English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 November 2010, 03:23   #401
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigakit.com View Post
Good News! We have now added ACA 1230/28 Accelerator to the webstore here:

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...oducts_id=1002
Cool, never thought I'd see a brand new A1200 accelerator for sale and at such a great price (you can almost imagine the price of cards dropping on eBay).

When the faster one is released, I may even grab one myself and I don't even have an A1200 anymore
NovaCoder is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 11 November 2010, 06:50   #402
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fabie View Post
yes..060 super speed it is an urban myth like the ufos
but if you believe in that..that's ok
You don't know what you're writing. 060 has 2 integer units, which normal code doesn't use properly, just 1 gets used, like on SysSpeed. You need code written for 060 to get the speed. But still it isn't "super"...
zipper is offline  
Old 11 November 2010, 07:33   #403
Cosmos
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: France
Posts: 655
>060 super speed it is an urban myth like the ufos

The CPU 68060 itself is really super fast... But on Amiga, he have :

- super slow fastmem FPM memory access (and no EDO for all accelerators, except the Quikpak)
- fastmem memory access 2:1 (040@40 have 1:1)
- two integer units rarely fully used (need hand asm code for using this superscalar "option")
- super slow chipmem access
- super slow code done by C compilators for near all progs, except some rare demos
- Kickstart 3.1 still compiled with -m68000
- exec.library and his jmptable in the slow chipmem with the SSP
- super slow AGA blitter and super slow blitter Kickstart 3.1 routines
- slow buster/Zorro2 or 3 for RTG graphics cards
- no external cache L2
- no Akiko for fast c2p
- hypra-ultra-supra-slow 68060.library (for emulated mnemonics)


@Fabie

You must think a bit before posting

Last edited by Cosmos; 11 November 2010 at 11:32.
Cosmos is offline  
Old 11 November 2010, 09:17   #404
britelite
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Espoo / Finland
Posts: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fabie View Post
yes..060 super speed it is an urban myth like the ufos
Seems like you've never actually programmed (or even run) anything on a 060
britelite is online now  
Old 11 November 2010, 10:11   #405
Paul_s
needs more ice cream

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 39
Posts: 3,162
I was in bed last night thinking about naming conventions Is it too late to change the silkscreen?

With the Amiga using funky naming conventions for their custom chips you could have called the ACA630, 'Thoosa'. She was a Greek goddess - personification of swiftness.

Yeah, ok maybe it's not as funky as Paula or Denise... could be worse, Doris?
Paul_s is offline  
Old 11 November 2010, 11:16   #406
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
I would have expected that you'd choose a blonde (ACA1230) and a long-legged black-haired. Hmm... BTT.

We just cleared a little confusion about the battery type for the ACA1230 RTC. I had the type number wrong, it should be CR1225 or CR1220 (both fit and work), but not CR2025 as I stated earlier in this thread, and surely not CR2032 (that was only used on the prototype).

Jens

Last edited by Schoenfeld; 11 November 2010 at 11:41.
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 11 November 2010, 11:35   #407
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,517
Will it be sold with battery included? If not, it is important to have the battery type specified in manual then.
Predseda is offline  
Old 11 November 2010, 11:41   #408
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by Predseda View Post
Will it be sold with battery included? If not, it is important to have the battery type specified in manual then.
It will be shipped with en EMPTY battery holder and an EMPTY clockchip-socket. Resellers may offer upgrade-kits.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 11 November 2010, 11:55   #409
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,517
Thaaank you!
Predseda is offline  
Old 11 November 2010, 12:17   #410
Calabazam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: France
Posts: 163
I forgot to ask about SCSI: is there a way to hook a SCSI controller later to either the ACA1230 or 630?
Still useful on amiga


The screws that hold the ACA630 is a great idea by the way, definitly an advantage over Apollo 630/ MTEC 630 that rely solely on the 68000 and can dismount alone when the computer is moved.
Calabazam is offline  
Old 11 November 2010, 12:33   #411
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calabazam View Post
I forgot to ask about SCSI: is there a way to hook a SCSI controller later to either the ACA1230 or 630?
Still useful on amiga
I neither think it's useful, nor worth the effort of writing new drivers. So *please* don't discuss this (we've had the discussion on a1k, and it only p*ssed me off).

