English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 August 2010, 03:50   #1
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 44
Posts: 718
Commodore is Back????

Official Commodore website, revival or what...

http://www.commodoreusa.net/home.html

Check out Commodore Amigo
amiman99 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 29 August 2010, 05:08   #2
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Also the PC 64
gibs is offline  
Old 29 August 2010, 05:17   #3
ChrisUnionNJ
Amibay Mod/Staff

ChrisUnionNJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Union NJ
Age: 55
Posts: 191
Only in name I can't wait to see who claims the Amiga name since from what I read they do have rights now to use commodore name and chicken head Logo but I think that they think that includes the amiga name because they
put the amiga back on that picture..

Chris
ChrisUnionNJ is offline  
Old 29 August 2010, 06:30   #4
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 47
Posts: 706
I see they finally started giving credit to Marko for his fantasy Amiga case artwork instead of trying to pawn it off as their own
klx300r is offline  
Old 29 August 2010, 08:15   #5
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 44
Posts: 718
The Invictus and Amigo do look pretty nice, if I did not have a Desktop PC, I would go for one of them.
amiman99 is offline  
Old 29 August 2010, 16:35   #6
blade002
Zone Friend
blade002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 2,443
I can't see the point of such threads to be honest. We all know that what made the Amiga great had nothing really to do with the Commodore name because it was the technology under the hood, but those heady days of big innovative hardware changes that made the Amiga so unique for that time are gone.

As ChrisUnionNJ stated, its only in name but now the name means absolutely nothing, zilch, nada... Game over man! Game over!
blade002 is offline  
Old 29 August 2010, 16:42   #7
Paul_s
needs more ice cream

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 39
Posts: 3,162
seriously now, someone needs to put a stop to this bullshit. It's gone on long enough! Enough already
Paul_s is offline  
Old 29 August 2010, 16:52   #8
Skope
Protracker
Skope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: 8364
Posts: 381
Quote:
Introducing the Commodore Amigo
I'll have to get back to you on this as soon as I finish laughing. Don't wait up...
Skope is offline  
Old 29 August 2010, 21:18   #9
Wiking67
Blowing Out The Flame

Wiking67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Luleaa Sweden
Age: 50
Posts: 126
Send a message via MSN to Wiking67 Send a message via Skype™ to Wiking67
Only by the name is amiga back... "LOL"
Wiking67 is offline  
Old 29 August 2010, 21:46   #10
Cloudane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cumbria
Posts: 77
I saw somewhere that they're also putting a PC inside an actual oldschool C64 casing. More interested in if they did that with Amiga casing though!
Cloudane is offline  
Old 29 August 2010, 22:31   #11
gilgamesh
Linux snob

gilgamesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Monkey Island
Posts: 997
Quote:
Originally Posted by blade002 View Post
I can't see the point of such threads to be honest. We all know that what made the Amiga great had nothing really to do with the Commodore name
Dunno. Commodore had the PET, VIC, C64 and Amiga. That's quite impressive. CBM surely did something right. (No matter where Amiga's technology came from.)
gilgamesh is offline  
Old 29 August 2010, 23:53   #12
athiga
aka bigfoot catnap
athiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: e port/uk
Posts: 101
yes you turn on the c 64 bitter and you get the familiar blue screen

then you type LOAD $ 8,1 WINDOWS and after a few colour bars the windows login apears

jokin apart its quite possible they might do a A1200 vers i think they overcome the cpu
cooling problem with a large copper block and fans at rear i want that one
athiga is offline  
Old 30 August 2010, 02:11   #13
blade002
Zone Friend
blade002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 2,443
Quote:
Originally Posted by gilgamesh View Post
Dunno. Commodore had the PET, VIC, C64 and Amiga. That's quite impressive. CBM surely did something right. (No matter where Amiga's technology came from.)
What i meant by that was that Commodore simply bought the Amiga but didn't initially develop it and that it was the innovative technology in the Amiga that made it incredibly special for that time. That is by no means a stab at Commodore because the C64 for me was beautiful, wonderful, it was everything for me back then!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul_s View Post
seriously now, someone needs to put a stop to this bullshit. It's gone on long enough! Enough already
Agreed Paul_s!!!!! I myself held hope for the Amiga from the time Commodore went bankrupt until the year 2000 but enough was enough back then!! let alone NOW! The Commodore Amiga is DEAD, DEAD, DEAD!!! Its will NEVER come back! I love the Amiga, but this is not a fantasy world where the underdog gets inside the Delorean, goes back in time and changes the future of Commodore and subsequently the Amiga, this is REALITY!, it is DEAD!

