English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 July 2002, 14:33   #1
Quickbeam
 
Posts: n/a
Which Agnus chips did the good old A500 have?

Am I correct in thinking that some A500s were fitted with fatter Agnus chips? I know that the original A500 had a standard OCS chipset, but didn't some have the fatter Agnus upgrade? Is the fatter Agnus the same thing as super Agnus, or is that something different again. What about the Denise chips? Did the A500 only ever have ECS Denise?

Just curious peeps.

Last edited by Quickbeam; 14 July 2002 at 19:24.
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 14 July 2002, 16:03   #2
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,606
....

A5oo 1.3 ECS had Fatter Agnes so did A5oo Plus/A6oo, anything pre 1.3 ECS was the OCS chipset (early 1.3's and 1.2's).
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 14 July 2002, 19:37   #3
Quickbeam
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks for that Galahad/FLT. I was pretty sure my A500 had the ECS chipset, but most of the web sites I've looked at describe the A500 as being an 'OCS' machine.

Apart from the different Kickstart and a bit more RAM, the A500/ A500+/A600 must be almost identical to each other, even though the A500 was released years earlier.
 
Old 14 July 2002, 22:42   #4
Overdoc
Commodore Collector
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austria
Age: 47
Posts: 824
There was a lot of different combinations, I think. ( like always with Commodore products )

Very old Amigas with Kick 1.2 and first Kick 1.3 Amigas had the 8371 512K-Agnus.
Then, later Kick 1.3 Amigas had the 8372A 1MB-Fat Agnus.
The last A-500s already had the A-500+ board in them ( Rev. 8.1 ) and therefore even had the 8375 2MB-Super Fat Agnus. And I think some of these very late ones also had a 8373-Super-Denise for ECS instead of the OCS 8362.

ECS is a grafic mode that needs a Super-Denise. And further Super-Denise needs a 2MB Super-Fat-Agnus to operate in ECS grafic mode. So if your A-500 had ECS it must have had both the Super-Fat-Agnus & the Super-Denise !

The difference between A-500 and A-500+ is 512k Chipram more in the A-500+, and full ECS ( Super Fat Agnus & Super-Denise ), and also Kick 2.0 in the A-500+.
The A-600 is similar to the A-500+, but has a harddrive connector.

I hope I didn't tell no bullshit - please correct me if I'm wrong !
Overdoc is offline  
Old 14 July 2002, 23:54   #5
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,355
I'm pretty sure you're correct on this one Overdoc
jmmijo is offline  
Old 15 July 2002, 03:10   #6
Shadowfire
Registered User
Shadowfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Connecticut USA
Posts: 533
"ECS" referred to the Agnus chip.

OCS Agnus=512k chip
ECS Agnus=1mb chip (+ productivity modes, I think)

There is no such thing as an "ECS Denise". Denise only had 1 major revision (they added Extra Half-brite mode) but this revision was made before they shipped the first A500 & A2000's. Any revision Denise will work with any Agnus chip.
Shadowfire is offline  
Old 15 July 2002, 05:29   #7
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
Perhaps it's a common myth, but I believe that the Denise revision occured at the same time as the ECS Agnus. It was offered to us when we had our A500 upgraded, but we didn't get the Denise upgraded. Whether it technically belongs to the ECS upgrade or not, I can't say (as I was not a dealer). But I have read that the Denise upgrade is a part of ECS and have always believed that, whichever version is true.

There has been some discussion in the past about whether games are ECS or OCS and I always contend that any game that requires 1meg chip is ECS since that version of Agnus was the first to achieve this (and you can't play say, Dungeon Master, on an OCS machine).
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 15 July 2002, 15:08   #8
Shadowfire
Registered User
Shadowfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Connecticut USA
Posts: 533
the "breaking" of OCS-only games occurred because of 1 of 2 things-

poor use of registers (i.e. all of a sudden there were address bits in the chipset register space that were used)- not clearing unused bits, or not taking into consideration that chip ram might be located somewhere other than $00000000-$0007FFFF.

poor memory management (asking the OS if theres more than 512k, then tossing the OS & assuming that there's 512k of "slow" fast memory @ $00c00000 (not true on any non-ocs machine)
Shadowfire is offline  
Old 15 July 2002, 23:14   #9
Quickbeam
 
Posts: n/a
Is it fair to say that any upgrade from the OCS chipset, such as the Fatter Agnus, is an 'ECS' chip? Or is it best termed an upgraded OCS chip, since it has only 512k RAM?

