English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 November 2010, 23:51   #521
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 39
Posts: 1,333
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
I was just about to ask if the 630 would be overclockable, and I saw this



awesome
coze is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 November 2010, 08:17   #522
Amigaman
Registered User
Amigaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: London
Posts: 116
Oops... typo!!
Amigaman is offline  
Old 16 November 2010, 10:15   #523
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
oops - haven't seen this until now. Anyway, you get the idea :-)

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 16 November 2010, 10:47   #524
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,354
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope


;-)
Jope is offline  
Old 16 November 2010, 11:01   #525
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
is the A1200 version going have a full 030 on as well as the A600 ?

must admit after looking at the options the ACA 630/25 does on vesalia it looks better and better

vesalia has much more info than amigakit ????

http://www.vesalia.de/e_aca630-25.htm
http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...oducts_id=1003
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 16 November 2010, 11:07   #526
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmicfrog View Post
is the A1200 version going have a full 030 on as well as the A600 ?

must admit after looking at the options the ACA 630/25 does on vesalia it looks better and better

vesalia has much more info than amigakit ????

http://www.vesalia.de/e_aca630-25.htm
http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...oducts_id=1003

Looks pretty damn awesome, very tempted to add that and an IndiECS to my Xmas list
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 16 November 2010, 11:08   #527
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmicfrog View Post
vesalia has much more info than amigakit ????
I asked AmigaKit for proof-reading my English translation, while Vesalia has put their own translation online. Just give it another day until all shops are synced.

Meanwhile, the reference should be www.icomp.de .

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 16 November 2010, 11:31   #528
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmicfrog View Post
is the A1200 version going have a full 030 on as well as the A600 ?
Forgot to answer that: The A1200 version is a low-cost card, geared towards replacing overpriced memory expansions. The 99,- EUR price tag is only possible with the EC030 processor.

Just like the A600 card, the MapRom function will work without an MMU, so the main use for an MMU on an Amiga is already in the board logic.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 16 November 2010, 13:51   #529
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
thanks jens
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 16 November 2010, 14:18   #530
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,509
And can I replace EC030 with the full CPU - just pull out one and pust in another?
Predseda is offline  
Old 16 November 2010, 14:27   #531
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by Predseda View Post
And can I replace EC030 with the full CPU - just pull out one and pust in another?
Why are people already asking about doing weird shit to such fantastic hardware?

Anyway, I still can't decide if I should get the A1200 accelerator or the A600 one. My A1200 already has an 030 and my A600 is stock, then again, the whole combo with the Indie is a bit out of what I want to spend in these compuiters.

Gah, decisions!
Akira is offline  
Old 16 November 2010, 14:45   #532
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,928
That A1200 accelerator looks quite tasty, I think I'll be getting one of those for x-mas.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 16 November 2010, 14:59   #533
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,509
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Why are people already asking about doing weird shit to such fantastic hardware?
Sorry if you feel offended, this was just a hypothetical question.
Predseda is offline  
Old 16 November 2010, 15:20   #534
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
@Predseda
probably but from the looks of it the cpu will be soldered in place.
but unless you run linux then I really don`t see why you would want to do that as jens has done all the cool stuff you would want to do with the MMU on the card already
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 16 November 2010, 17:12   #535
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
@Predseda

Why would you need the MMU feature for?

As Jens pointed out the MapROM feature works without the need for an MMU. other than Amix - what would you need an MMU for?

Argualby the EC030 and full core 030 should be replaceable - I cannot see a reason as to why not - since the ACA630 is socketed - however there is a custom heatsink involved so it would best to seek confirmation from Jens.


@Coze

LOL.... "don't even think about overclocking" - now does that mean its running at half that clock (i.e. 25Mhz) or is it running at the full burst of 50Mhz -
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 16 November 2010, 18:27   #536
Fabie
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: France
Posts: 478
the mmu conflicts on certain whdload games and old applications
for retro-compatibility is better a EC cpu
anyways ...unless the mmu-refreshed video drivers of Fusion and Shapeshifter...I can't remember now an interesting application or game that uses the mmu
Fabie is offline  
Old 16 November 2010, 18:58   #537
chiark
Needs a life

chiark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 1,621
Does no-one else still use Enforcer? Really just me? Oh well
chiark is offline  
Old 16 November 2010, 19:41   #538
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,509
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
@Predseda

Why would you need the MMU feature for?

As Jens pointed out the MapROM feature works without the need for an MMU. other than Amix - what would you need an MMU for?
Just for the feeling. The same reason why I bought and installed FPU to my M-Tec
Predseda is offline  
Old 16 November 2010, 20:45   #539
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
@Predseda
probably the same reason as to why I`ll wait till the "pro" boards come out hehehehhe
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 16 November 2010, 21:14   #540
RMK
Registered User
RMK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 177
With the increase in speed from the modern memory, I'm sure there would be a market for a run of 060 cards for the A1200 and A4000. Jens could put together cards which would give you the fastest classic Amiga outside of emulation.

On another note, at least we now know ACA stands for Amiga Classic Accelerator.
RMK is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Santa's come early... A new scandoubler from Individual Computers NovaCoder News 708 18 October 2016 23:43
Details for the next generation of Flickerfixers from Individual Computers MarkONE News 2438 01 February 2016 13:04
A600 board versions and accelerator cards LePiaf support.Hardware 9 03 September 2012 13:49
Individual Computers Silver Sponsor of the Revision gibs Amiga scene 1 22 April 2011 17:43
New products by individual Computers Paul News 0 30 November 2004 16:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.33705 seconds with 12 queries