English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 August 2010, 21:38   #61
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
You're welcome
TCD is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 27 August 2010, 16:08   #62
Olaf Barthel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lehrte, Germany
Posts: 154
More speed tests

As promised, I made two more speed tests with Roadshow. The tests used the same basic configuration as the older speed tests whose figures I already quoted. Except that these were performed on an A1200HD and an A600HD.

I performed the tests using cnet.device 1.9 and an NE2000 compatible PCMCIA card, plugged into a fast Ethernet switch with standard RJ45 connectors and twisted pair wiring.

The A1200HD was a plain vanilla machine, except for the 4 MByte fast memory expansion present in the trapdoor.

The A600HD also had a memory expansion, which would give it a whopping 2 MBytes of chip memory, but no fast memory at all.

Both machines were using Kickstart 3.1 and Workbench 3.1 installed on the hard disk.

Here are the figures:

A1200HD (14 MHz 68EC020; 4 MBytes of fast memory)
480 KByte/s

A600HD (7 MHz 680000; 2 MBytes of chip memory, no fast memory)
134 KByte/s

I have no idea how AmiTCP or Miami would fare on these machines, and I would like to avoid even trying to find out. Roadshow was easily installed, just by copying bsdsocket.library, a bunch of configuration files and a handful of shell commands. It's not quite that straightforward with AmiTCP and Miami.
Olaf Barthel is offline  
Old 27 August 2010, 16:57   #63
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
that A600 is pushing a good 0.8Mbits where as the A1200 is pusing about 5.5Mbits

I would say thats pretty damn good for both limmited and base machines =)

I can comftably say that the A600 with fast ram will improve to atleast a full 1MBit with you testing program.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 27 August 2010, 18:17   #64
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 35
Posts: 2,354
Hope you will sell it.. Use paypal or something like that, easy and fast to sell the files.
kriz is offline  
Old 27 August 2010, 18:54   #65
Olaf Barthel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lehrte, Germany
Posts: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
that A600 is pushing a good 0.8Mbits where as the A1200 is pusing about 5.5Mbits

I would say thats pretty damn good for both limmited and base machines =)

I can comftably say that the A600 with fast ram will improve to atleast a full 1MBit with you testing program.
I never paid much attention to the A600. Does it have 'real' fast RAM, or is the memory controller that takes care of the chip memory refresh still responsible for the fast RAM, too?

There's not a lot of useful memory left once the TCP/IP is configured and you've cranked up the number of I/O requests for the cnet.device driver to use. For some reason sending the packets over the wire is significantly slower than receiving them. While out of 20 read requests only up to 15 where in use at a time, 40 write requests were still not enough.

My back to the envelop calculation for memory usage turned out to be quite close to the actual numbers. With the driver and a few more buffers, you're using less than 400 KBytes total.

The testing was a useful exercise. I rediscovered some CD-ROMs I thought I lost when I moved, found my old C64 gear and on top of all discovered and fixed two minor issues with both the TCP/IP stack and the PPP drivers
Olaf Barthel is offline  
Old 28 August 2010, 04:27   #66
mech
Registered User
mech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: texas,usa
Posts: 172
Need a wireless pcmcia card?

Olaf,
i would be happy top send you a orinoco gold wireless card to test with prism2.lha driver free of charge. Just email me if you want one and i will get it on its way asap!
Also,i look forward to trying roadshow on the mediator 100Mbit card i run. I think roadshow might make quite a difference.

Mike

Quote:
Originally Posted by Olaf Barthel View Post
I never paid much attention to the A600. Does it have 'real' fast RAM, or is the memory controller that takes care of the chip memory refresh still responsible for the fast RAM, too?

There's not a lot of useful memory left once the TCP/IP is configured and you've cranked up the number of I/O requests for the cnet.device driver to use. For some reason sending the packets over the wire is significantly slower than receiving them. While out of 20 read requests only up to 15 where in use at a time, 40 write requests were still not enough.

