English Amiga Board   Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Misc > MarketPlace

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 August 2010, 22:55   #1
DyLucke
Cookie Muncher
DyLucke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Spain
Age: 39
Posts: 231
Big grin Wanted: 32mb one sided SIMM for Bliz IV

So that's it, i'm looking for one of these one sided SIMMS to feed one Blizzard IV... It has some problem that only allows 1-sides memory modules.

I'm asking here before i go looking for it by myself somewhere...

Any offer pls PM me.
DyLucke is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 13 August 2010, 23:22   #2
Cammy
Registered User
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Age: 29
Posts: 1,118
This is 64MB and I think it's single sided - http://www.memoryx.net/16mbx326e12.html

There's a 128MB piece there that I'm going to get for my DKB Cobra 030, Rebel got one for his DKB Mongoose 030 and it works.

I've been using 32MB for a little while and I want 128MB already. I like to open several tabs in IBrowse and run a lot of programs while I'm online, and sometimes then I like to open Image Studio and process some large images, and I like to use the Ram Disk as the cache/virtual memory for these programs instead of my CF drive, so I sometimes almost start to run out of 32MB when I don't flush the buffers every now and then.
Cammy is offline  
Old 14 August 2010, 01:05   #3
rockersuke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Madrid / Spain
Age: 47
Posts: 251
Hi lucke!

If you don't mind 64 MB instead of 32 web8bits is your man! (he is a regular on spanish retro-comp forums where Dylucke hangs)

I'm quite happy with 64, but then I don't make such an intense use of my A1200 as Cammy! (by the way, you mean this 128 simm? will it fit in a desktop A1200 without trouble -I also use Blizzard MKIV- ? Sounds so tempting...)

--
rockersuke is offline  
Old 14 August 2010, 06:17   #4
Cammy
Registered User
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Age: 29
Posts: 1,118
From what I can tell from photos I've seen, the Blizzard MkIV can use double-sided 128MB SIMMs, so I don't see a problem with this one working, however since DyLuke says that his Blizzard MkIV has a problem with double-sided SIMMs, I can't say for sure if this one will work for you. It definitely works in DKB 030 accelerators for A1200s, so if it fits the Blizzard it should work.
Cammy is offline  
Old 14 August 2010, 17:11   #5
rockersuke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Madrid / Spain
Age: 47
Posts: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cammy View Post
From what I can tell from photos I've seen, the Blizzard MkIV can use double-sided 128MB SIMMs, so I don't see a problem with this one working, however since DyLuke says that his Blizzard MkIV has a problem with double-sided SIMMs, I can't say for sure if this one will work for you. It definitely works in DKB 030 accelerators for A1200s, so if it fits the Blizzard it should work.
Huum... in my case double sized simms fitted, but the only 128 MB I had found where just too width to get into the card (see picture)...





I've seen people claiming it works just letting the thing angled and hanging through the open trapdoor, but that was too messy for my taste. If the picture here is right, this one seems to have the perfect size, anyway.

--
rockersuke is offline  
Old 15 August 2010, 18:39   #6
DyLucke
Cookie Muncher
DyLucke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Spain
Age: 39
Posts: 231
Hmmm, correct me if i'm wrong but AFAIK BlizzIV cards can only address 64mb, and only 128 if you have the SCSI module installed.

That would mean the max size per side allowed on the card slot is only 32mb... Right?
DyLucke is offline  
Old 15 August 2010, 19:00   #7
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 35
Posts: 6,044
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by DyLucke View Post
Hmmm, correct me if i'm wrong but AFAIK BlizzIV cards can only address 64mb, and only 128 if you have the SCSI module installed.

That would mean the max size per side allowed on the card slot is only 32mb... Right?
Sorry thats incorrect.

The Blizzard 1230 IV can support 128mb on the card its self and a further 128mb on the SCSI kit.

I'm sure they can also accept pretty much any size Simm below that, assuming its the correct type of memory, I've heard of them being used with as little as 4mb or 8mb but to be honest most people will be using 32mb+ on these cards especially in this day and age.

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 15 August 2010, 19:57   #8
rockersuke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Madrid / Spain
Age: 47
Posts: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
I'm sure they can also accept pretty much any size Simm below that, assuming its the correct type of memory, I've heard of them being used with as little as 4mb or 8mb but to be honest most people will be using 32mb+ on these cards especially in this day and age.
Yup! I copy&paste from the manual:

Memory Configuration
You will require a 32-bit SIMM for the memory. You can use both single-sided and double-sided SIMMs. The BLIZZARD 1230-IV accepts SIMMs with a memory size of 1MB, 2MB, 4MB, 8MB, 16MB, 32MB, 64MB, and 128MB.


--
rockersuke is offline  
Old 15 August 2010, 20:27   #9
Wasagi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Essex / United Kingdom
Posts: 261
I have a couple of double sided memory modules that work fine in my blizzard 1230 mkIV PM me if you are interested.
Wasagi is offline  
Old 16 August 2010, 16:04   #10
DyLucke
Cookie Muncher
DyLucke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Spain
Age: 39
Posts: 231
Nope Wasagi, i need it to be single sided, it seems my Bliz has a "pin out", so it only accepts single sided modules. Thanks anyways.

So, for what i got from fitzsteve and rocker, i guess it could allow one single sided 64mb module. I'm aiming for one of these or at least of 32mb.
DyLucke is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WANTED - 32MB Single Sided SIM for Apollo 1240 Card Peter MarketPlace 8 29 September 2010 18:44
Wanted: 32mb Simm for Blizzard III Wasagi MarketPlace 10 21 July 2010 22:11
For Sale: Viper 1260 060@80MHz 64MB RAM (50ns Samsung one double sided SIMM) stachu100 MarketPlace 0 28 February 2010 23:49
32Mb Simm bippym MarketPlace 3 27 August 2006 16:13
Trade double sided128meg simm for single sided 64meg simm CU_AMiGA MarketPlace 0 13 November 2004 17:37

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14384 seconds with 11 queries