English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 November 2010, 13:58   #281
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,250
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmicfrog View Post
jens have we an idea on price point for these accles yet ??
A1200, EC030, 64MB = 99,- EUR
A600, full-030, 32MB, all mechanical parts included and pre-assembled = 159,- EUR

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 05 November 2010, 14:31   #282
phipscube
WipEout Fanboi
phipscube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Hillerød / Denmark
Age: 42
Posts: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
That was no "production run" - it was part of the safety stock. That's the units we keep in stock in order to serve warranty claims where the unit cannot be repaired for whatever reason. We reduced this safety stock to a minimum and shipped a few units to Vesalia and AmigaKit - merely to serve waiting customers. I did't expect that advertising such a small quantity would even make sense.

Back to accelerators: I don't like the PPC, and Hyperion, the Friedens and Trevor know that by now. I like my classic with a 68k, and if there's ever going to be something "next generation" from my side, it's going to be totally different. So different, that it requires quite some money to be developed, so if there's the mystical investor out there who is willing to spend some serious money - the Individual Computers team is first in line :-)

Jens
I thought it was rather small an amount, anyways, i'm very grateful you let some go otherwise i'd not have mine

And the totally different idea seems to be something you have had in mind for some time by the way you speak... I wonder what that is...
phipscube is offline  
Old 05 November 2010, 14:58   #283
RMK
Registered User
RMK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
A1200, EC030, 64MB = 99,- EUR
A600, full-030, 32MB, all mechanical parts included and pre-assembled = 159,- EUR

Jens
Is the faster A1200 price of 199Euro set in stone? Is this going to be the last one released?

Thanks,
RMK is offline  
Old 05 November 2010, 15:31   #284
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,250
Quote:
Originally Posted by RMK View Post
Is the faster A1200 price of 199Euro set in stone? Is this going to be the last one released?
Nothing is set in stone about a faster A1200 version. I don't know if I'll release the faster version, what speed it'll be and what the price will be. I focus on Xmas business and that consists of the two cards I just mentioned.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 05 November 2010, 15:34   #285
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,724
We are very happy to have these in stock for Christmas. The prototype cards looked great when we viewed them recently at Amiwest Show.
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 05 November 2010, 23:25   #286
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
A600, full-030, 32MB, all mechanical parts included and pre-assembled = 159,- EUR
Yay - full blown 030 - I'll get two!
kolla is offline  
Old 06 November 2010, 00:41   #287
DonAmiga
Registered User

DonAmiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 521
Great news,, in time for Christmas, A600 upgrade for please santa


Quote:
Originally Posted by amigakit.com View Post
We are very happy to have these in stock for Christmas. The prototype cards looked great when we viewed them recently at Amiwest Show.
DonAmiga is offline  
Old 06 November 2010, 03:30   #288
TronPlayer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: California, US
Posts: 53
just out of curiosity, what percentage speed increase will be seen with this new 030 card over a stock 1200?
TronPlayer is offline  
Old 06 November 2010, 04:59   #289
mihcael
Zone Friend
mihcael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Aussie
Posts: 1,098
Quote:
Originally Posted by TronPlayer View Post
just out of curiosity, what percentage speed increase will be seen with this new 030 card over a stock 1200?
Read back through this thread, there are Sysinfo screenshots which give a decent comparison of the speed.
mihcael is offline  
Old 06 November 2010, 12:51   #290
Fabie
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: France
Posts: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by TronPlayer View Post
just out of curiosity, what percentage speed increase will be seen with this new 030 card over a stock 1200?
according to sysinfo posted results
I calculate that this new 030 card is 2.5 times faster than an A1200 + fastram
or 5 times faster than an A1200 without fast ram
Fabie is offline  
Old 06 November 2010, 13:28   #291
Paul_s
Stuck in the 80s

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 40
Posts: 3,180
In non-technical terms: Like $h*t off a shovel
Paul_s is offline  
Old 06 November 2010, 16:30   #292
DyLucke
Cookie Muncher
DyLucke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Spain
Age: 43
Posts: 233
Definitelly, i'll buy one A1200 accelerator. ^^
DyLucke is offline  
Old 06 November 2010, 16:53   #293
ian-uk
 
Posts: n/a
I can't wait to speed up my A600
 
Old 06 November 2010, 18:22   #294
cv643d
Registered User
cv643d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 728
I will buy one A600 version, thanks for making this!

(Perhaps next December, a CD32 version could be released? :-) )
cv643d is offline  
Old 06 November 2010, 20:46   #295
rockersuke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Madrid / Spain
Age: 50
Posts: 253
Sorry if I missed an answer for this before:

-Removing the Amiga 600 internal floppy drive is going to be an option or a requirement? I'm not planning to use the Indivision ECS at this point and I would like to keep the disk unit at its place.

