English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 August 2010, 14:35   #41
Olaf Barthel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lehrte, Germany
Posts: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppill View Post
A GUI for a stack that supports DHCP and Zero conf from the get-go? Surely most of the people nowadays have some modem/router thingy that supports DHCP.

Some impressive speeds but like others have mentioned a 1200 + PCMCIA card would be of interest to a greater crowd.
If you can wait until the weekend, when I have a little more spare time at hand, I could rig up a test environment with an A1200HD and a PCMCIA networking card. I haven't used that kind of configuration in years, and it might take a bit to assemble all the bits and pieces.

Quote:
A legal TCP/IP stack that support autoconfiguration (fire and forget style), faster that the rest and for an affordable price? Hell yes!

And how's the memory footprint?
The software itself needs about 260K of main memory, and you need to set aside some memory for the networking card's send/receive buffers. Each buffer is 1.5K in size, and you should need at least 8-16 buffers per queue. That gives 2 * 16 * 1.5K = 48K. Let's say a total of 360K minimum should give you a working TCP/IP stack.
Olaf Barthel is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 August 2010, 14:38   #42
Olaf Barthel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lehrte, Germany
Posts: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by vulture View Post
Also another question, right now we have to disable amitcp or miami to be able to run whdload games. Will roadshow have the same issue?
I have no idea why this should be a requirement. If WHDLoad won't let you run it with a TCP/IP stack present, it might be a technical reason, or a question of policy. Without further information to explain the rationale I'm afraid I cannot answer your question
Olaf Barthel is offline  
Old 24 August 2010, 14:43   #43
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 37
Posts: 1,158
Send a message via Skype™ to ppill
Quote:
Originally Posted by Olaf Barthel View Post
If you can wait until the weekend, when I have a little more spare time at hand, I could rig up a test environment with an A1200HD and a PCMCIA networking card. I haven't used that kind of configuration in years, and it might take a bit to assemble all the bits and pieces.
That would be great

Quote:
The software itself needs about 260K of main memory, and you need to set aside some memory for the networking card's send/receive buffers. Each buffer is 1.5K in size, and you should need at least 8-16 buffers per queue. That gives 2 * 16 * 1.5K = 48K. Let's say a total of 360K minimum should give you a working TCP/IP stack.
That seems pretty lean. Thanks for the info.
ppill is offline  
Old 24 August 2010, 14:55   #44
Olaf Barthel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lehrte, Germany
Posts: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppill View Post
I'd be ready to pay somewhere around 15-25 euros. And it sounds great. Is there a demo available?
Oops, missed that one: no, I have not yet built a demo distribution. The code has a demo mode included, though. Until about two weeks ago I hadn't given releasing the 68k version much thought. So much time had passed since I last tried to get it released that the subject was no longer on my mind.
Olaf Barthel is offline  
Old 24 August 2010, 14:58   #45
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,958
Quote:
Originally Posted by vulture View Post
! Also another question, right now we have to disable amitcp or miami to be able to run whdload games. Will roadshow have the same issue? Is this something the whdload devs should fix or is it simply one of those things that can't be fixed because of the way things work? Thx!
It is not TCP/IP stack thats the problem but NIC (or any "alien" device) that can generate "random" hardware interrupt requests, for example interrupt that tells new network packet has been received.

OS disabled and unknown interrupt (unknown to whdload) coming: system freeze.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 24 August 2010, 15:09   #46
Olaf Barthel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lehrte, Germany
Posts: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
It is not TCP/IP stack thats the problem but NIC (or any "alien" device) that can generate "random" hardware interrupt requests, for example interrupt that tells new network packet has been received.

OS disabled and unknown interrupt (unknown to whdload) coming: system freeze.
Well, that's as good a reason as can be expected under the circumstances. Some level triggered hardware interrupt signals will stick around until the conditition that triggered them has been taken care of. Simply unhooking the int2/int6 handler chain will not help, as the interrupt condition will persist and the system might just stall until it has been serviced. I remember wrestling with this kind of issue on the Concierto sound card driver

So this probably means that Roadshow won't be able to function completely under these circumstances either. But it might be possible to temporarily switch the networking interfaces offline while WHDLoad is doing its stuff.
Olaf Barthel is offline  
Old 24 August 2010, 15:27   #47
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 37
Posts: 1,158
Send a message via Skype™ to ppill
Quote:
Originally Posted by Olaf Barthel View Post
So this probably means that Roadshow won't be able to function completely under these circumstances either. But it might be possible to temporarily switch the networking interfaces offline while WHDLoad is doing its stuff.
You can define dos commands (via tooltypes or in a global prefs file) that are run before WHDLoad starts and when it exits. So something like IPUp and IPDown would do the trick.

I assume you can signal Roadshow to quit via cli?
ppill is offline  
Old 24 August 2010, 15:33   #48
Olaf Barthel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lehrte, Germany
Posts: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppill View Post
You can define dos commands (via tooltypes or in a global prefs file) that are run before WHDLoad starts and when it exits. So something like IPUp and IPDown would do the trick.
There's a shell command for that, called "ConfigureNetInterface". It also allows you to change network interface parameters such as IPv4 addresses or the DHCP status at runtime.

