English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 July 2010, 15:29   #1
elspero
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: .
Posts: 34
A1200 audio problem

So, my A1200 arrived, but the audio isn't working properly:
low sound, distorted, popping sounds, you name it.
Both RCA connectors and RF connection have the same problem.

I replaced C303, C304, C324 and C334, but nothing has changed.

The power brick is working properly, the -12V is supplied.

I need the readings of C324 and C334: in my board they both sign -7v, is this correct or should it be -12v? In case the -7v is incorrect, what could be the cause?

C303 and C304 are both at +12v.

The board is a 1D.1 revison.

Any idea?
elspero is offline  
Old 27 July 2010, 15:46   #2
JLPedro
JLPedro
JLPedro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Coimbra, Portugal
Age: 44
Posts: 95
Maybe the Paula chip is faulty, or not getting enough voltage. Did you noticed any other symptom as mouse erratic moving...
JLPedro is offline  
Old 27 July 2010, 15:57   #3
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 4,016
Paula sounds suspect to me too, I'll meter my board when i get home and see what voltages i read
kipper2k is offline  
Old 27 July 2010, 16:04   #4
elspero
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: .
Posts: 34
@JLPedro: the mouse is working fine, no problem at all.

@kipper2k: Thank you!

How can I check if Paula is working fine?
elspero is offline  
Old 27 July 2010, 16:07   #5
stachu100
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Piaseczno/Poland
Posts: 338
It must be -12V, not -7V.
Please check your PSU or try on another PSU.
stachu100 is offline  
Old 27 July 2010, 16:13   #6
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 4,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by elspero View Post
@JLPedro: the mouse is working fine, no problem at all.

@kipper2k: Thank you!

How can I check if Paula is working fine?

When i had similar issues i just removed Paula, soldered a PLCC socket and used a Paula from an old board, that worked for me, but i wouldn't go that far yet.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 27 July 2010, 16:35   #7
elspero
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: .
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by stachu100 View Post
It must be -12V, not -7V.
Please check your PSU or try on another PSU.
I tested the PSU, and it supplies the -12v correctly.
I tried with another PSU, same results.

So, looks like something is wrong between C324, C334 and Paula?
The tracing on the board are difficult to follow, does anyone have a list of how the components are chained together starting from Paula and going to the RCA outputs?
elspero is offline  
Old 27 July 2010, 17:38   #8
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 4,016
Heres Stedy's website with the schematics...

http://www.ianstedman.co.uk/Amiga/sc...chematics.html
kipper2k is offline  
Old 27 July 2010, 20:11   #9
elspero
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: .
Posts: 34
Thank you for the schematics, kipper2k.
Truth to be said, I don't really know how to read them 100%.

I replaced C306, but nothing has changed.
I tested R324, R334, R327, R337 and everything looks good.
U15 to R302 is ok. R302 is ok.

I am stuck. What now?
elspero is offline  
Old 27 July 2010, 20:22   #10
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 4,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by elspero View Post
Thank you for the schematics, kipper2k.
Truth to be said, I don't really know how to read them 100%.

I replaced C306, but nothing has changed.
I tested R324, R334, R327, R337 and everything looks good.
U15 to R302 is ok. R302 is ok.

I am stuck. What now?
there is a way you can jump the traces and feed the output directly to the L/R capacitor , that will prove good/bad traces. Theres a thread on it somewhere, i'll try to track it down in a bit
kipper2k is offline  
Old 27 July 2010, 20:29   #11
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 4,016
What was the rating on the c324 and c334 that you used as replacements? They need to be 22uf @25v

