English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 July 2010, 10:51   #1
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Lightbulb displaying correct MagicWB-colors

I have a nice working WB3.1-setup, but one thing annoyed me: those damn MWB-icons displaying in wrong colors! I browsed for solutions for this and there's Cammy's MWB-palette for example. But it's only a few colors and i have 16-bit screenmode on me WB so i thought it wont work.

Then i happened to unpack MUI38.lha and found the ClickForColors and read that it sets MWB-colors correctly. So: set a 8-color screenmode, save it, execute ClickForColors and save screenmode settings again (in 8-color). Now the icons displayed correctly! I copied the script in WBStartup and added "DONOTWAIT". But what's up with workbench still displaying full 16-bit 65535 colors palette even if i use a 8-color screenmode setting? I can tell there's more than 8-colors in use on my WB .

Would Cammy's palette also work like this? I'm also interested in twiddling FullPalette and its settings, is it any good?

A few questions, hope you lot can answer some of them
Bamiga2002 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 July 2010, 12:24   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,527
On screen modes with more than 256 colors, the depth settings only restricts the number of pens, not the number of colors. You should always set the depth to maximum on these screens. The depths setting is only meaningful for palette-based screen modes, not for truecolor modes.

The problem with MagicWB (and other 8 or more color icons) is that they use the first 8 (ore more) pens while prefs/palette can only lock the first four and the last four pens of the screen.

This means on a screen with a depth of 3, prefs/palette can lock all 8 palette entries (pens) and mwb icons show correctly. But if the depth is greater than 3, prefs/palette only locks the first four colors of the icons and the other four can be changed by the system as needed.

FullPalette is able to lock all colors individually, so you can use it to set MagicWB colors (pens 4 - 7).

The same ist done by MagicWB-Daemon which comes with the original MagicWB package.

ClickForColors just sets a new prefs/palette preset. So it has the same limitations as prefs/palette itself.
thomas is offline  
Old 25 July 2010, 02:30   #3
source
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 655
Try fullpalette from aminet it allows you to lock the other colours so that you don't getvthe nasty magenta and cyan colours that make the workbench screen look bad.
source is offline  
Old 26 July 2010, 11:06   #4
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Righty! Installed FullPalette, locked the colors and works like charm thank you .
Bamiga2002 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Screen not displaying on 2.6.1 Akira support.WinUAE 4 25 August 2013 17:50
Displaying images Tiddlypeeps Coders. Tutorials 40 30 August 2012 10:11
Displaying sprites Hewitson Coders. General 18 27 April 2011 16:35
A1200 not displaying correct colours Magno Boots support.Hardware 6 09 September 2008 13:40
Viewing raw images in correct colors andreas support.Other 7 22 August 2008 23:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.11783 seconds with 11 queries