If I remember rightly, one of the features of the Fatter Agnus 'upgrade' was the ability to switch between 50 and 60 Hz, so you could 'stretch' NTSC games to fill the PAL screen, using a scan-lines type effect. I don't think the OCS chip could do this.

Shadowfire, what do you mean when you say there is no such thing as ECS Denise? I thought ECS Denise chip was specifically emulated in WinUAE.
 
Old 16 July 2002, 07:03   #10
Miggy2TheMax
Junior Member

Miggy2TheMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Australia
Age: 39
Posts: 374
ECS denise.

Hi guys,

I'm sure an ECS denise exists, it just gives you extra hi res screen modes. See url below for more details:

http://www.webworldinc.com/transdata/ami19.htm
Miggy2TheMax is offline  
Old 16 July 2002, 09:19   #11
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
Quote:
Originally posted by Quickbeam
Is it fair to say that any upgrade from the OCS chipset, such as the Fatter Agnus, is an 'ECS' chip? Or is it best termed an upgraded OCS chip, since it has only 512k RAM?

If I remember rightly, one of the features of the Fatter Agnus 'upgrade' was the ability to switch between 50 and 60 Hz, so you could 'stretch' NTSC games to fill the PAL screen, using a scan-lines type effect. I don't think the OCS chip could do this.
1. It depends on what you call the Fatter Agnus. If you mean the ECS Agnus, then it was 1 meg of chip, not 512k. I will call this chip the ECS Agnus since there are so many conflicting accounts of the actual name. When we upgraded ours back then, the dealer told us it was the Fatter Agnus and CBM also referred to it as this when we spoke with their technical support people.

2. When the PAL and NTSC switching was introduced in the ECS Agnus, it allowed you to boot in these modes, but it never "stretched" the NTSC display that I am aware of (unless it did this on European machines). Here in the States, the old PAL games were shifted down under the overscan area at the bottom of the screen. After the upgrade, we were able to use PAL booters to shift it back up to the normal 256/512 lines display (as well as the timing problem being fixed).
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 16 July 2002, 22:12   #12
Overdoc
Commodore Collector
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austria
Age: 47
Posts: 824
I'd say it goes like this:

Fat Agnus - Commodore part# 8371 : can access 512k of ram
Fatter Agnus - Commodore part# 8372A: can access 1MB of ram
Super-Fat Agnus - Commodore part# 8375 : can access 2MB of ram ( this is the Agnus ECS machines like the A-500+ and A-600 have ! )

Normal Denise - 8362
Super Denise - 8373 ( this is the ECS Denise in A-500+ & A-600 )

Upgrading the Agnus will give you the ability to have more chipram, like e.g using a A501 ramexpansion as chipram instead of slowram, but will not let you do extra hires screens afaik.

For the hires mode you will need the Super-Denise, and I think also at least a 1MB Agnus chip to be able to display a super hires screen.
Overdoc is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A500+ Problems Agnus Chip? Nosamda support.Hardware 7 28 June 2013 13:55
Wanted: Old A500 DENISE and FAT AGNUS chips 8bitbubsy MarketPlace 0 25 October 2009 14:11
2000 - black screen... Chips good... PSU good... chiark support.Hardware 45 09 January 2009 06:41
A500 fat agnus removal NfernalNfluence support.Hardware 3 28 August 2007 23:21
Req: Agnus Chips oldpx MarketPlace 0 07 March 2003 21:31

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.26903 seconds with 11 queries