-If the floppy unit is not taken away, could there be heat issues when using the Amiga 600 for a long time? As I mentioned a few pages ago, I pretend to carry my Amiga 600 to local retro-gaming parties where It could be expected to be turned on for a whole evening or even a whole day.

Thanks!

--
rockersuke is offline  
Old 06 November 2010, 23:01   #296
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,250
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockersuke View Post
-Removing the Amiga 600 internal floppy drive is going to be an option or a requirement? I'm not planning to use the Indivision ECS at this point and I would like to keep the disk unit at its place.

-If the floppy unit is not taken away, could there be heat issues when using the Amiga 600 for a long time? As I mentioned a few pages ago, I pretend to carry my Amiga 600 to local retro-gaming parties where It could be expected to be turned on for a whole evening or even a whole day.
Without Indivision ECS, the floppy drive still fits. We still need to wait for the final black-anodized heatsinks to make the final tests. The blank heatsink heats up a lot, but does not radiate enough heat for "completely closed operation" at the moment. Please wait for the final tests, probably happening late next week.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 06 November 2010, 23:24   #297
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,250
Just gained another 1.5% speed!

As I mentioned earlier in this already-fairly-long-thread, the memory controller wasn't perfect yet. The 68030 can fill a cache line using a "burst" mechanism, where it takes advantage of the fact that reading consecutive memory locations is much faster than reading random locations.

I had implemented this "burst transfer" at a fairly early stage, but did not optimize it "to the max". A cache line of the 68030 consists of four longwords (32-bit words). If a memory location is not available in the cache, the CPU will try to read the whole cache line, starting from the location where it needs the next word. If the first access is at the start of a cache line, then words 0-1-2-3 are fetched at top speed from memory. If word #2 is required first, then the burst order is 2-3-0-1. Notice the wrap-around in the middle of the burst - this is essentially "going backwards in memory". Here's where statistics come into play: Usually, a program is executed "forward", so the previous words (in this case words #0 and #1) are "most probably" not required.

I have now managed to abort the burst transfer at the wrap-around stage, which gained roughly 1.5% speed. The ACA630-25 now cracks the 6-Mips-barrier, and if you want to examine the speed of the final 1230 cards, I have also attached AIBB modules of the two 1230 models.

We'll set up and program the assembly machines tomorrow, assembly is planned for monday. This is SMT assembly only - the THT assembly will have to wait until the PGA sockets have been delivered. After I got "way too many" offers with delivery time "A", and got a different delivery time "B" with B >> A, I was fed up with tricks like that and ordered my own tooling for PGA sockets. The good side about this is that we won't only have white PCBs and white A1200 connectors, but also white PGA sockets. Since the ACA630 will be "all black", I'll use my stock of black PGA sockets for those.

Jens
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ACA630_25MHz_Sysinfo_burst_abort.jpg
Views:	564
Size:	58.8 KB
ID:	26901  
Attached Files
File Type: lha AIBB_modules_ACA1230_nov_2010.lha (1.1 KB, 136 views)
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 07 November 2010, 11:09   #298
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 933
This is so cool and inspiring that I just have to open up and clean/wash my Amigas today so that I can enjoy the hardware
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 07 November 2010, 13:33   #299
Oliver_A
Soldering Ironman
Oliver_A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany, NRW
Posts: 79
Would you guys like some real-life practical comparisons?

Here is ADOOM Shareware running on my A1200 in 320x200 AGA. The accelerator is a Blizzard 1240, which means an 68040 with 25Mhz:



As you can see, the game is running with 10fps. Pretty impressive! How can a 68030 CPU compete against a 68040?

ADOOM Shareware running on the upcoming ACA1230-56, 68030 with 56Mhz:



WHAT??? 15fps??? Our 68030 design yields 5 fps MORE than a 68040???

Yes, thanks to a high speed SDRAM memory interface and optimal access to the Amiga chip bus!

For complete humiliation, I'm going to post a comparision with the Blizzard 1230 later...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	adoom_blizz.jpg
Views:	1979
Size:	102.9 KB
ID:	26902   Click image for larger version

Name:	adoom_aca.jpg
Views:	2154
Size:	107.8 KB
ID:	26903  

Last edited by Oliver_A; 07 November 2010 at 13:42.
Oliver_A is offline  
Old 07 November 2010, 14:22   #300
Cosmos
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: France
Posts: 655
Hum... And with a 040@40 ??
Cosmos is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Santa's come early... A new scandoubler from Individual Computers NovaCoder News 708 18 October 2016 22:43
Details for the next generation of Flickerfixers from Individual Computers MarkONE News 2438 01 February 2016 12:04
A600 board versions and accelerator cards LePiaf support.Hardware 9 03 September 2012 12:49
Individual Computers Silver Sponsor of the Revision gibs Amiga scene 1 22 April 2011 16:43
New products by individual Computers Paul News 0 30 November 2004 15:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.15249 seconds with 13 queries