them in order.

PM me your order number, so I can check.
This is a one off, I dont want everyone pm'ing asking where their order is.
amigakit.com order history should tell you everything you need to know.

Also, paul_s is correct (apart from the hair net, overalls and wellies). We like to test everything before we ship it out.
Once tested, I place a tested sticker on each card.

Last edited by FOL; 21 December 2010 at 15:17.
FOL is offline  
Old 21 December 2010, 15:20   #1139
Steven
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Bonnybridge
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
Asking here wont help.
We are currently working through them in order.

PM me your order number, so I can check.
This is a one off, I dont want everyone pm'ing asking where their order is.
amigakit.com order history should tell you everything you need to know.

Also, paul_s is correct (apart from the hair net, overalls and wellies). We like to test everything before we ship it out.
Once tested, I place a tested sticker on each card.
You can only imagine what people would do if you posted them out without checking they are working okay!

I want to make a change to my order but nobody has replied to my ticket yet, is it okay to phone just now or is everybody too busy?
Steven is offline  
Old 21 December 2010, 15:24   #1140
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven View Post
You can only imagine what people would do if you posted them out without checking they are working okay!

I want to make a change to my order but nobody has replied to my ticket yet, is it okay to phone just now or is everybody too busy?
I can see your ticket on the system, just havent had chance to get round to checking them all. You would'nt beleive the amount of tickets we actually get each day.

EDIT:- I have replied to your ticket. Please can you check it and add the info I need.
FOL is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Santa's come early... A new scandoubler from Individual Computers NovaCoder News 708 18 October 2016 23:43
Details for the next generation of Flickerfixers from Individual Computers MarkONE News 2438 01 February 2016 13:04
A600 board versions and accelerator cards LePiaf support.Hardware 9 03 September 2012 13:49
Individual Computers Silver Sponsor of the Revision gibs Amiga scene 1 22 April 2011 17:43
New products by individual Computers Paul News 0 30 November 2004 16:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.44600 seconds with 12 queries