English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 August 2010, 17:08   #21
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,668
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuZz View Post
Think it's swings and roundabouts, since I had problems with PFS3 and disk corruption (overwriting RDB!) and other issues. For both filesystems, I would not rely on any "recovery software" but utilise backups.
You sure it wasn't 4G wrap around issue? It is the most common reason for RDB getting overwritten. (just replacing FFS with SFS or PFS does not fix >4G problem unless directscsi is used)
Toni Wilen is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 19 August 2010, 17:09   #22
BuZz
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Oxford / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 582
Send a message via ICQ to BuZz
Pretty sure it wasn't. I was using directscsi at the time i believe. I also think at the time my largest disk was about 3gb. [edit] well actually. i dont think I can remenber really. too long ago. I'm reasonably good with the Amiga so it surely can't have been user error ;-)
BuZz is offline  
Old 19 August 2010, 17:41   #23
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 36
Posts: 1,158
Send a message via Skype™ to ppill
If you've got at least a 68020 processor and extra ram any of the two is better. FFS is a decent fs but my god those validation errors can be a real pain.

I've been using SFS for several years now and never had any major problems.

Having said that I plan to move everything to PFS once it's available for free
ppill is offline  
Old 19 August 2010, 18:00   #24
source
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 655
I am looking for a stable fs that is easy to install. I have an A2000 060 with buddha and 160gig drive partitioned 500meg system, 2 gig bridgeboard, 1.5 gig buffer vmem stuff, 10 gig applications, and 100 gig un located as of yet, but was hoping to use the full 100gig as one partition. What are the patition and drive limits of sfs and pfs? I know that the buddh will only see 127 gigs even though it is a160 gig drive.
source is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Check4GB difference between SFS and PFS-020ds Turran support.Hardware 16 12 May 2012 10:59
Strange problem with ClassicWB 3.9 on SFS or PFS boot partition Tarel78 project.ClassicWB 15 20 April 2012 07:56
PFS 5.3 or PFS 5.1 CD with valid Key ?? ruliovega request.Apps 1 30 December 2005 23:54
pfs or sfs oldpx support.Apps 14 07 March 2003 23:33
Pfs/sfs/sms/pmt/abc/bbc/ddt/ici/b&q/bbq Jim support.Hardware 7 19 September 2002 18:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.11384 seconds with 11 queries