English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 August 2010, 12:47   #1
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
060 Only Apps/Games/Demo's?

Being the proud owner of my first 060, are there any most watch Demo's I should check out or games that are awesome on an 060?

I've been playing Quake, Doom1/2, Genetic Species, Gloom Dlx, Nemac IV.

I really missed the whole Demo Scene which is sad

I've got RTG but not managed to get Warp3D working yet (a project for the weekend)

I'm interested in the Mac Emulator, I saw that running on Youtube, no idea where to start though having never owned a Mac, is there a ready to go package anywhere?

Lookin' forward to any suggestions

Oh, and anyone know where to find Alien F1? I saw this on HOL and it looks amazing but can't seem to track it down.

Cheers!

Steve.

@Peter (if you are reading) I got Gloom Dlx working in a window under RTG, works well but the screen is very dark - but is very a cool concept as you suggested! Also when you rezise the window it expands the display as well, cool eh? Too dark to be playable though.

Last edited by fitzsteve; 19 August 2010 at 12:56.
fitzsteve is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 19 August 2010, 13:35   #2
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,580
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
Alien F1 was the demo name for Virtual GP
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 19 August 2010, 13:39   #3
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad-Matt View Post
Alien F1 was the demo name for Virtual GP
Ahh, now I see - thanks for that, I'll have a look for Virtual GP
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 19 August 2010, 13:42   #4
Leffmann

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,025
You can find some great Amiga demos at the http://ada.untergrund.net/ top 100 charts. Most stuff 1995 and later will benefit from an accelerator.
Leffmann is offline  
Old 19 August 2010, 14:27   #5
Peter
Unemployed & Lovin' it
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 2,614
You do find some 040/060 Demos on the later Amiga Format/Amiga Active magazine CD's... but you have to hunt for them a bit.

I'm always watching Demos - I'll make a note of any specific 060 ones I encounter and let you know.
Peter is offline  
Old 19 August 2010, 14:32   #6
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,775
Youve realy got the Amiga Bug - Finaly got an 060 what a great setup
I dont think your have any problems setting up the Mac emulator all you realy need is the Mac Rom and a copy of Mac OS - I did do a basic ShapeShifter HDF with the basic files needed to get going if thats any help
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 19 August 2010, 15:08   #7
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Boo View Post
Youve realy got the Amiga Bug - Finaly got an 060 what a great setup
I dont think your have any problems setting up the Mac emulator all you realy need is the Mac Rom and a copy of Mac OS - I did do a basic ShapeShifter HDF with the basic files needed to get going if thats any help
That would be awesome Boo Boo, any pain you can save me would be hugely appreciated

Thanks on the Kudos, yes - I am well into my Amiga's again now!

Putting them together has bee soooooo much fun, even though some things have hit me for six like setting up RTG for the first time.

@Peter, thanks - I'll have to download some of the Amiga Format/Amiga Active magazine CD's.

@Leffmann, Thanks for the link
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 19 August 2010, 15:53   #8
Cammy
Registered User
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Age: 32
Posts: 1,134
Some more games that will make good use of your 060 are AmiJeweled RTG, Trapped 2, Payback, Heretic, Hexen, Heretic II, Descent FreeSpace, Napalm, Quake II, Foundation: Gold, Dynamite (online game, come and battle with us), The Feeble Files, Crossfire II, Flyin' High, Nightlong, Bubble Heroes, and Breathless should run nicely on it too.

AmigaSYS has a bunch of emulators already installed and set up, including a Mac emulator. It also has Dynamite installed so you can play that right off the bat.
Cammy is offline  
Old 19 August 2010, 15:57   #9
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cammy View Post
Some more games that will make good use of your 060 are AmiJeweled RTG, Trapped 2, Payback, Heretic, Hexen, Heretic II, Descent FreeSpace, Napalm, Quake II, Foundation: Gold, Dynamite (online game, come and battle with us), The Feeble Files, Crossfire II, Flyin' High, Nightlong, Bubble Heroes, and Breathless should run nicely on it too.

AmigaSYS has a bunch of emulators already installed and set up, including a Mac emulator. It also has Dynamite installed so you can play that right off the bat.
Thanks for all the suggestions Cammy! Action packed weekend comming up.

I've used AmigaSYS on UAE, I might make a little Dual Boot setup

Quake2, will it really run on an 060? I thought that was PPC only?

Really need to get Warp3D going, might have a try setting up stock OS3.9 and see how I get on.

