English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 November 2012, 22:52   #2741
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
And using an older one and/or also disabling it completely in the s-s?
Still crashing even without ACATune installed, AFAIK 1.7 is needed for ACA620, older versions don't support this card
fitzsteve is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 10 November 2012, 23:12   #2742
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,671
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
And with any of the WHDload options like MMU and NOMEMREVERSE someone said before? http://www.whdload.de/docs/en/opt.html


http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=620513&postcount=24
Retrofan is offline  
Old 11 November 2012, 12:12   #2743
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Guys,

please wait until the modded ACA620 board arrived in Denmark at Demolition's place. It seems like all these "illegal instruction" effects are related to memory timing. This has been changed in the test-card that I have shipped to EAB user Demolition, and if that's successful, you will all get your fix for free.

Jens

Edit: Demolition has already done some tests and found that one of the two problems is fixed now. We're on the right path, and I haven't run out of ideas yet ;-)

Last edited by Schoenfeld; 11 November 2012 at 13:49.
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 11 November 2012, 14:30   #2744
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
Guys,

please wait until the modded ACA620 board arrived in Denmark at Demolition's place. It seems like all these "illegal instruction" effects are related to memory timing. This has been changed in the test-card that I have shipped to EAB user Demolition, and if that's successful, you will all get your fix for free.

Jens

Edit: Demolition has already done some tests and found that one of the two problems is fixed now. We're on the right path, and I haven't run out of ideas yet ;-)
Thanks for the update Jens it's appreciated
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 11 November 2012, 14:34   #2745
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,671
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
The modded ACA620 has reached Demolition's place and I just got word that this problem is fixed now.

Jens
Demolition can you tell how it's working now?
Retrofan is offline  
Old 11 November 2012, 14:47   #2746
DonAmiga
Registered User

DonAmiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 518
@Jens

Great news, Thanks
DonAmiga is offline  
Old 11 November 2012, 15:37   #2747
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,385
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Demolition can you tell how it's working now?
Regarding the PCMCIA problem, the kickstart will now never see any usable memory in the PCMCIA port on booting, so it will not be mounted, not even SRAM cards. This is good, since the ACA620 is filling out the entire address space with memory anyway. It can still be used for peripherals, transferring files etc.

Regarding the stability problems, the first test was unsuccessful but I have another modification that I will try later today.
demolition is offline  
Old 12 November 2012, 06:54   #2748
quarkx
Our prices are Insane!
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 465
I ordered the ACA620 Board on Wednesday from Amigakit. Hopefully, by the time I get an A600 together, this will all be sorted out.
Yah, I ordered the board before I got a working 600 together, but I didn't want to take the chance that by the time I got around to a A600 project, that they would be sold out.
I just wish Jens would do another batch of the Indivision 1200 and 4000 MK1's- All I want is VGA, all my monitors use VGA, so all the rest is just useless for me at the moment,
quarkx is offline  
Old 12 November 2012, 15:19   #2749
alenppc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Age: 37
Posts: 660
I hope the cards can be fixed with a flash rom update or something without having to send them back...
alenppc is offline  
Old 12 November 2012, 15:52   #2750
SS454
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: up north
Posts: 70
What's the performance like of the latest 1200 accelerators vs the old ones?

Just ACA123x, I mean?
SS454 is offline  
Old 12 November 2012, 15:58   #2751
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 39
Posts: 1,576
Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
There is no flash rom update for the ACA accelerators.
For any flash update you need to send your board back to your reseller to perform it.
(As it happened with the ACA1231's safeboot logic update)
mfilos is offline  
Old 12 November 2012, 16:07   #2752
alenppc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Age: 37
Posts: 660
Ok, that sucks because it means I will have to pay our excessive postage rates+double import duties.
alenppc is offline  
Old 12 November 2012, 16:10   #2753
wmsteele
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 110
So does that mean sending back to AmigaKit (or whoever your original reseller was), don’t think they be happy about receiving all these boards back... I’ve got a recapped A600 motherboard on its way but I’m not hopeful its going to be the solution from what I have been reading here.
wmsteele is offline  
Old 12 November 2012, 16:24   #2754
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 51
Posts: 1,610
Quote:
Originally Posted by SS454 View Post
What's the performance like of the latest 1200 accelerators vs the old ones?

