English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 September 2010, 01:30   #1
JACK98
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: N/A
Posts: 420
Do you have an AROS board?

I see these sold on vesalia.which look like and come in at an reasonable price.But i see a loose amiga connection claiming to be like 3.1.is it a hobby type thing?.does anyone own one of these boards?.

Last edited by JACK98; 15 November 2013 at 18:49.
JACK98 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 10 September 2010, 02:01   #2
cv643d
Registered User
cv643d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 726
AROS is like AmigaOS4.1 but its free and runs on cheap x86 hardware. Its all you need to know, yeah and it needs AROS compiled stuff to run.
cv643d is offline  
Old 10 September 2010, 02:06   #3
Cloudane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cumbria
Posts: 77
From Wikipedia:



So it branched off 3.1, and aims to have full source compatibility.

It's a modern Amiga-ish-near-as-dammit OS for people who don't have money coming out of their ears

Things fragmented a bit due to various Amiga rights being tossed around from company to company and it ended up that AROS is based on 3.1 but they can't give it an Amiga name because a different company owns the Amiga trademark. Yes, it's a mess. IMHO, it's as legitimate an "AmigaOS" as the ones that got to keep the name - it's all out of the same code/trademark/rights blender that has been churning for the past 15 years.

Last edited by Cloudane; 10 September 2010 at 02:12.
Cloudane is offline  
Old 10 September 2010, 02:21   #4
JACK98
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: N/A
Posts: 420
Nice model here-

http://www.vesalia.de/e_aresone2010.htm
JACK98 is offline  
Old 10 September 2010, 02:58   #5
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by JACK98 View Post
I see these sold on vesalia does anyone own one of these boards?.
I think he's talking about AresOne?

http://www.vesalia.de/e_aresone.htm
alexh is offline  
Old 10 September 2010, 02:58   #6
Cloudane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cumbria
Posts: 77
I quite like this little fella:
http://www.imica.net/

Very clever that it has a VESA mount holder so you can attach it to the back of your monitor.

It's already on my post-holiday shopping list depending on how much money is left over
Cloudane is offline  
Old 10 September 2010, 03:22   #7
Cammy
Registered User
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Age: 32
Posts: 1,134
You can try Aros on your PC from the bootable CD or DVD before you buy some dedicated hardware for it. Not as much hardware is supported as mainstream OSs, but chances are it will be able to boot up into a usable desktop on your PC. There are two distributions being maintained, Icaros Desktop and Broadway. You can download them here:

www.icarosdesktop.org
www.aros-broadway.de
Cammy is offline  
Old 10 September 2010, 03:59   #8
lost_loven
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 358
which is better cammy? Just thinking cause i wouldn't mind something to fool with on my laptop..
lost_loven is offline  
Old 10 September 2010, 05:41   #9
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 35
Posts: 2,354
Just try them both, its a free download.. Some like this and some like that...
kriz is offline  
Old 10 September 2010, 06:11   #10
Cammy
Registered User
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Age: 32
Posts: 1,134
Icaros Desktop has more programs and games to try straight away.

Broadway is faster and more efficient, and more media-oriented. It has the new [ Show youtube player ] program for example.

But since it is free, it really is worth trying them both out and seeing which you prefer.
Cammy is offline  
Old 10 September 2010, 06:18   #11
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 1,658
I wouldn't bother with AROS: it's missing entire subsystems of AmigaOS, has virtually no apps for it, and no Petunia-style 68K emulation.
Minuous is offline  
Old 10 September 2010, 07:05   #12
tero
Registered User

tero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: M'Gladbach
Age: 40
Posts: 449
I don't know what Petunia-style 68K emulation is, but with janus-uae aros is able to run 68k apps transparently. means you run 68k apps in aros windows, without bothering an emulated wb.
Personaly i like aros but have to say that it has some things missing/buggy
As said before it's free to download, try and have fun
tero is offline  
Old 10 September 2010, 13:52   #13
JACK98
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: N/A
Posts: 420
Quote:
Originally Posted by tero View Post
I don't know what Petunia-style 68K emulation is, but with janus-uae aros is able to run 68k apps transparently. means you run 68k apps in aros windows, without bothering an emulated wb.
Comes with Amiga forever.an loophole way to emulate the amiga

Last edited by JACK98; 15 November 2013 at 18:48.
JACK98 is offline  
Old 10 September 2010, 14:13   #14
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
@Minous

Mosty people that try AROS are amiga-centric and will for the most part have all the required sub-system libraries that the OS can use to make it even better.

Out of the box i found ICAROS very impressive, it would be a shame to dismiss it due to some senseless sensabilites on what should be included - instead support it and give it time to evolve!!!

over the last 12months AROS has gone from an expression of experimental ideas to a cohesive platform and I for one (a dedicated collector of OS's) is more than impressed!
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 10 September 2010, 14:16   #15
JACK98
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: N/A
Posts: 420
Aladdin did do an partnership deal to support aros

http://www.discreetfx.com/Aladdin4D.html
JACK98 is offline  
Old 10 September 2010, 14:21   #16
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
It would be awesome when I get some time to put Aladdin on my AROS box - I have lots of mischief planned..... oh yes..... lots of mischief =D


To be honest I think it time I had a chat with Mr Ray Frost about porting Octamed SS to AROS!
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 10 September 2010, 14:28   #17
Jimbo
Registered User
Jimbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Colchester Essex
Age: 38
Posts: 822
Quote:
Originally Posted by tero View Post
I don't know what Petunia-style 68K emulation is, but with janus-uae aros is able to run 68k apps transparently. means you run 68k apps in aros windows, without bothering an emulated wb.
Personaly i like aros but have to say that it has some things missing/buggy
As said before it's free to download, try and have fun
Last time I tried Janus it had mega sound issues. I was told it was my computer, but 1.5gig ram with a p4 3.4ghz CPU it should be ok. Even had a compatible soundcard.
Jimbo is offline  
Old 10 September 2010, 14:36   #18
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
@Jimbo

was that the HD audio bug?
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 10 September 2010, 14:39   #19
Jimbo
Registered User
Jimbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Colchester Essex
Age: 38
Posts: 822
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
@Jimbo

was that the HD audio bug?
Hey

I really don't remember. I do remember cracks/pops and missing audio. Even though I gave Aros a hard time I think I may try it once more. Just need to find that 3com card for the internet I got for it. The one huge downside for me was no ext2/3 support. Which all my HD's are

Cheers
Jimbo is offline  
Old 10 September 2010, 15:12   #20
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,777
Broadway looks good -id rather have a Dock Bar
janus-uae is ok I dont know how far oli has got woth the intergration but realy how hard is it to do your own UAE script.
Retro1234 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Video of my Aros 68k distribution "Aros Vision" OlafSch Amiga scene 26 16 February 2016 12:16
What's the point? Mounty project.WHDLoad 7 25 January 2013 00:18
Whats the point in owning the hardware? No Regrets support.WinUAE 23 31 October 2010 00:12
So what is the point of AmigaOne??? th4t1guy Amiga scene 12 17 November 2002 20:48
Is there any point????? backtoskooldaze support.Hardware 1 06 April 2002 07:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.34598 seconds with 11 queries