English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 July 2010, 16:37   #1
clouseau
 
Posts: n/a
Can anyone help me access data from a floppy?

Hi folks

I used to have an Amiga 1200 years ago, and my grandfather, believe it or not, who was in his eighties, had a number of amigas. He died a long time ago, but he left me a few bits and bobs and I came across a floppy disk which contains a number of text files with articles about the family history.

I got rid of my Amiga years ago, but I would love to be able to access the data on the floppy disk on my PC. I have tried searching the internet for ways of converting the data, but it seems long winded and expensive.

I'm looking for someone who could help me by accessing the data (if it's still readable) and producing some hard copy prints for me?

If anyone can help could you please email me at richardjlangton@aol.com - you would be compensated for your trouble and expenses of course!

Many thanks

Richard
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 27 July 2010, 17:22   #2
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,284
If you send me the disk Richard I'll extract everything I can (if it's still readable) and email the data back to you.
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 27 July 2010, 22:46   #3
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,284
For anyone else following this I've made contact with Richard via email and he's sending me his disk tomorrow. I hope I can help
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 31 July 2010, 17:44   #4
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,284
Richard's disk arrived safely and I was able to recover all the files without error. Job done
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 31 July 2010, 23:10   #5
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,204
Quote:
Originally Posted by musashi5150 View Post
Job done
Good result. Congrats, mate!
prowler is offline  
Old 31 July 2010, 23:29   #6
Peter
Unemployed & Lovin' it
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 2,614
Well played - put a copy in the zone - we'll all have a look. (ha ha)
Peter is offline  
Old 01 August 2010, 03:09   #7
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
welcome Richard

hope you stick around and enjoy the Amiga scene, i could convert the disc to an .adf which means you'll have a digital version of the disk (for use with WinUAE), this means that you'll have a virtual copy of the disk which wont degrade, this could always then be converted back to a real disk at any time.. thus retaining an important keepsake

well done to musashi5150
Djay is offline  
Old 01 August 2010, 14:59   #8
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by Djay View Post
i could convert the disc to an .adf which means you'll have a digital version of the disk (for use with WinUAE)
I did that too. Smart eh?
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 01 August 2010, 15:50   #9
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by musashi5150 View Post
I did that too. Smart eh?
Made my day
TCD is offline  
Old 01 August 2010, 16:47   #10
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
good work, musashi5150
Djay is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Floppy power and data cable too short OscarBraindeaD support.Hardware 5 12 May 2013 20:07
Program to speed up floppy disk access? BarryB support.Apps 22 26 March 2013 19:30
Can WHDLoad games access the floppy drive mr_magnell project.WHDLoad 11 07 July 2011 10:49
Can I access cf/sd-pcmcia with a "basic" WB3.0 floppy? emuola New to Emulation or Amiga scene 7 12 August 2009 07:09
Way's to get access TheBoss Retrogaming General Discussion 1 20 January 2005 12:41

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14052 seconds with 11 queries