English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 November 2010, 16:32   #301
tin
eezeenow!

 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: chester
Posts: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
Definitely not when I'm involved. I need to pay wages, taxes, I'm WEEE registered, I need to make a living myself, and I have a house to pay for. Further, I'd never give so many user options that cause a huge customer support mess: No SD-Ram socket, no PCI slots. Plain card with everything assembled and guaranteed, that's the only way to create hardware that works "no questions asked" and "no support required".

True plug&play is what I want to deliver, only this will give an experience that will make people come back to us. And I want people to come back to buy more, not to claim warranty or support for something they already have :-)

Jens
Jens, are you sure you should be in the Amiga market? I see you create nice hardware but also seem to have a very level head and your feet on the ground regarding the realities of running a business.

This is not the way it's done around here. Could you please announce some pie-in-the-sky products that will change everyone's life or something in the near future. And never build them. We can then get back to the usual reality. Many thanks.
tin is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 07 November 2010, 17:11   #302
frank_b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Boston USA
Posts: 332
How many cpu cycles does it take for a 32 bit read? 3 or 4?

What about a memory burst? 3 + 1 + 1 + 1 ? to fill a cache line?
frank_b is offline  
Old 07 November 2010, 17:26   #303
TronPlayer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: California, US
Posts: 53
Is the ACA1230-56 Also going to available before Christmas or just the ACA1230-28 ?
TronPlayer is offline  
Old 07 November 2010, 18:16   #304
rockersuke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Madrid / Spain
Age: 50
Posts: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oliver_A View Post
For complete humiliation, I'm going to post a comparision with the Blizzard 1230 later...
If it's all about humiliating our good old 1230 I'll save you the effort .
Worst case scenarios with a lot of areas and many bad guys dancing around go about 5-6 FPS. Not quite complicated renders can reach around 12 FPS. Average is 7-8. I was going to take some pics, but cam run out of battery ^_^'. I'll upload them later.

--
rockersuke is offline  
Old 07 November 2010, 19:34   #305
rockersuke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Madrid / Spain
Age: 50
Posts: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockersuke View Post
I'll upload them later.
Here they go!

First 2 are ADoom running on my Blizzard 68030 1230 50 MHz with 64 Mb Fast Ram. It says 12 FPS when standing in front of a door. Not so bad! That 12 FPS is the maximun it could get. As I mentioned, when rendering scenes with many elements it drops to 5. Average goes around 7-8. Rest of the pics are from the anime patch wad I made in the early 90's, when anime was fun, Doom was the thing to play and making patch wads seemed cool.

--
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	pepo01.jpg
Views:	236
Size:	121.2 KB
ID:	26904   Click image for larger version

Name:	pepo02.jpg
Views:	236
Size:	122.5 KB
ID:	26905   Click image for larger version

Name:	pepo03.jpg
Views:	233
Size:	146.3 KB
ID:	26906   Click image for larger version

Name:	pepo04.jpg
Views:	241
Size:	112.1 KB
ID:	26907   Click image for larger version

Name:	pepo05.jpg
Views:	237
Size:	93.6 KB
ID:	26908  

Click image for larger version

Name:	pepo06.jpg
Views:	230
Size:	107.3 KB
ID:	26909  
rockersuke is offline  
Old 07 November 2010, 19:42   #306
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oliver_A View Post
Here is ADOOM Shareware running on my A1200 in 320x200 AGA. The accelerator is a Blizzard 1240, which means an 68040 with 25Mhz:
As you can see, the game is running with 10fps. Pretty impressive! How can a 68030 CPU compete against a 68040?
ADOOM Shareware running on the upcoming ACA1230-56, 68030 with 56Mhz:
WHAT??? 15fps??? Our 68030 design yields 5 fps MORE than a 68040???
Yes, thanks to a high speed SDRAM memory interface and optimal access to the Amiga chip bus!
I was wondering if you could run that test with the 28Mhz A1200 accelerator..

Just wondering what the model I am probably going to buy can do. ;-)

desiv
desiv is offline  
Old 08 November 2010, 00:18   #307
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockersuke View Post
Here they go!

First 2 are ADoom running on my Blizzard 68030 1230 50 MHz with 64 Mb Fast Ram. It says 12 FPS when standing in front of a door. Not so bad! That 12 FPS is the maximun it could get. As I mentioned, when rendering scenes with many elements it drops to 5. Average goes around 7-8. Rest of the pics are from the anime patch wad I made in the early 90's, when anime was fun, Doom was the thing to play and making patch wads seemed cool.

--
Yep confirmed, I was also getting 12 FPS out of my Blizz 030 in the same position.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 08 November 2010, 00:19   #308
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by tin View Post
Jens, are you sure you should be in the Amiga market? I see you create nice hardware but also seem to have a very level head and your feet on the ground regarding the realities of running a business.

This is not the way it's done around here. Could you please announce some pie-in-the-sky products that will change everyone's life or something in the near future. And never build them. We can then get back to the usual reality. Many thanks.