Last edited by blade002; 30 August 2010 at 02:17.
blade002 is offline  
Old 30 August 2010, 03:01   #14
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
this site >http://www.commodoreusa.net/home.html< is utter bollox!

I suspect that if marko hirv found out his fantasy Amiga image was being used to sell commodore branded - generic wintel zero-foot-print PCs he would be NONE TO HAPPY.

not to mention a few of the pictures used are not of any system for sale, just someones Hack@Home devices
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 30 August 2010, 05:24   #15
ChrisUnionNJ
Amibay Mod/Staff

ChrisUnionNJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Union NJ
Age: 55
Posts: 191
Nope I saw that same pic thursday no amiga on it then read a press release
that they got rights to use commodore name and chicken head
and then on friday it's back at least he put the artist name back on it..

Chris

Last edited by ChrisUnionNJ; 30 August 2010 at 05:25. Reason: messed up
ChrisUnionNJ is offline  
Old 30 August 2010, 07:52   #16
athiga
aka bigfoot catnap
athiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: e port/uk
Posts: 101
there is alot of action on the aros exec board
in the comodore usa thread

http://aros-exec.org/modules/newbb/v...flat&order=ASC

they just walk in and take whats on the table and use it
there is no machine available to test how compatable it is with aros

ill belive it when some one gets a review machine
athiga is offline  
Old 30 August 2010, 09:52   #17
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
I wait for Bill Ewan to sue them A poll about who thinks they really give a shit about 'Commodore', 'C64', or 'Amiga' and not just try to cash out on the names would be interesting...
TCD is offline  
Old 30 August 2010, 13:24   #18
athiga
aka bigfoot catnap
athiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: e port/uk
Posts: 101
they are being careful they have the rights to commodore not amiga
so maybe the c64 case wouldnt be upseting anyone
my guess is they will supply it with win7 and then let the user install aros

interestin thing is whats the dimentions of the board
will it fit my old 1200 empty case ? id like that more than a huge a2000 with a pc board

this is from the comodore usa webb page

Extensible Firmware Interface is a revolutionary standard to manage the booting process of next-generation PCs in a modular, interactive way.
EFI standards allow the user to boot multiple operating systems, with a fully graphical interface and instant recognition of the peripherals.
This feature requires the purchase and installation of a small, internally mounted module, supplied by others, that connects to an available motherboard USB header socket

Last edited by athiga; 30 August 2010 at 13:32.
athiga is offline  
Old 30 August 2010, 13:48   #19
athiga
aka bigfoot catnap
athiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: e port/uk
Posts: 101
amiga 1200 Dimensions: 490 x 250 x 70 (W x D x H)
the pheonix Dimensions: 469 x 228 x 63 aprox

wich means fill fit hmm
athiga is offline  
Old 30 August 2010, 14:39   #20
mr_0rga5m
Tik Gora :D

mr_0rga5m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Round yo momma's
Posts: 1,273
.
The Comodo for "old timers"
.
mr_0rga5m is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted Commodore Amiga CD32 and Commodore CDTV j_sntos MarketPlace 4 09 March 2012 15:18
Back again trevordick Member Introductions 4 02 December 2009 17:29
Commodore 64 Wav Files to be Converted back to Audio Tape File Paradroid90 support.Other 10 17 June 2008 04:47
Ok ---Im ready to be transported back.back.back to the 90s. Check out what Ive got. nc88keyz Amiga scene 9 12 January 2008 23:58
Back To The Roots back from the dead! MethodGit News 11 22 October 2007 20:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.38918 seconds with 11 queries