English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 July 2002, 10:34   #1
LordBug
Registered User
LordBug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Someplace
Posts: 88
Trouble with CD-ROMs mounting

I've tried finding the answer ahead of time, honest

Anyway, I'm using OS3.9 on a hardfile (only way to fly) and installed CacheCDFS that came with it. Whenever I "reboot" the Amiga (or re-load WinUAE), I get "Cannot open scsi.device unit XXX" errors, and no CDROM (where XXX is the device # I'm trying, keep reading).

Before it's asked, YES, I have "UAEScsi.device" checked The drive I'm trying to use is a SCSI CD-ROM (Plextor 40x). I've tried using and not using "use ASPI SCSI Layer", and neither way works. I've read the error logs for the ID numbers (see, I read!) and tried plugging those into where I thought they should be (devs/dosdrivers/cd0), with no luck. From other messages I've read, I'm somewhat confused if I actually NEED SCSI.device installed on the hardfile, or if WinUAE just tells the OS it's there. I could be completely missing what I should be editing, as I've never had an Amiga with a SCSI controller (A1200 for the curious), so I've never tried this for real.

However, since I know it's going to be asked for, here's the error logs from both "Use ASPI SCSI Layer" checked and unchecked:

checked:
Quote:
Windows 95/98/ME/NT/2K/XP: Using ASPI CDROM interface
ASPI: open_driver 105 HostASPIStatus=0x1 HACount=0x5
ASPI: open_driver HostASPIStatus=0x1 HACount=0x5
ASPI: Status=1 hacount=5, ID=7, Manager='ASPI for WIN32 DAEMON', Ident='DAEMON'
ASPI: Status=1 hacount=5, ID=7, Manager='ASPI for WIN32 ATAPI', Ident='ATAPI'
ASPI: Status=1 hacount=5, ID=7, Manager='ASPI for WIN32 ATAPI', Ident='ATAPI'
ASPI: Status=1 hacount=5, ID=7, Manager='ASPI for WIN32 LSI_U3', Ident='LSI_U3'
ASPI: Status=1 hacount=5, ID=7, Manager='ASPI for WIN32 LSI_U3', Ident='LSI_U3'
ASPI: 0:0:0 'V386 ' 'STEALTH DVD ' '1.0h' [CDROM]
ASPI: 1:0:0 'ST380021' 'A ' '3.19'
ASPI: 3:0:0 'SEAGATE ' 'ST318452LW ' '0004'
ASPI: 4:3:0 'PLEXTOR ' 'CD-ROM PX-40TW ' '1.04' [CDROM]
V386 STEALTH DVD 1.0h = uaescsi.device:0
PLEXTOR CD-ROM PX-40TW 1.04 = uaescsi.device:803
scsidev_start_threads()
Broken down, "Stealth DVD" is Daemon Tools (Plextor + modern copy protection == bad), "A" is an IDE HD, "ST328452LW" is a SCSI HD, "CD-ROM PX-40TW" is the SCSI CD-ROM I'm trying this with. Based on the error log here, I've tried modifying CD0 to use device 803 on scsi.device and uaescsi.device.

unchecked "Use ASPI SCSI layer":
Quote:
Windows NT/2K/XP: Using SPTI CDROM interface
SPTI: drive mask = 0000003D
SPTI: drive C type 3
SPTI: drive D type 3
SPTI: drive E type 5
SPTI: selected drive E:
SPTI: drive F type 5
SPTI: selected drive F:
Drive E: = uaescsi.device:0
Drive F: = uaescsi.device:1
scsidev_start_threads()
Drive E: is the CD-ROM, drive F: is Daemon Tools. Once again, I modified CD0 with no luck (only a changing error message).

So, the big question is: Am I even editing the right file to make this work? Do I need something else? Am I missing something blatantly obvious?

(note - I just got a tip from an ex-Amiga user friend to try, but I'd still like ideas thrown at me)
LordBug is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 11 July 2002, 11:01   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,682
Quote:
Cannot open scsi.device
scsi.device != uaescsi.device

Make sure you have uaescsi.device in CD0, not scsi.device..
(you did everything else 100% correctly)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 11 July 2002, 11:13   #3
LordBug
Registered User
LordBug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Someplace
Posts: 88
Well that's great to hear

I coulda sworn I tried "Uaescsi.device" unit 803, as odd as it sounds. Apparently not, as it now works!

Many thanks Toni
LordBug is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Partitions not mounting... essence25 support.Hardware 4 26 June 2017 02:50
Mounting ADF's Arnie support.Other 100 18 March 2013 16:19
Having trouble mounting my PCMCIA CDROM NovaCoder support.Hardware 18 25 May 2012 02:43
Wanted pinouts of 3000T roms and 3000 roms Vars191 support.Hardware 1 20 November 2008 10:38
Mounting IPFs killergorilla project.SPS (was CAPS) 16 06 August 2005 00:32

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.12070 seconds with 11 queries