English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 June 2011, 06:56   #2121
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Hiya,

Looks like 1200 ACA's don't like working with the Delfina Flipper

I'm just putting together my new 1200 with an ACA 1230 56Mhz and it won't boot when I plug a Delfina Flipper into the clockport (boots fine without the Delfina installed of course).

Anyone else managed to get a Delfina Flipper working with a 1200 ACA?

Last edited by NovaCoder; 06 June 2011 at 07:03.
NovaCoder is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 06 June 2011, 08:27   #2122
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 39
Posts: 1,576
Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
What PSU do you have?
mfilos is offline  
Old 06 June 2011, 08:55   #2123
AmigaFun
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Hiya,

Looks like 1200 ACA's don't like working with the Delfina Flipper

I'm just putting together my new 1200 with an ACA 1230 56Mhz and it won't boot when I plug a Delfina Flipper into the clockport (boots fine without the Delfina installed of course).

Anyone else managed to get a Delfina Flipper working with a 1200 ACA?

Don't forget the Delfina requires a mod for it to work on the Blizzard boards (removal of a capacitor or two I think, best Google it or search the forums..) so it might be the same for the ACA cards. Sorry can't help more.
AmigaFun is offline  
Old 06 June 2011, 11:00   #2124
sandlbn
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Hiya,

Looks like 1200 ACA's don't like working with the Delfina Flipper

Anyone else managed to get a Delfina Flipper working with a 1200 ACA?
I also have ACA 1230 + Delfina Flipper and I have the same problem: (I got the instructions and the library from Vesali but still not working.) I shortened the cable from the drive and did everything they wanted. But it still does not work. Send me a private message, I will send you the delfplay from vesalia.
 
Old 06 June 2011, 11:13   #2125
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Hiya,

Looks like 1200 ACA's don't like working with the Delfina Flipper

I'm just putting together my new 1200 with an ACA 1230 56Mhz and it won't boot when I plug a Delfina Flipper into the clockport (boots fine without the Delfina installed of course).

Anyone else managed to get a Delfina Flipper working with a 1200 ACA?
Amigafun is correct. I have come across a few cards that need the caps removed.
I have'nt tried a delfina with an ACA card though. So I could'nt say for sure if its the same for the ACA cards.
FOL is offline  
Old 06 June 2011, 11:46   #2126
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Only Jens has the answer
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 06 June 2011, 23:49   #2127
RMK
Registered User
RMK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Only Jens has the answer

...and Smarties.


RMK is offline  
Old 07 June 2011, 11:16   #2128
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
It depends mostly on the combination of mainboard and ACA1230: Some require removal of the Delfina caps, others don't. It's yet another of those try-and-error things that makes the Amiga so unique.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 07 June 2011, 11:32   #2129
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Looks like my Delfina CAPS are history then....
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 07 June 2011, 12:21   #2130
neocdtv
 
Posts: n/a
http://www.a1k.org/forum/showthread.php?t=27012

Here is mine A1200 Rev. 1D4, ACA1230@56Mhz, Clockport Expander and the Delfina Flipper, works stable.
 
Old 07 June 2011, 15:37   #2131
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Caps gone, Miggy boots.

Delfina seems to be functioning (still).
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 07 June 2011, 15:58   #2132
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Caps gone, Miggy boots.

Delfina seems to be functioning (still).
, there you go.
FOL is offline  
Old 08 June 2011, 15:01   #2133
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Caps gone, Miggy boots.

Delfina seems to be functioning (still).
Try the latest library, available from my site www.icomp.de - it gets rid of that beep that you might hear on especially low-volume passages of songs.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 10 June 2011, 01:42   #2134
AmigaDave
Since 1987
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Big Bear Lake/USA
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by gibs View Post
@jens

Sorry, I didn't knew I couldn't ask to the ACAboys if they had an idea about this problem.

Problem solved without calling the Resseller.
I thought it would have been helpful to share the experience.
I thought it was the goal of a forum.

Sorry again
I just think that Jens wanted to make a point that all support questions should go through the proper channels first. If you want to discuss the solutions here afterward, there is no problem, but the proper way to ask for help would be to go through the reseller you bought the product from first.
AmigaDave is offline  
Old 23 June 2011, 23:15   #2135
vroom6sri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peterborough
Age: 41
Posts: 566
Has anyone had any bother with the battery backed-up clock gaining a few minutes? Mine seems to have gained about 3 minutes but, sadly, the A1200 only gets used once in a while. I've not logged how many days have elapsed to get this difference but was just wondering if anyone else had noticed this. Just curious at this stage.
vroom6sri is offline  
Old 25 June 2011, 15:53   #2136
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
The accuracy of the crystal is 30ppm, which translates to an error of up to 80 seconds per month. Three minutes are easily gained or lost in two months.

You probably would not want to pay for a temperature-compensated crystal and a 2-3 week calibration period - that's what would be required if you want the accuracy of an expensive crystal-controlled wrist watch. It'll be cheaper to connect to the internet and adjust your clock using NTP every time you connect.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 25 June 2011, 19:43   #2137
amigarobbo
Registered User
amigarobbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 182
Mine lost the time totally, seemed to be a flat battery
amigarobbo is offline  
Old 25 June 2011, 23:40   #2138
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
Don't have the A1230, but is this referring to the RTC upgrade for it?

Anyway, easy to test robbo, set the time, power off for a while, power on, check if lost, if so then get a 2 EUR battery from a local shop
Photon is offline  
Old 26 June 2011, 00:12   #2139
amigarobbo
Registered User
amigarobbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 182


Or even, reset the time, and see if it saves it

Which it seems to..
amigarobbo is offline  
Old 26 June 2011, 22:04   #2140
vroom6sri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peterborough
Age: 41
Posts: 566
Cheers for the info, Jens. This is no way detracts from my feelings for this great bit of Amiga hardware you made for us all. It's of no significance really. I was just curious.
vroom6sri is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Santa's come early... A new scandoubler from Individual Computers NovaCoder News 708 18 October 2016 23:43
Details for the next generation of Flickerfixers from Individual Computers MarkONE News 2438 01 February 2016 13:04
A600 board versions and accelerator cards LePiaf support.Hardware 9 03 September 2012 13:49
Individual Computers Silver Sponsor of the Revision gibs Amiga scene 1 22 April 2011 17:43
New products by individual Computers Paul News 0 30 November 2004 16:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24853 seconds with 12 queries