I think all the caps on the audio circuit should be 25v

heres the digikey number for the 22uf i use

http://search.digikey.com/scripts/Dk...e=PCE3009CT-ND
kipper2k is offline  
Old 27 July 2010, 20:43   #12
elspero
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: .
Posts: 34
I used electrolitic, not SMD, 22uf 25v.
elspero is offline  
Old 27 July 2010, 20:58   #13
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 4,016
k, gotta ask, did you put them in the right way ?, can you take a close up of the board
kipper2k is offline  
Old 27 July 2010, 21:03   #14
elspero
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: .
Posts: 34
Yeah, the polarity is right, I checked it before and after soldering, using a picture as reference.
elspero is offline  
Old 27 July 2010, 23:32   #15
elspero
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: .
Posts: 34
If the op-amp readings of this site: http://amiga.serveftp.net/audio_repair.html apply to the A1200 too, I think I found what's wrong. The readings of the LF347 with the A1200 powered on are completely off.
ie, where it says 2.5v, it's -4,5v.
But from where does the op-amp get the power?
elspero is offline  
Old 28 July 2010, 01:44   #16
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 4,016
Pin 4 is +5v and pin 11 is -v, which i am assuming is being fed from the -12v rail and maybe fed through a voltage divider to supply -5v to it. The outputs for the left and right channel are pins 1 and 7 respectively.

For both channels to produce a noisy output then chances are the problem exists before c324 and c334, either originating from the LF347 or the Paula chip itself.

I would at this stage begin to think its Paula as that would be the weakest link in the chain as regards sensitivity to frying. Its almost at the point of swapping out components. One thing you can try... If you have a macro option on a digital camera, take some real close up shots and examine the components and board for micro fractures, you will be amazed at just how much you can blow up the board with todays cameras.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 28 July 2010, 02:44   #17
Loedown
Precious & fragile things

 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,946
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
you will be amazed at just how much you can blow up the board with todays cameras.
He wants to fix it Kipper, not blow it up

Ok, let's get a few things straight, arbitarily changing caps solves nothing, poking around when you really don't know what you're doing solves nothing. The Amiga audio circuit isn't complex and it isn't difficult to comprehend. C324 & C334 should be NON POLARISED PARTS as is even stated in the diagram I have ( little NP after the parts ). Some simple voltage checks will give you the answers you need. First point of call, check your voltage rails for + / - 12V, then check your Vref voltage this should be very close or exactly 2.5 volts. These first points give a starting basis that things are ok. If all that is good then start fiddling around with the op amps and checking their voltages. Check the voltages on the pins of the actual op amp LF347. Ignore the MPF102 FETs, they are just used to engage the filter.
Loedown is offline  
Old 28 July 2010, 14:05   #18
elspero
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: .
Posts: 34
@Loedown:
The +12v and -12v, tested on R301 and R302 are 11.75v and -12.11v
AVREF tested on C306 is 2.42v

The voltages on the op amp LF347 are:
(1)-4,96 (2)-4,97 (3)-4,45 (4)-5,54 (5)-4,46 (6)-4,95 (7)-4,96
(14)-4,53 (13)-0,36 (12)+2,41 (11)-12 (10)+2,41 (9)-0,42 (8)-4,55

The Pin 4 should be +12v, right?
elspero is offline  
Old 28 July 2010, 15:31   #19
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 4,016
hows your soldering skills, a replacement LF347 is $1.09...

http://search.digikey.com/scripts/Dk...=497-2963-1-ND


and a replacement PLCC Paula at http://www.vesalia.de/ is e8.90,

if you have the tools its a 30 minute job.

btw, did it look like the capacitors had already been changed, it is possible a trace has been damaged out of sight once the caps are on the board, but again it has to be a trace thats common to both outputs thats why i am still leaning towards Paula now.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 28 July 2010, 15:34   #20
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 4,016
Max rated voltage in for the LF347 is +/- 18v. Pin 4 is the +ve input


www.national.com/ds/LF/LF347.pdf
kipper2k is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
audio device in use problem Hungry Horace project.WHDLoad 14 28 January 2019 12:41
A1200 - Audio noise NovaCoder support.Hardware 6 12 March 2012 00:57
Re CD32 Audio noises problem calibra support.Hardware 4 03 March 2012 23:02
E-uae audio problem lomdav support.OtherUAE 0 27 August 2010 11:01
a1200 audio sound problem ITGuy support.Hardware 9 11 April 2009 17:26

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09156 seconds with 12 queries