Thanks again for your suggestions,

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 19 August 2010, 16:16   #10
StrategyGamer
Total Chaos AGA is fun!
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 873
Total Chaos AGA was written specifically for the 060. Available at your local Aminet site.
StrategyGamer is offline  
Old 19 August 2010, 16:29   #11
Cammy
Registered User
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Age: 32
Posts: 1,134
Yeah, check them out, Quake II and Heretic II both have 68k executables and will run on the 060. Total Chaos is also a brilliant game, and will run nicely on the 060 A1200T as well as your 030 A1200 and 040 A4000.
Cammy is offline  
Old 19 August 2010, 16:45   #12
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,775
I put the ShapeShifter HDF in the Zone Hope its of some use - Ive never tried AmigaSys
With the ShapeShifter HDF on WinUae A1200/8mb Fast/Jit and choose a Kickstart with ShapeShifter.
Or on real Amiga run PrepareEmul -
Sure you can have a nice Mac setup on your Amiga especially as you have a graphics card,run some Apps -Word,Excel and Games

Look forward to a YouTube Vid
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 19 August 2010, 16:47   #13
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cammy View Post
Yeah, check them out, Quake II and Heretic II both have 68k executables and will run on the 060. Total Chaos is also a brilliant game, and will run nicely on the 060 A1200T as well as your 030 A1200 and 040 A4000.
Thanks again, by the way I saw you A600 Video, great project

I just bought one of those AmigaManiac S-Video adapers (over at Amibay) for my little A600 since the TV I use it on isn't very scart friendly.

Looks like you get an awesome picture through that device so I'm looking forward to getting that and trying it

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 19 August 2010, 17:45   #14
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Boo View Post
I put the ShapeShifter HDF in the Zone Hope its of some use - Ive never tried AmigaSys
With the ShapeShifter HDF on WinUae A1200/8mb Fast/Jit and choose a Kickstart with ShapeShifter.
Or on real Amiga run PrepareEmul -
Sure you can have a nice Mac setup on your Amiga especially as you have a graphics card,run some Apps -Word,Excel and Games

Look forward to a YouTube Vid
Awesome And
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 20 August 2010, 00:00   #15
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Thanks again guys, its been an action packed night!

Watched some awesome Demo's, some of the TBL stuff is amazing! It makes you realise what was possible with the 060 and AGA

Played some Heretic, that worked very well. A few games/demo's I couldn't get to work just yet but will try again.

Found Virtual GP, thats one that didn't work just gets stuck on 'loading' screen forever.

Will check out the Mac Emu over the weekend.

Anyway - cheers all =)

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 20 August 2010, 07:48   #16
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
Found Virtual GP, thats one that didn't work just gets stuck on 'loading' screen forever.
I had to use reboot&start (the boot with no startup-sequence like method) to get the bugger work. From WB always problems or crash etc. And how do you disable rotating cockpit in this game???
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 24 August 2010, 01:52   #17
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
@Bamiga2002 - I couldn't even get Virtual GP to work with my Bliz 1230, I think I got a bad ISO

Been having some serious fun with the 060 though, Fears runs great - nice game simple graphics in this day and age but very fun.

Just been watching 'Starstruck' and was not expecting it to be sooo smooooth on a real Amiga (as only previously watched on WinUAE)

I took a little Video, sorry its cut short the batteries died lol...

[ Show youtube player ]

Enjoy!
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 24 August 2010, 02:11   #18
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,580
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
There is an update patch you could try with VirtualGP. http://aminet.net/game/patch/VGP1.0d.lha

Been too long since I played it, but if i remember right, it was one of those games that liked every last byte of free chipmem like "Capital Punishment" in order to run without issue. The patch should fix that.
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 24 August 2010, 09:52   #19
Peter
Unemployed & Lovin' it
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 2,614
I always liked "Fears" - it was far from perfect and I probably enjoyed "Gloom" more but I did think it was very atmospheric... also the level editor was always something I meant to play with but never did... must have a go at that one day.
Peter is offline  
Old 24 August 2010, 09:57   #20
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter View Post
I always liked "Fears" - it was far from perfect and I probably enjoyed "Gloom" more but I did think it was very atmospheric... also the level editor was always something I meant to play with but never did... must have a go at that one day.
I'm sure Fears will be nice on your 040 mate, I'm using the WHDLoad version.

@Mad-Matt, I'll try the patch and let you know how I get on
fitzsteve is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Games and Apps for sale DDNI MarketPlace 1 03 October 2011 01:13
What PPC Apps/Games do you run? fitzsteve Retrogaming General Discussion 3 20 September 2010 23:55
FS: Lots of Amiga hardware and games and apps ungi MarketPlace 9 16 June 2006 21:48
060 Friendly Demo? Methanoid request.Demos 2 30 November 2004 17:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.26326 seconds with 11 queries