Quote:
I assume you can signal Roadshow to quit via cli?
Yes, there is a command for that, too. It's called "NetShutdown", and it will attempt to cleanly shut down the network interfaces, and clients. You can test in a script file whether it has succeeded, and you can tell it how long to wait for the network to be shut down.
Olaf Barthel is offline  
Old 24 August 2010, 15:37   #49
jostberg
 
Posts: n/a
Does it come with a SDK supporting things like getaddrinfo() ?
Then I'm all in!
 
Old 24 August 2010, 15:44   #50
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 37
Posts: 1,158
Send a message via Skype™ to ppill
Quote:
Originally Posted by Olaf Barthel View Post
There's a shell command for that, called "ConfigureNetInterface". It also allows you to change network interface parameters such as IPv4 addresses or the DHCP status at runtime.

Yes, there is a command for that, too. It's called "NetShutdown", and it will attempt to cleanly shut down the network interfaces, and clients. You can test in a script file whether it has succeeded, and you can tell it how long to wait for the network to be shut down.
Great What would be the best way to check whether Roadshow is running? 'version bsdsocket.library'?
ppill is offline  
Old 24 August 2010, 15:59   #51
Olaf Barthel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lehrte, Germany
Posts: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by jostberg View Post
Does it come with a SDK supporting things like getaddrinfo() ?
It wouldn't be much of an SDK without it, would it?

The SDK also contains the source code of all the shell commands that are part of Roadshow, e.g. the ConfigureNetInterface and NetShutdown commands I already mentioned.
Olaf Barthel is offline  
Old 24 August 2010, 15:59   #52
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,943
Olaf (if you don't already have one) see if you can wangle a Zorro III Deneb from Michael Boehmer

http://www.e3b.de

He's a nice bloke, and you're a legend plus you may be able to throw some business his way if everyone wants a Deneb + 100Mbit USB->Ethernet adapter + Roadshow.

If you need one I can send you a supported 100Mbit USB->Ethernet adapter. Got several here.

Last edited by alexh; 24 August 2010 at 16:05.
alexh is offline  
Old 24 August 2010, 16:01   #53
Olaf Barthel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lehrte, Germany
Posts: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppill View Post
Great What would be the best way to check whether Roadshow is running? 'version bsdsocket.library'?
The best way is to enter "GetNetStatus". The command will show you whether Roadshow is running or not, and if it's running, which parts of the network are configured and operational. For example, whether the default route is set, if DNS servers are configured, etc.

The "GetNetStatus" command can also be used to check if specific parts of the configuration are present, and this information can be used in AmigaDOS or Installer scripts.
Olaf Barthel is offline  
Old 24 August 2010, 16:05   #54
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
price point of £10 sounds good to me

loveing the tec talk, though real world tests and a test on an a1200 would be nice to see in next week or so
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 24 August 2010, 17:33   #55
Cammy
Registered User
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Age: 32
Posts: 1,134
I think $10/£10/€10 or around that kind of price is just about right. Asking much more than that for a download is just inviting piracy. Just look at how many people spread around WHDLoad keys, and that only costs $30/£15/€20! If you lurk around IRC, forums and newsgroups enough you notice this going on (I won't rat anyone out, don't worry guys, I'll let karma or your conscience catch up with you). Try to use a system that makes online payment easy with an instant download and hopefully people will simply pay for it rather than going to the small amount of extra effort required to get a pirated copy of it. I just want to help you increase your sales.
Cammy is offline  
Old 24 August 2010, 19:04   #56
cv643d
Registered User
cv643d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 726
I think you will earn some extra money from this for many years to come if you will sell it, wont make you a millionaire but any free money is good money IMHO

9 euro sounds like a great price.

You could set up an automatic webshop with Paypal that enables download zone for x amount of days/minutes or a use once download code. Add a wiki and you wont need to write manual either, just sit back and enjoy the flow of cash into your account
cv643d is offline  
Old 24 August 2010, 19:20   #57
source
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 660
I woud be interested hopefully it will work through isb ethernet with deneb as well as mediator pci ethernet.
source is offline  
Old 24 August 2010, 21:23   #58
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 685
Maybe when roadshow is released we may harass the whdload authors a bit to include a roadshow related tooltype that'll kill the connection upon whdload start and bring it back when quit. Sure, someone might be able to achieve just the same by creating start and stop scripts and assigning them to a shortcut via fkey. I too believe that 10 euros is too low a price for an actively developed tcp/ip stack. Is 15 too much guys? What do you think?
vulture is offline  
Old 24 August 2010, 21:27   #59
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by vulture View Post
Maybe when roadshow is released we may harass the whdload authors a bit to include a roadshow related tooltype that'll kill the connection upon whdload start and bring it back when quit
Seems like someone already did
Quote:
Originally Posted by whdload.prefs
;ExecuteStartup=SYS:Rexxc/rx offline.rexx ;command to execute on WHDLoad startup
;ExecuteCleanup=SYS:Rexxc/rx online.rexx ;command to execute on WHDLoad exit
Means that you can easily do that already
TCD is offline  
Old 24 August 2010, 21:32   #60
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 685
great, I wasn't aware of that capability, thx
vulture is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trying to run RoadShow Retrofan support.Apps 10 10 May 2013 22:00
The FULL version of Roadshow is NOW available to buy AndreasM News 28 25 January 2013 18:45
SkinnableClock 68k Retrofan support.Other 16 01 July 2012 03:19
68k pin lost_loven support.Hardware 3 27 February 2011 17:42
Portaudio support (was: WinUAE support for ASIO drivers) Akira support.WinUAE 57 28 March 2009 22:15

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.37312 seconds with 12 queries