My back to the envelop calculation for memory usage turned out to be quite close to the actual numbers. With the driver and a few more buffers, you're using less than 400 KBytes total.

The testing was a useful exercise. I rediscovered some CD-ROMs I thought I lost when I moved, found my old C64 gear and on top of all discovered and fixed two minor issues with both the TCP/IP stack and the PPP drivers
mech is offline  
Old 28 August 2010, 10:40   #67
Tarzin
Registered User
Tarzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dunkerque / FRANCE
Posts: 90
1) Great Idea!
2) Will surely buy it for my old an lovely A600
3) If Roadshow is localised and needs French translation, please feel free to contact me
Tarzin is offline  
Old 22 November 2010, 01:17   #68
duga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 332
I'll pay €20. I expect the requirements to be (at least):

020
Fast RAM
OS 3.1
duga is offline  
Old 22 November 2010, 19:19   #69
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,358
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
So.. Any news on this? I'm eager to chuck Miami out of the window.
Jope is offline  
Old 23 November 2010, 20:52   #70
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 685
seconded
vulture is offline  
Old 29 November 2010, 11:39   #71
Damion
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: US
Posts: 243
Wow, *very* impressive results with the Ariadne I, much better than I've achieved with mine using Miami or Genesis. It even trumps the Ameristar A4066. The A4066 is the fastest Zorro network card there is, it has twice the hardware buffer of the Ariadne (64k) and reaches around 920 kb/s here with Holger's MNI driver. Can't wait to try it out with Roadshow!
Damion is offline  
Old 08 April 2011, 08:58   #72
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,358
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
So.. Any news on this? I'm eager to chuck Miami out of the window. ;-)
Jope is offline  
Old 28 April 2011, 21:08   #73
Skope
Protracker
Skope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: 8364
Posts: 381
Hovering my mousepointer over "Uninstall MiamiDX"...
Skope is offline  
Old 29 April 2011, 14:09   #74
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Me wants too!
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 14 June 2011, 22:23   #75
duga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by duga View Post
I'll pay 20. I expect the requirements to be (at least):

020
Fast RAM
OS 3.1
Any news?

Actually, I'll pay 30.
duga is offline  
Old 10 December 2012, 18:44   #76
fryguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hjo, Sweden
Age: 38
Posts: 724
A demoversion is now available http://www.apc-tcp.de/support/0042e.php
fryguy is offline  
Old 10 December 2012, 19:00   #77
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 685
Awesome!!!
vulture is offline  
Old 10 December 2012, 20:01   #78
jPV
Registered User
jPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RNO
Posts: 486
Wooh.. seems to work fine on my A1200 with prism2. Speed is about the same like with AmiTCP/IP Genesis, maybe couple % slower, but same in practise
jPV is offline  
Old 23 February 2013, 22:05   #79
fryguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hjo, Sweden
Age: 38
Posts: 724
I just bought it. How long does it take to get the keyfile approx?
And what do i type in whdloadstartup to kill tcp/ip ?

EDIT: seems like you type netshutdown to kill it.

Last edited by fryguy; 23 February 2013 at 22:13.
fryguy is offline  
Old 24 February 2013, 10:05   #80
AndreasM
Registered User
AndreasM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: germany
Posts: 647
Quote:
Originally Posted by fryguy View Post
I just bought it. How long does it take to get the keyfile approx?
And what do i type in whdloadstartup to kill tcp/ip ?

EDIT: seems like you type netshutdown to kill it.
Hello

at working days some minute/hours after the money coming in.
AndreasM is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trying to run RoadShow Retrofan support.Apps 10 10 May 2013 22:00
The FULL version of Roadshow is NOW available to buy AndreasM News 28 25 January 2013 18:45
SkinnableClock 68k Retrofan support.Other 16 01 July 2012 03:19
68k pin lost_loven support.Hardware 3 27 February 2011 17:42
Portaudio support (was: WinUAE support for ASIO drivers) Akira support.WinUAE 57 28 March 2009 22:15

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23677 seconds with 12 queries