NovaCoder is offline  
Old 08 November 2010, 01:24   #309
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
I will be buying one of those A1200 acceleratrs, but I would like to watch the Amiga on my LC with a ficker fixer to...
Retrofan is online now  
Old 08 November 2010, 10:19   #310
chiark
Needs a life

chiark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 1,621
Blimey a new product announced, priced and shipping before Christmas?

Hang on, this is Better Than Life again, isn't it?
Brilliant, Jens, simply brilliant!
chiark is offline  
Old 08 November 2010, 12:00   #311
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by frank_b View Post
How many cpu cycles does it take for a 32 bit read? 3 or 4?

What about a memory burst? 3 + 1 + 1 + 1 ? to fill a cache line?
the 28MHz A1200 card and the 25MHz A600 card do a 2-1-1-1 burst.

The 56MHz card for the A1200 makes a 3-1-1-1 burst.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 08 November 2010, 13:49   #312
Cosmos
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: France
Posts: 655


I want one for my A600
Cosmos is offline  
Old 08 November 2010, 20:35   #313
Paul_s
needs more ice cream

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 39
Posts: 3,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiark View Post
Blimey a new product announced, priced and shipping before Christmas?

Hang on, this is Better Than Life again, isn't it?
Brilliant, Jens, simply brilliant!
If you ask me, Jens has more power than any pron star.
Paul_s is offline  
Old 08 November 2010, 20:55   #314
Fabie
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: France
Posts: 478
a first personshooter game that runs at 12fps is not playlabe in any form
to be playlable and enyoylable and smooth Doom needs at least 45-50 fps
and none amiga Turboboard reach that framerate ...even the 040/40 or the 060/50
maybe that rare A1200 /060 turboboards hacked to run at 80mhz can reach 45 fps
anyways

for me it is nonsense comparing turboboards with Doom on Amiga
the best way to play Doom is doomsday port for windows....that's is really nice
Fabie is offline  
Old 08 November 2010, 20:59   #315
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fabie View Post
the best way to play Doom is doomsday port for windows....that's is really nice
Actually Risen3D is the better Doomsday : http://risen3d.drdteam.org/
TCD is offline  
Old 08 November 2010, 21:03   #316
frank_b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Boston USA
Posts: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
the 28MHz A1200 card and the 25MHz A600 card do a 2-1-1-1 burst.

The 56MHz card for the A1200 makes a 3-1-1-1 burst.

Jens
Nice! Thanks. Btw any idea what the burst speed is on the fastest 030 blizzard?
I saw some really odd results with an aligned move.l copy on my 030 board.
Sequential copy was slower with data burst on.
frank_b is offline  
Old 08 November 2010, 21:12   #317
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by frank_b View Post
Nice! Thanks. Btw any idea what the burst speed is on the fastest 030 blizzard?
They probably do 4-2-2-2. You can't do X-1-1-1 with normal D-Ram. I make excessive use of SD-Ram features here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by frank_b View Post
I saw some really odd results with an aligned move.l copy on my 030 board.
Sequential copy was slower with data burst on.
There's two things that may cause a burst to be slower:

1. you start it when it doesn't make sense (at the end of a cache line)
2. you run it all the way through, 4 longwords, "no matter what".

My ACA cards will only start a burst if it's NOT at the end of a cache line, and they stop a burst if the end of a cache line is reached. Call it a "dynamic burst", because it can be 2, 3 or 4 cycles long, depending on what's most useful.

All this stuff is described in the original Motorola literature. I'd be surprised if Phase 5 has not implemented this, because it's not that hard to do.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 08 November 2010, 21:35   #318
zgermans
Registered User
zgermans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Stavanger/Stord, Norway
Age: 30
Posts: 11
Really looking forward to these boards, I think I'll have to treat my second A1200 to the 28 mhz version. She's still in stock condition, the poor girl.

Maybe we ought to start a "Jens Schoenfeld facts" thread along the line of all the Chuck Norris threads?
zgermans is offline  
Old 08 November 2010, 21:49   #319
RMK
Registered User
RMK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 177
I don't know what the production run size will be,but I can see these selling out fast! These boards sound great, and it seems there is nothing Jens can't do. I heard he can light a fire by rubbing two ice cubes together!

Jens, are you able to manufacture your hardware all in house or is part of the manufacture outsourced?
RMK is offline  
Old 08 November 2010, 23:59   #320
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by RMK View Post
Jens, are you able to manufacture your hardware all in house or is part of the manufacture outsourced?
It's all outsourced, I don't own a single production machine. The reason why I can handle all the machines and why I'm at the production site right now is that the assembly partner is a real long-term partner, and he trusts me ;-)

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Santa's come early... A new scandoubler from Individual Computers NovaCoder News 708 18 October 2016 23:43
Details for the next generation of Flickerfixers from Individual Computers MarkONE News 2438 01 February 2016 13:04
A600 board versions and accelerator cards LePiaf support.Hardware 9 03 September 2012 13:49
Individual Computers Silver Sponsor of the Revision gibs Amiga scene 1 22 April 2011 17:43
New products by individual Computers Paul News 0 30 November 2004 16:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.27264 seconds with 12 queries