English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 June 2011, 03:17   #2141
Abaddon
Registered User

Abaddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chicago/USA
Age: 48
Posts: 422
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
Hi guys,

to take care of that final problem, which is the MMU tooltype of WHDload, I have eMailed a little back and forth with Bert Jahn, the author of WHDload. He explained to me how his hack works (he himself calls it a hack), and I explained to him how bad it can be to access the bus with an undefined/reserved function code.

We both agree that with a hack on my side, the MMU tooltype will work. The hack is a CPLD update that also allows function codes 0 and 4 to access all parts of the memory. Function codes 3 and 7 will result in a bus error (after a timeout), so the machine won't freeze.

This update is not free, as it's strictly against Motorola documentation, and it's not standard "Commodore or Amiga" operations. If you have an MMU, and you truly need that WHDload MMU tooltype, send the board to me and you'll get the update for 10,- EUR plus shipping.

After the update, the FcCheck tool gives the attached output with an ACA1230.

Jens

Where do I need to send my card to get this update and any idea what the shipping back to USA (Chicago, IL) will cost?

Abaddon
Abaddon is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 30 June 2011, 12:04   #2142
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abaddon View Post
Where do I need to send my card to get this update and any idea what the shipping back to USA (Chicago, IL) will cost?
That MMU-update is currently only available for the ACA1230, not for the ACA630. The only 1230's that were equipped with MMU were the 56MHz versions, so there's already a small chance that you can make use of it at all (small quantiy of 28MHz cards also had an MMU, but that was only a handful of cards).

The card would have to be sent to Germany, and shipment back with insurance will be in the 20,- EUR range. Since I've made this offer, only one guy has sent his board, and he was from Germany. Seems like the majority of people figures that it's not really necessary.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 30 June 2011, 15:49   #2143
Abaddon
Registered User

Abaddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chicago/USA
Age: 48
Posts: 422
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
That MMU-update is currently only available for the ACA1230, not for the ACA630. The only 1230's that were equipped with MMU were the 56MHz versions, so there's already a small chance that you can make use of it at all (small quantiy of 28MHz cards also had an MMU, but that was only a handful of cards).

The card would have to be sent to Germany, and shipment back with insurance will be in the 20,- EUR range. Since I've made this offer, only one guy has sent his board, and he was from Germany. Seems like the majority of people figures that it's not really necessary.

Jens
I have the 56MHz versions and the main reason for buying the board was in hopes of using the mmu with WHDLoad while developing the slaves. Could you PM the address I need to send the board to?
Abaddon is offline  
Old 30 June 2011, 19:45   #2144
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
It's on the website - check the "Impressum".

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 10 July 2011, 00:38   #2145
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
It's post 2142, so I won't read them all. I've found fpu it's something sometimes necessary. I wonder if it's possible that Jens could add somehow it to our ACA's.
Retrofan is online now  
Old 10 July 2011, 00:48   #2146
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 39
Posts: 1,576
Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
LOL! FPU can't be added without complete redesign of the board.
Better get another board if you want FPU.
mfilos is offline  
Old 10 July 2011, 01:10   #2147
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Ok, thanks. Jens make me one with fpu. Thanks
Retrofan is online now  
Old 09 August 2011, 17:48   #2148
1time
Amiga Lover

1time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 565
Schoenfeld:
In your A1200 timing post http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...postcount=2065 you are talking about, "Remove resistors E121R and E122R and replace them with 0805 ferrite beads - something in the range of 60R@100MHz or more" and "Assemble two 22pF capacitors (size 0805) in places E121C and E122C".

Can i use any capacitor from my broken 1D4 motherboard and put it on my working 1D4 to test the timing fix?

If i can, could you please tell me which number i could remove and reuse?
1time is offline  
Old 09 August 2011, 19:50   #2149
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1time View Post
Schoenfeld:
In your A1200 timing post http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...postcount=2065 you are talking about, "Remove resistors E121R and E122R and replace them with 0805 ferrite beads - something in the range of 60R@100MHz or more" and "Assemble two 22pF capacitors (size 0805) in places E121C and E122C".

