English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 November 2011, 20:30   #2241
RMK
Registered User
RMK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by roy bates View Post
to be honest i would like to see some 040 or 060 cards,but it may never happen because not many peaple want to pay for the high price tags.

ok,please please jens make an 040 or 060 based card,even if its in a small batch,and please make it with 128mb of ram.
You'd probably need a batch size of about 500 to make it worth while at a reasonable price.

Last edited by prowler; 25 November 2011 at 23:45. Reason: Added quote after merging posts repaginated thread.
RMK is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 25 November 2011, 20:35   #2242
khph_re
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northampton/UK
Posts: 245
That NatAmi team have said accelerator makers can use 050 they are making, but they don't have time to do it themselves. So there is hope of a beefier accelerator.
khph_re is offline  
Old 25 November 2011, 21:02   #2243
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 36
Posts: 1,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by RMK View Post
You'd probably need a batch size of about 500 to make it worth while at a reasonable price.
I'm sure if there was an accelerator that was closer to 060 in speed and had RTG, every single active A1200 user without a PPC + a RTG solution would be interested in buying one.

I don't know how many active A1200 users exist without a RTG solution. Probably more than 1000 So all of them would be interested in running AmigaOS3 at very high speeds in 24 or 32 bit at HD resolutions.

We don't really need a 060 without a proper RTG. It's in vain. On the other hand a 030 with RTG would be much better.

Last edited by ancalimon; 25 November 2011 at 21:11.
ancalimon is offline  
Old 25 November 2011, 23:54   #2244
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,278
Please let's get back on topic. This thread is for discussing the actual hardware, not speculating about future accelerator and expansion developments. Thankyou.
prowler is offline  
Old 27 November 2011, 14:48   #2245
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
I'd say put in modern off the shelf PC rams like 2x1GB and limit it at 512MB which is the Amiga limit. That way the accelerator would be cheaper (crazy, innit?), a soldered on special SRAM would be hard to replace if it went bad.

But yeah Prowler is right, it's all to easy to start dreaming of the Ultimate Amiga eh? I've said my piece and will shut up now.

Last edited by Photon; 27 November 2011 at 17:11.
Photon is offline  
Old 30 November 2011, 11:13   #2246
vroom6sri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peterborough
Age: 41
Posts: 566
Right! I deserve a treat for my Amiga me thinks and so I am considering selling my most excellent ACA 1230/28 to get either one of these 1231/42 cards or going that extra mile and getting a 56mhz version (assuming they are being made still). Not being technically minded do the results Jens posted here about the 42's performance mean it's likely to be an ass-kicker? Will Doom and other 3d intensive games like AB3D II run fast?
vroom6sri is offline  
Old 30 November 2011, 13:49   #2247
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,819
doom will be nice as it doesent have that much overhead,but ab3d 2 hmm,well that might be a problem it needs at least an 040(it will run on an 030) because it has a dire framerate even with an 060.

sorry if its off topic,i just wanted to answer this.
roy bates is offline  
Old 30 November 2011, 15:26   #2248
vroom6sri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peterborough
Age: 41
Posts: 566
Thanks for the info, Roy. If there are any more of the 56 cards produced I'd love to get one but will probably end up talking myself out of it!

I didn't think my query was off topic though. This thread is about the ACA cards in general isn't it? IE speculating on what finished units will be capable of, cost, etc.
vroom6sri is offline  
Old 30 November 2011, 15:34   #2249
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,819
true,i just dont know because of the querry about the games performance.
roy bates is offline  
Old 30 November 2011, 22:02   #2250
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by roy bates View Post
sorry if its off topic,i just wanted to answer this.
Quote:
Originally Posted by vroom6sri View Post
I didn't think my query was off topic though. This thread is about the ACA cards in general isn't it? IE speculating on what finished units will be capable of, cost, etc.
Quote:
Originally Posted by roy bates View Post
true,i just dont know because of the querry about the games performance.
This sort of exchange is fine, since you're discussing the performance expected of the real hardware.

What would drag the thread off-topic is going on to discuss performance of games in general or how accelerators could be designed to improve overall gaming experience, for example.
prowler is offline  
Old 01 December 2011, 15:39   #2251
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,819
cheers prowler,i do drag conversations off topic sometimes,not perposely though.
roy bates is offline  
Old 14 December 2011, 23:34   #2252
vroom6sri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peterborough
Age: 41
Posts: 566
Think I've talked myself into buying a new ACA accelerator but when are the 1230/42 or rather a new batch of 1230/56 accelerators likely to emerge? Amigakit?
vroom6sri is offline  
Old 15 December 2011, 04:38   #2253
Mr B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 740
It's 1231/42 i believe. And well, as far as we know, they should be out... "Soon"
B!
Mr B is offline  
Old 15 December 2011, 12:18   #2254
MrCheese
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Manchester
Posts: 91
I keep seeing the phrase PPC + RTG but have no idea what it means. Would any kind person let me know please?
MrCheese is offline  
Old 15 December 2011, 12:34   #2255
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,513
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrCheese View Post
I keep seeing the phrase PPC + RTG but have no idea what it means. Would any kind person let me know please?

PPC stands for PowerPC processor, RTG stands for Retargetable graphics imo.
Predseda is offline  
Old 15 December 2011, 13:35   #2256
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Predseda View Post
PPC stands for PowerPC processor, RTG stands for Retargetable graphics imo.
RTG = Real Time Graphics.
FOL is offline  
Old 15 December 2011, 13:48   #2257
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
RTG = Real Time Graphics.
I'm sure it's:

ReTargetable Graphics
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 15 December 2011, 14:05   #2258
MrCheese
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Manchester
Posts: 91
Ahh thank you all. PowerPC processor is straightforward. Hmm so what does Retargetable graphics mean?
MrCheese is offline  
Old 15 December 2011, 14:11   #2259
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,513
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrCheese View Post
Ahh thank you all. PowerPC processor is straightforward. Hmm so what does Retargetable graphics mean?
It is the graphic produced through the graphic card, not from the native Amiga graphic chipset.
Predseda is offline  
Old 15 December 2011, 14:30   #2260
MrCheese
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Manchester
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Predseda View Post
It is the graphic produced through the graphic card, not from the native Amiga graphic chipset.
Ahh right. Presumably this only benefits Workbench, running at higher resolution and / or refresh rates as games wouldn't know how to use the new hardware?
MrCheese is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Santa's come early... A new scandoubler from Individual Computers NovaCoder News 708 18 October 2016 23:43
Details for the next generation of Flickerfixers from Individual Computers MarkONE News 2438 01 February 2016 13:04
A600 board versions and accelerator cards LePiaf support.Hardware 9 03 September 2012 13:49
Individual Computers Silver Sponsor of the Revision gibs Amiga scene 1 22 April 2011 17:43
New products by individual Computers Paul News 0 30 November 2004 16:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.29749 seconds with 12 queries