English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 August 2010, 20:44   #1
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 34
Posts: 5,775
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Does Warp3D work on a Voodoo 5 5500 Mediator PCI Setup?

Hi!

Does anyone have this working?

I've been googling for the last hour and all I can find are people who do not have it working and no solutions

My Setup is:

A1200 1D4
Mediator PCI 1200SX
Voodoo 5 5500 64mb
SB128
Blizzard 1260 + SCSI (only used for RAM) Total 128mb
4 Way Buffered IDE (2.5in HDD & DVDRW) IDEFix97
Classic Workbench P96 (Workbench 3.1)
Picasso 96 Drivers Installed
Latest Mediator Drivers from Elbox site
Warp3D is included with the above


Whatever 3D app I try to open i.e Demo's or Blitzquake I get:

Error opening of display failed


Anyone out there able to help me?

Cheers!

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
Old 13 August 2010, 21:03   #2
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,503
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
Sure it works, its just not very streight forward.

running MedConfig, youll have needed to set up video memory to be warp3d compatable which means something like 8 mb reserved for video and the rest for other pci cards and whatever.

Now on the command line, when running Showconfig, you should see an 8meg slot of Memory (hopefully video ram) and this address needs to be entered into WarpOS prefs video address (if you have os39) or manualy set in envarc:warp3d/gfxddress and enable forced. (EDIT: This may be relevent to PPC only - and for 68k, MedConfig will take care of it all.)

Also, in Picasso96 PVS program, you may need to set available modes to show all, as a few of the mesa/w3d stuff asks for 15 bit modes.

Last edited by Mad-Matt; 13 August 2010 at 21:22.
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 15 August 2010, 05:28   #3
matthey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 395
@fitzsteve
Did you ever get Warp3D working? I have Warp3D working on a Voodoo 4 which also uses the VSA-100 gpu but I'm using the 3000T/4000T version of the Mediator. The 1200 Mediator setup is more complex. You should use the MMU version on the 1200 as the non-MMU version has problems.

My ENVARC:Mediator settings are...
FastEthernet 0
MMU YES
VoodooInt YES
VoodooMem 15
matthey is offline  
Old 15 August 2010, 13:00   #4
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 34
Posts: 5,775
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Hi Matthey,

No sucess yet however I spend yesterday working on other projects. It just so happens I am using the exact same settings as you, I think maybe the problem is something in Classic Workbench, Ill probably try again with stock OS3.9

Today Ive got 2250 WHDLoad games to get through on my A1200 Desktop =)

@Mad-Matt. thanks for the advice, Ill try these things too.

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 14 October 2010, 23:25   #5
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 34
Posts: 5,775
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
The answer is Yes!!!!

The problem was with the Warp3D driver the Mediator CD installer script installs the A4000 driver by mistake, once I deleted the following files:

> Libs:Warp3D/GFXdrivers/W3D_Picasso96.library - 4.2
> Libs:Warp3D/GFXdrivers/W3D_Picasso96_PPC.library - 4.2
> Libs:Warp3D/HWdrivers/W3D_AvengerBE.library - 4.2
> Libs:Warp3D/HWdrivers/W3D_AvengerBE_PPC.library - 4.2
> Libs:Warp3D/HWdrivers/W3D_AvengerLE.library - 4.2
> Libs:Warp3D/HWdrivers/W3D_AvengerLE_PPC.library - 4.2

And replaced with:

Libs:Warp3d/GFXdrivers/W3D_Picasso96M_PPC.library v1.0
Libs:Warp3d/GFXdrivers/W3D_Picasso96MU.library v4.2
Libs:Warp3d/GFXdrivers/W3D_Picasso96M.library v4.2

Libs:Warp3d/HWdrivers/W3D_AvengerBEM.library v4.2
Libs:Warp3d/HWdrivers/W3D_AvengerBEM_PPC.library v4.2
Libs:Warp3d/HWdrivers/W3D_AvengerBEMU.library v4.2

Libs:Warp3d/HWdrivers/W3D_AvengerLEM.library v4.2
Libs:Warp3d/HWdrivers/W3D_AvengerLEM_PPC.library v4.2
Libs:Warp3d/HWdrivers/W3D_AvengerLEMU.library v4.2

Everything was fine
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 15 October 2010, 01:10   #6
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 39
Posts: 9,236
@Stevo

this info is golden m8!!!
Zetr0 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For sale: Voodoo 3 3000 PCI (ideal for Mediator) Bamiga2002 MarketPlace 11 08 August 2013 20:54
For Sale: Voodoo 5500 PCI 64Mb plpalmer1983 MarketPlace 4 06 July 2012 13:14
Help! Setting up Voodoo Screenmodes (P96) Mediator PCI fitzsteve support.Hardware 52 17 May 2010 13:21
For Sale: (upgraded) Mediator PCI A1200 complete HW setup Zetr0 MarketPlace 6 02 September 2009 21:51
For sale : Mediator 1200 PCI + Voodoo + NIC + Soundcard RetroMan MarketPlace 1 15 January 2007 20:38

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.11597 seconds with 11 queries