English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 August 2010, 23:35   #1
idog
 
Posts: n/a
WINUAE keyboard layout issues

Hello all,

Owned an Amiga 1000 as a kid, playing around with WINUAE for some time now (nostalgia games, mainly)... but now I'm trying to do some AmigaBASIC research/programming and I ran into a keyboard problem I'm not sure how to solve.

Basically, although the keyboard mapping on the "input" tab seems correct, the keys I type do not always correspond to what I get in the emulator. For instance, when I press "y" I get "z" an vice versa, and I can't find a way to type the ">" and "<" symbols at all. What am I missing? My physical keyboard is a standard US layout on a laptop.

Thanks in advance,
Ido
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 02 August 2010, 00:38   #2
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
could try your input prefs and changeing the keyboard to british or american
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 02 August 2010, 02:02   #3
idog
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks for the suggestion, but it didn't work

In fact, when I try to configure the keyboard keys within WINUAE Properties, I don't even see anything that could represent ">" or "<". When I enter "Test" mode and press Shift+"." (combination for ">"), it reads RSHIFT first and then PERIOD. It simply doesn't recognize the symbol. It seems this is not related to the outer, Operating System keyboard definition.
 
Old 02 August 2010, 02:05   #4
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 1,644
You're probably using a German keymap on the guest.
Minuous is offline  
Old 02 August 2010, 02:11   #5
idog
 
Posts: n/a
Guest?

What does that mean? and more importantly, how do I un-german it?
(BTW this does make some sense, because I got some umlauted characters from other keys).
 
Old 02 August 2010, 02:19   #6
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
On your WB disk : System -> SetMap. Which WB are you using btw?
TCD is offline  
Old 02 August 2010, 02:39   #7
idog
 
Posts: n/a
Indeed! :-)

Had to add "KEYMAP=usa" in the Info menu before it allowed me to Set Map, but it worked! Thanks!

It's an old WB 1.3 I found somewhere. It says the version is 34.34 for some reason
 
Old 02 August 2010, 02:41   #8
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Good to hear it worked
TCD is offline  
Old 02 August 2010, 09:35   #9
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 1,644
It's standard emulation terminology.

Guest = system being emulated by the host
Host = the system emulating the guest
Minuous is offline  
Old 02 August 2010, 12:16   #10
idog
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks Minuous

Unitl now I've used WinUAE almost as a "off-the-shelf product", I wasn't aware of the lingo

Last edited by idog; 02 August 2010 at 13:08.
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Minor resizeable GUI layout issues mark_k support.WinUAE 1 06 December 2012 21:26
How to redefine a new Keyboard Layout in WinUAE for use in GameBase Amiga? Port_H project.MAGE 5 11 October 2009 04:06
WinUAE keyboard layout? DaveKlassix support.WinUAE 2 24 January 2007 09:49
Keyboard layout B as default Kodoichi request.UAE Wishlist 7 10 September 2006 16:09
Keyboard LAyout Unregistered support.Games 6 19 July 2001 23:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.13633 seconds with 11 queries