English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 November 2010, 14:22   #461
Allen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Blyth England
Age: 61
Posts: 733
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
@Amigakit

The price quoted for the ACA630 does that include the fitting?

Cheers

Steve.
Steve, from post #449 by Jens, it seems that you can fit the 600 card yourself, it is the seller who needs to be able to fix any problem due to micro cracks in the soldered 68000 CPU on the A600 motherboard. (easier to read the message)


That sounds terrible but you get the idea (I'm a bit off whack today)
Allen1 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 12 November 2010, 14:25   #462
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Allen1 View Post
Steve, from post #449 by Jens, it seems that you can fit the 600 card yourself, it is the seller who needs to be able to fix any problem due to micro cracks in the soldered 68000 CPU on the A600 motherboard. (easier to read the message)
Thanks Allan, such a long thread lol

For me I'll need to make a decision based on the fact I already have an Apollo 620 that I am in fact very happy with.

Maybe it will be an excuse to get another A600
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 12 November 2010, 14:30   #463
Allen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Blyth England
Age: 61
Posts: 733
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
Thanks Allan, such a long thread lol

For me I'll need to make a decision based on the fact I already have an Apollo 620 that I am in fact very happy with.

Maybe it will be an excuse to get another A600
I must say that I am tempted to get one of these for my 600, the 1200 030 is something else I would like but Xmas prezzies have to come first, then maybe these
Allen1 is offline  
Old 12 November 2010, 14:49   #464
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Allen1 View Post
I must say that I am tempted to get one of these for my 600, the 1200 030 is something else I would like but Xmas prezzies have to come first, then maybe these
Yep, now I'm thinking keep my A600 with the Apollo 620 and another A600 with Jens A603/ACA630/IndiECS combo, and poss have that in a Mini ATX System
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 12 November 2010, 15:02   #465
Amigaman
Registered User
Amigaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: London
Posts: 116
Since the full setup (A603, ACA630, IndieECS, cardflash drive) in a A600 requires the removal of the floppy drive, does anyone feel like making a converter for the case to have the output of the IndieECS comming out of the floppy slot, or maybe for those who want to install UBS, an adapter for that? USB connectors from the floppy slot. Save hacking new holes in the case....

Side note; can the old video output (silver box on the motherboard) be safely removed without affecting operation? if so, the IndieECS can have an output there.
Amigaman is offline  
Old 12 November 2010, 15:06   #466
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amigaman View Post
Side note; can the old video output (silver box on the motherboard) be safely removed without affecting operation? if so, the IndieECS can have an output there.
Yes, many people have done that for USB and Indi outputs

Just need someone with the skills to desolder it properly... Its where I'll feed my Indi ESC when I get one.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 12 November 2010, 15:34   #467
Amigaman
Registered User
Amigaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: London
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
Yes, many people have done that for USB and Indi outputs

Just need someone with the skills to desolder it properly... Its where I'll feed my Indi ESC when I get one.

Cool I have done some soldering/desoldering work before, but got to wait for xmas to see if Santa will bring me a nice new solder station. My cheapo iron is a bit chunky for the intricate stuff I want to try.
Amigaman is offline  
Old 12 November 2010, 17:02   #468
Nostromo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The World!
Posts: 414
I am thinking of getting an A1200 soon to play WHDLOAD games. Will the 030/28 Accelerator be enough or I better wait for the faster version?

Cheers!
Nostromo is offline  
Old 12 November 2010, 17:06   #469
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 39
Posts: 1,498
@everblue
The actual one 030/28 will be enough for WHDLOAD games.
gulliver is offline  
Old 12 November 2010, 17:13   #470
Nostromo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The World!
Posts: 414
Will it play that Zer0 shooter game too (whatever its called)?

Thanks
Nostromo is offline  
Old 12 November 2010, 17:18   #471
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by everblue View Post
Will it play that Zer0 shooter game too (whatever its called)?

Thanks
T-Zer0, yeah it should play that no problem.

