English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 December 2010, 18:38   #881
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Age: 100
Posts: 4,024
MP3 - The problem isn't the processing or kHz, it's the bit depth. You really need more than 8 bits to avoid aliasing distorsion and crackle-noise for any song that isn't heavily produced pop. Anything that is quiet or subtle somewhere you will hear noise instead of the quiet or subtle. Every 's' in a song will be a lisp and every crash cymbal in a metal song will sound like a crap cymbal.

Thought about MP3 for my A600 Portable (which soon will be faster ) and considered just plopping a normal MP3 player in it and giving it power and a switch to switch Amiga/mp3 to audio output. To have music while coding on demoparties. 0% CPU load
Photon is offline  
AdSense AdSense  




Old 02 December 2010, 19:46   #882
RMK
Registered User
RMK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon View Post

I can only say, glad someone thought of it !
He didn't, he underclocked one
RMK is offline  
Old 02 December 2010, 20:14   #883
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Prague, CZ
Age: 36
Posts: 2,979
Even Amiga 1200 with Blizzard 1230 / 50 MHz is not capable to play mp3s well.
Predseda is offline  
Old 02 December 2010, 21:39   #884
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Age: 100
Posts: 4,024
RMK, hehe. Well you are correct and I am fail, what can I say.
Photon is offline  
Old 02 December 2010, 21:41   #885
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,534
Just a reminder and clarification:

If you wish to upgrade order to ACA 630-30 Stealth Accelerator , please raise Support Ticket, thanks.

Do not send an email to our sales email box- it is important to only use the Support Ticket system for order changes.
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 02 December 2010, 22:38   #886
amigarobbo
Registered User
amigarobbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by Predseda View Post
Even Amiga 1200 with Blizzard 1230 / 50 MHz is not capable to play mp3s well.
Maybe it's just the settings, but I've tried all the options, but MP3s on an Amiga 1200 with a Blizzard 1260/50 still sounds like they were recorded underwater
amigarobbo is offline  
Old 03 December 2010, 01:19   #887
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 3,797
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
##cof, cof## What? I use Amiga Amp, the Amiga connected to the Hi-Fi and I have no idea why to buy a soundcard. You only have to get Ahi well configured (two steps: Load Buffer 256k, Play buffer 1s).
Retrofan is offline  
Old 03 December 2010, 01:57   #888
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 2,978
Mine used to play MP3's pretty good with an 030 3:04
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 03 December 2010, 02:12   #889
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 3,797
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Mine used to play MP3's pretty good with an 030 3:04
Off topic, but now I understand what you talk about system speed: 4,442,118!!! At least I have more chip ram than you...
Retrofan is offline  
Old 03 December 2010, 02:20   #890
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 2,978
Yep that old 030 was tuned to the max
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 03 December 2010, 07:53   #891
Damion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: US
Posts: 202
@gibs

I ran a bustest on my 40MHz M-TEC, and can confirm the ACA630 is much faster in the chipram department, by roughly 1 MB/s in most areas. Fastram was close, IMHO impressive considering the clock difference. Unfortunately, the thing kept crashing before I got a chance to save the bustest or run AIBB. :-/
Damion is offline  
Old 03 December 2010, 09:11   #892
8bitbubsy
Protracker nerd

8bitbubsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Norway
Age: 24
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via MSN to 8bitbubsy
Even a 060 50MHz will be under heavy load by playing a 44kHz 16-bit 128kbps MP3.
8bitbubsy is offline  
Old 03 December 2010, 12:12   #893
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 869
Bad news: ACA1230 requires lid modification.

Hi guys,

while writing the manual and taking a few pictures, I noticed that the lid of the A1200 does not close when the ACA1230 is installed, because the CPU is way higher than originally planned due to the socket.

I added the socket fairly late in the design, especially due to requests from users of the a1k forum. I went through all the effort of finding a supplier who can deliver a PGA-128 socket with this pin layout in the year 2010, and now all this work is coming back like a boomerang.

Here are two pictures of the lid modification, in case you don't want to opearate the A1200 without the lid:

Click image for larger version

Name:	Lid_modification.jpg
Views:	427
Size:	22.4 KB
ID:	27248

Click image for larger version

Name:	Lid_modification2.jpg
Views:	383
Size:	6.9 KB
ID:	27249

I don't know if I should apologize for not having checked this when I made the decision pro-socket, or if I should be mad at myself 'cause I've listened to the wrong calls. I can't change anything on it at this point.

The only comforting thing: It looks cool.

Click image for larger version

Name:	ACA1230_Socket.jpg
Views:	404
Size:	60.5 KB
ID:	27250

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 03 December 2010, 12:21   #894
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 2,978
who cares about the trapdoor
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 03 December 2010, 12:24   #895
BrooksterMax
Registered User
BrooksterMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Norfolk UK
Age: 34
Posts: 331
I ordered a ACA1230 and I don't think this is a problem. Looks like a small cut to the plastic on the inside of the trapdoor, nothing external.

Some upgrades didn't even work with the lid on anyway
BrooksterMax is offline  
Old 03 December 2010, 12:26   #896
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 40
Posts: 4,906
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
@Jens
My Apollo cards fitted perfectly and always worked with the trapdoor on
DDNI is offline  
Old 03 December 2010, 12:53   #897
Riempie
Amiga freak
Riempie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 291
No problem Jens, a modification to the trapdoor seems fine. And no trapdoor at all is also no problem.

Maybe AmigaKit can make a customized trapdoor for your card
Riempie is offline  
Old 03 December 2010, 13:16   #898
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,509
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
Go withthe trapdoor lid mod. I had to do the same If not even more so with the 040/ppc card in place Due to heat in the end i had to scrap the lid and just use a strip of plastic to stop the card bending out under the heat.
Mad-Matt is online now  
Old 03 December 2010, 13:32   #899
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Prague, CZ
Age: 36
Posts: 2,979
Even with my MTec it was impossible to close trapdoor, so I think this really is not a problem.
Predseda is offline  
Old 03 December 2010, 14:00   #900
Wasagi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Essex / United Kingdom
Posts: 261
What is the benefit of the socket?
Wasagi is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Details for the next generation of Flickerfixers from Individual Computers MarkONE News 2420 16 July 2014 21:54
A600 board versions and accelerator cards LePiaf support.Hardware 9 03 September 2012 12:49
Santa's come early... A new scandoubler from Individual Computers NovaCoder News 705 07 September 2011 20:39
Individual Computers Silver Sponsor of the Revision gibs Amiga scene 1 22 April 2011 16:43
New products by individual Computers Paul News 0 30 November 2004 15:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23524 seconds with 12 queries