Just ACA123x, I mean?
Please use SEARCH... Clue: ACA123x + MIPS
Methanoid is online now  
Old 12 November 2012, 16:47   #2755
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,385
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmsteele View Post
So does that mean sending back to AmigaKit (or whoever your original reseller was), donít think they be happy about receiving all these boards back...
They may not be happy about it, but they just have to do it anyway.
demolition is offline  
Old 12 November 2012, 18:45   #2756
Mr B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by alenppc View Post
Ok, that sucks because it means I will have to pay our excessive postage rates+double import duties.
Might want to check up on that. Replacement parts covered by warranty usually are excluded from import tax.
B!
Mr B is offline  
Old 12 November 2012, 19:35   #2757
Piramania
 
Posts: n/a
ACA1220 and WHDLoad

Is anyone having WHDLoad problems with ACA1220? My experiences are a bit mixed. Some games work for hours, while other titles crash or freeze almost instantly (worked fine before I installed ACA1220)...

The motherboard is revision 1D1 which seems to be the only version that normally does not need the timing fix. Workbench is rock solid and I have run through the AIBB tests several times without crashing or freezing.

My Kickstart ROM is version 3.0, by the way...

Any suggestions?

Last edited by Piramania; 12 November 2012 at 21:19.
 
Old 15 November 2012, 18:02   #2758
AmiDog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Kumla / Sweden
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by alenppc View Post
Ok, that sucks because it means I will have to pay our excessive postage rates+double import duties.
You shouldn't need to pay import duties again if you send an item back for repair. You may need to fill out some kind of import/export form before sending it though. Atleast that's what I had to do when returning an item to USA to have it repaired (I live in Sweden)...
AmiDog is offline  
Old 19 November 2012, 21:52   #2759
paul1981
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by supaduper View Post
Update sorry guys my ACA1232 started crashing but all fixed ! right used game `Mad Professor Mariati `as crash test. It would not play this game as some poster previous had mentioned( and yes it crashed after intro sound crap aswell),so did the timing fix mobo out resistors removed(E123c and E125c) and Bingo! Yatzi!The mad Pro was Madder than ever
All done so can confirm will prob need fix if not already done but if I can do it in under 20mins then anyone can my Mobo is 1D4.
Just wanted to let everyone know that my ACA1232 seemingly worked fine on a Commodore 2B board, but further testing revealed a freezing problem with some games. I know a 2B board is an obvious candidate for the fix, but I thought I'd best see if it worked first without doing the fix.
Alien Breed 3D would freeze a few minutes into play (always before I managed to complete the first level), and the same goes with Alien Breed 3DII TKG. Also, Mad Professor Mariati would freeze during the intro, just before getting to the high score table.

So, I removed E123C and E125C, and everything has worked fine since then. I haven't yet found a game that doesn't work! (Touching wood right now).

Just for the record, the card works fine in my Revision 1A A1200 (no modifications to that board, and none known to be needed AFAIK).
 
Old 07 December 2012, 19:39   #2760
MrDBUG
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Larvik, Norway
Posts: 44
1220 series less likely to need timing fixes?

Does the ACA 1220 series for A1200 likely need timing fixes ?
MrDBUG is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Santa's come early... A new scandoubler from Individual Computers NovaCoder News 708 18 October 2016 23:43
Details for the next generation of Flickerfixers from Individual Computers MarkONE News 2438 01 February 2016 13:04
A600 board versions and accelerator cards LePiaf support.Hardware 9 03 September 2012 13:49
Individual Computers Silver Sponsor of the Revision gibs Amiga scene 1 22 April 2011 17:43
New products by individual Computers Paul News 0 30 November 2004 16:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.52906 seconds with 12 queries