But make sure you boot without startup and run it that way or else you wont have enough chip ram and it'll crash or not run.

This is nothing to with the accel card, even does this on my 060 if I try from workbench...

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 12 November 2010, 17:22   #472
Nostromo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The World!
Posts: 414
Great - now where can I get a nice A1200 and not be fleeced on shipping rates?
Nostromo is offline  
Old 12 November 2010, 17:32   #473
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by everblue View Post
Great - now where can I get a nice A1200 and not be fleeced on shipping rates?
Maybe I can help you out, more on PM...
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 12 November 2010, 18:15   #474
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by desiv View Post
Possibly a website glitch???
I haven't ordered yet either, so it will be interesting to see what's up..
Amigakit???
Well, I didn't notice a reply, but I checked again and see that the "Buy Now" button is there, so I am guessing it was just a website glitch..

Now I just have to get my wife to order that for me for X-Mas...

desiv
p.s. Yes, this will probably drop the prices on A1200/600 RAM accellerators on e-bait, but I wonder if it will raise the prices on A600's? People seem to be going crazy for the A600 version.. ;-)
desiv is offline  
Old 12 November 2010, 18:20   #475
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,709
Because it is a pre-order item, our webstore only allows pre-ordering with manual intervention so once stock gets pre-ordered, we need to manually switch the product back on for pre-ordering.

Product is active again for pre-ordering here:
http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...oducts_id=1002

Thank you!
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 12 November 2010, 18:59   #476
Khyron
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: SnowLand, Canada
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigakit.com View Post
Because it is a pre-order item, our webstore only allows pre-ordering with manual intervention so once stock gets pre-ordered, we need to manually switch the product back on for pre-ordering.

Product is active again for pre-ordering here:
http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...oducts_id=1002
Thank you!
Khyron is offline  
Old 12 November 2010, 22:09   #477
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,173
Just thought of something... Not sure if there's anything to it...
I remember hearing that some Amiga 1200's had problems with some accelerators??
Involving fixes to the cards or motherboards to make them happy????

Something about timing fixes or ???

Is this not likely to be an issue with these A1200 accelerators??

Just wondering..

desiv
desiv is offline  
Old 12 November 2010, 22:13   #478
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
I dont think so desiv that only affects some 040, 060 and and ppc cards. These 030's shouldn't have any problems :-)
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 12 November 2010, 22:36   #479
Oliver_A
Soldering Ironman
Oliver_A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany, NRW
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by everblue View Post
I am thinking of getting an A1200 soon to play WHDLOAD games. Will the 030/28 Accelerator be enough or I better wait for the faster version?

Cheers!
We developed the ACA1230-28Mhz specifically for WHDLOAD users who want to play their favourite games without much hassle. The processing power is more than enough, thanks to the fast memory interface, and with 64MB ram, you can set up a very nice Workbench environment.

The ACA1230-56Mhz will be the card for people, who want something faster than their old Blizzard/Apollo/MTEC 1230 cards and keep the compatibility of a 68030 CPU at the same time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by desiv View Post
I remember hearing that some Amiga 1200's had problems with some accelerators??
Don't worry, we have various A1200 board revisions here to test the design.

Last edited by Oliver_A; 12 November 2010 at 23:11.
Oliver_A is offline  
Old 13 November 2010, 00:36   #480
Vinamp
Registered User
Vinamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 12
Why can't we pre-order the ACA630 at Amigakit, unlike the ACA1230?
Vinamp is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Santa's come early... A new scandoubler from Individual Computers NovaCoder News 708 18 October 2016 23:43
Details for the next generation of Flickerfixers from Individual Computers MarkONE News 2438 01 February 2016 13:04
A600 board versions and accelerator cards LePiaf support.Hardware 9 03 September 2012 13:49
Individual Computers Silver Sponsor of the Revision gibs Amiga scene 1 22 April 2011 17:43
New products by individual Computers Paul News 0 30 November 2004 16:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.39641 seconds with 12 queries