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 11 November 2010, 12:37   #412
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
I(we've had the discussion on a1k, and it only p*ssed me off).
That what I tried to tell before
Predseda is offline  
Old 11 November 2010, 12:46   #413
paulo_becas
Registered User
paulo_becas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Porto/Portugal
Age: 41
Posts: 452
This is great news indeed, i've been off the forum for a while and today i decided to sniff around in amigakit website and i came across this card and i couldn't believe what my eyes were seeing, then a jumped to EAB because i knew that something like this wouldn't escape from the "miggy" guys.
I'm really considering getting one of this.
It's great to see the amiga world still kicks ass.

Great work
paulo_becas is offline  
Old 11 November 2010, 12:50   #414
Peter
Unemployed & Lovin' it
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 2,614
Forgive me if this has been asked - I have joined this thread a bit late but does the A600 card have a fall back option?
Peter is offline  
Old 11 November 2010, 12:56   #415
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter View Post
Forgive me if this has been asked - I have joined this thread a bit late but does the A600 card have a fall back option?
Jens has said that it *may* be included in the final product if it works.

For me thats the hinge on whether I'll buy one or not. Otherwise I'll just keep the running Apollo 620

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 11 November 2010, 13:02   #416
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 901
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
...(or even re-kick 1MByte Kickstarts),
Jens
Could you please explain what can we do with this ?
Would 3.1 kickstart execute faster this way ?
Or is this for custom ROMs ?
Or for 1.3, and games compatibility ?
And someone please stop me if I'm way off
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 11 November 2010, 13:36   #417
Tarzin
Registered User
Tarzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dunkerque / FRANCE
Posts: 90
French solution/proposal

Quote:
Originally Posted by amigakit.com View Post
@Cosmos

The statement was made in respect to the context of this thread. I was not commenting on your private skills and abilities to repair Amiga hardware.

You are not an Amiga business - Individual Computers are referring to registered companies selling the new accelerator who can also provide SMT rework as part of their service proposition to their customers once they purchase the A600 accelerator.

Resellers need to provide the full after-sales support to customers in lieu of their margin they make from selling Individual Computers products and having the facilities and technical skills within the business is part of that.
But we could fully accept that Cosmos buy the card to the resellers and install it?
But without warranty for the customers. That's a risk that I could take.

I was wondering a solution where I can send my A600 motherboard directly to the person who bought ACA card and install it. That would be easier.

I know that's there are not so many Amiga shops nowdays but if there's only one, prices for installation could become very high.
With two shops or physical person, prices could me more balanced.
Tarzin is offline  
Old 11 November 2010, 13:55   #418
Amigaman
Registered User
Amigaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: London
Posts: 116
Yay! placed my order with Amigakit. (not amikit!!!) for the new 1230/28, among a few choice other items.

Thank you Jens for still making things

Thank you Amigakit for still selling things

Thank you Amiga community for still being here!
Amigaman is offline  
Old 11 November 2010, 14:16   #419
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amir View Post
Could you please explain what can we do with this ?
Would 3.1 kickstart execute faster this way ?
Kick3.1 is a 512K kick and can be copied from rom without a restart, or (if you only have a 2.0 rom) it can be re-kicked with the ACAtune tool. Re-Kick always requires a re-start.

1M kickstarts have never been released officially. These are community-generated roms ("custom" if you will) which include the OS3.5/3.9 patches - plus maybe a little more (I've seen that Cosmos is frequently releasing great stuff on Aminet, so he's not only good at soldering!).

WinUAE has been supporting these "new kickstarts" for a while, but until now, there was only some tinkering-hardware that allows using 1M kickstarts. The ACA cards are the first to fully support 1M kickstarts "off the shelve".

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amir View Post
Or for 1.3, and games compatibility ?
For 1.3 compatibility, the ACA cards can map fastmem to 0x00c0.0000, and for backwards-compatibility with (badly coded) games, you can even reduce the amount of chipmem to 1M or 512k.

I don't know what the status is regarding 1.2 compatibility - Oliver and I were talking about it, but it would require switching off the onboard IDE controller. AFAIK, we dumped the idea, because there's nothing (serious) that it would be good for.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 11 November 2010, 14:24   #420
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 901
Thanx for the explanation
Lord Aga is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Santa's come early... A new scandoubler from Individual Computers NovaCoder News 708 18 October 2016 23:43
Details for the next generation of Flickerfixers from Individual Computers MarkONE News 2438 01 February 2016 13:04
A600 board versions and accelerator cards LePiaf support.Hardware 9 03 September 2012 13:49
Individual Computers Silver Sponsor of the Revision gibs Amiga scene 1 22 April 2011 17:43
New products by individual Computers Paul News 0 30 November 2004 16:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.45561 seconds with 12 queries