Can i use any capacitor from my broken 1D4 motherboard and put it on my working 1D4 to test the timing fix?

If i can, could you please tell me which number i could remove and reuse?
As I said, look in the Schematics and it will tell you which caps are 22pF.
Im sure there are 22pF on the A1200 board, but you would need to look at schematic to see there location number.

EDIT:- Attached to gayle, E112, E113 and E114 are all 22pF.
FOL is offline  
Old 10 August 2011, 10:54   #2150
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
22pf 0805 SMD caps are sub-cent-parts. They should not be harvested off an old board - alwas use new parts, as they might cause a short if unsoldered improperly.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 10 August 2011, 23:55   #2151
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
I do agree with getting new parts when possible. Minimum orders and shipping (and ELFA SMD caps prices ) are not sub-cent though, and there are good SMD unsoldering videos by pros and universities on YouTube if you're up to it yourself 1time. Some solder fluid and a temp-controlled solder station and it's just a case of heat both ends and lift with pincer.
Photon is offline  
Old 12 August 2011, 04:39   #2152
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,616
There are a few people that have the right capacitors for sale for the various models, if you really appreciate your Amiga you won't skimp on the price of the new caps, its not worth the risk
kipper2k is offline  
Old 13 August 2011, 01:03   #2153
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
It could blow up!
Photon is offline  
Old 13 August 2011, 03:55   #2154
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by RMK View Post
He didn't, he underclocked one
Interestingly, I'm now finding that according to replies to this, that he did NOT!
Photon is offline  
Old 13 August 2011, 10:28   #2155
1time
Amiga Lover

1time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 565
Schoenfeld, Photon, FOL:

Is this the correct 22pf?

https://www.elfa.se/elfa3~se_sv/elfa/init.do?item=65-798-25
1time is offline  
Old 13 August 2011, 13:56   #2156
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1time View Post
Schoenfeld, Photon, FOL:

Is this the correct 22pf?

https://www.elfa.se/elfa3~se_sv/elfa/init.do?item=65-798-25
That should work fine.
FOL is offline  
Old 13 August 2011, 17:26   #2157
1time
Amiga Lover

1time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 565
Thank you!
1time is offline  
Old 14 August 2011, 22:57   #2158
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
Looks like he'll be paying around 24 EUR with shipping for that 24 cent part, if he orders nothing else.

As I said, new is always preferable, but if he already has a spare mobo ... so much unnecessary doubt about soldering skills, I'd say the Amiga community is the most knowledgable there is.

And as for an SMD passive component... you'd have to have a 'car' soldering iron (from the 1970s) and be a complete klutz to not just put the iron across both ends and shove it off its pads and ... done!

Reality. Red pill. Over here. (Sorry, just a bit miffed at this.)
Photon is offline  
Old 15 August 2011, 01:11   #2159
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon View Post
...you'd have to have a 'car' soldering iron (from the 1970s) and be a complete klutz ...
Oh, you've seen my soldering work...

desiv
desiv is offline  
Old 15 August 2011, 17:39   #2160
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon View Post
Interestingly, I'm now finding that according to replies to this, that he did NOT!
ACA630-25 is not over- or underclocked, but clocked "right at spec".

"underclocking" was only applied to the (very rare) 30MHz version of the card that also came with 64M memory installed. That one used a 33MHz version of the CPU.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Santa's come early... A new scandoubler from Individual Computers NovaCoder News 708 18 October 2016 23:43
Details for the next generation of Flickerfixers from Individual Computers MarkONE News 2438 01 February 2016 13:04
A600 board versions and accelerator cards LePiaf support.Hardware 9 03 September 2012 13:49
Individual Computers Silver Sponsor of the Revision gibs Amiga scene 1 22 April 2011 17:43
New products by individual Computers Paul News 0 30 November 2004 16:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.31271 seconds with 12 queries