English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.ClassicWB

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 July 2010, 18:37   #1
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
ClassicWB with 1.3 theme - update

Thanks to ppsh41 brilliant and kind help in this thread and providing some HDFs with software pre-installed, I have started some work on a 1.3 themed 4 colour Workbench.

The first release would to be based on Workbench 2.1 and for 68000 CPU's. This will make it a great Workbench to run on a mini-mig, WinUAE, A500+ and A600's and be compatible with the largest selection of machines. I've done a 1.3 Workbench, but it's not compatible with WHDLoad and there is very little you can do with it. So what's going to happen is I will place all the 1.3 friendly nostalgic software on a separate partition and provide 1.3 themed ClassicWB packs.

What I want to do is create a Workbench that feels like 1.3 for nostalgia reasons, runs fast and looks good in four colours. Eventually I want to release a "Work" HDF as an addon for these packs, which has the biggest selection of old school software pre-installed (see ppsh41's list above for an idea). I'll also include all the hard drive installable games that do not require WHDLoad - Wings, Battle Chess, F1GP, Monkey Island etc however the 2.1 version will of course have full WHDLoad compatibility.

The idea is have a Workbench running old school software like this: [ Show youtube player ]

I'm just playing with the idea at the moment - but the above would be the plan if I did do a release.

EDIT: Almost Finished the base packs - decided to release them as theme options for the GAAE, 68k (68000+ CPU's) and LITE versions (68020+ CPU's) of the ClassicWB. In the LITE version, if you have an AGA chipset you can run copper with the 1.3 icons. Theswe will be released very soon with v27 of the ClassicWB. See updated pics below:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ClassicWB_13.png
Views:	848
Size:	13.9 KB
ID:	26202   Click image for larger version

Name:	ClassicWB13.png
Views:	613
Size:	9.4 KB
ID:	30340   Click image for larger version

Name:	WB13Copper1.png
Views:	504
Size:	14.3 KB
ID:	30415   Click image for larger version

Name:	WB13Copper2.png
Views:	417
Size:	14.3 KB
ID:	30416  

Last edited by Bloodwych; 23 January 2012 at 14:31.
Bloodwych is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 18 July 2010, 19:15   #2
Frog
Junior Member

Frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Posts: 1,263
Crazy idea but funny
You seems to have some nice 1.3 icons !
Frog is offline  
Old 18 July 2010, 20:45   #3
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Nice one Bloodwych, keep up the good work
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 18 July 2010, 22:17   #4
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Yep Frog, I'm definitely a little crazy! (says you wearing an xmas hat in July!)

But who can say they don't find that youtube 1.3 video nostalgic. It reminds of how jealous I was when I had an A500, but couldn't afford a hard drive for the few games that supported it. Now I can build that 1.3 Workbench I always dreamed of as a kid!

Plus the software of that era, each fullscreen with it's own style and custom GUI, really hits home about what made the Amiga special back then. I want to put all that software, like X-Copy, Photon Paint etc all in one place - a setup for nostalgic reasons and of course I'll share as always!

Last edited by Bloodwych; 18 July 2010 at 22:29.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 18 July 2010, 22:30   #5
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,265
Hey Bloodwych,

That looks fantastic, mate! I'm sure it'll be a very popular release.
prowler is offline  
Old 19 July 2010, 00:13   #6
Frog
Junior Member

Frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Posts: 1,263
I understand very well your point of view. A friend of mine got an HD for his A500 (it was so expensive i believed to became crazy when he showed me). All Cinemaware games, Eye of the Beholder and lot of adventures games became really enjoyable. Without forgotten the pleasure to got all your favorite tool has to run with just a click of your mouse.

I wish you the best luck has to build this teenager's old dream!
Frog is offline  
Old 22 July 2010, 21:46   #7
Techseeker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Cork / Ireland
Posts: 28
Yep, would love to see this.
Techseeker is offline  
Old 17 August 2010, 17:02   #8
lolafg
Registered User

lolafg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tours/France
Age: 45
Posts: 1,230
hello Bloodwych ,

as you know i'm having a little problem with my minimig , i can only use 2.5 mb of ram instead the 3.5 mb , at the moment a lot of games work with ADF , making whdload not so useful for the minimig.
As i allready said to you i'm not really fan of 1.3 workbench but your project seems really interesting and make me think that would be great to have it on minimig , one ask : will 2.5 mb of ram be enough to make work all HD games and aplications ?
If you are ok i would be pleased to test your 1.3 workbench when ready and could post video of the thing working under minimig !!

thanks in advance for your work.

Last edited by lolafg; 17 August 2010 at 23:58.
lolafg is offline  
Old 17 August 2010, 17:12   #9
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
You have the 68K installed, so see how far you get by using the multiboot menus:

http://classicwb.abime.net/classicweb/multiboot.htm

Should give you an idea of what runs with 2.5MB. For some multidisk games, you can disable preload in the tooltypes to get them running if need be, but I think it can cause screen flashing.

This 1.3 themed Workbench (actually Workbench 2.1) won't use much less mem than the 68K version - 4 colours vs 8 isn't a massive difference. If the multiboot seems to be good for gaming, you could use that as your default bootup menu with a little editing of the startup sequence rather than having to hold down mouse buttons.

Last edited by Bloodwych; 17 August 2010 at 17:37.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 17 August 2010, 17:31   #10
lolafg
Registered User

lolafg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tours/France
Age: 45
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodwych View Post
You have the 68K installed, so see how far you get by using the multiboot menus:

http://classicwb.abime.net/classicweb/multiboot.htm

Should give you an idea of what runs with 2.5MB. For some multidisk games, you can disable preload in the tooltypes to get them running if need be, but I think it can cause screen flashing.

This 1.3 Workbench won't use much less mem than the 68K version - 4 colours vs 8 isn't a massive difference. If the multiboot seems to be good for gaming, you could use that as your default bootup menu with a little editing of the startup sequence rather than having to hold down mouse buttons.
Well , was not asking for whdload games , but for games and aplications hd instalable in 1.3 workbench.
I was thinking in having only a 1.3 workbench as main workbench and don't use whdload.
lolafg is offline  
Old 17 August 2010, 17:35   #11
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
WHDLoad doesn't work in 1.3 Workbench anyway, so yeah if you just want to use 1.3 for a great nostalgia experience then 2.5MB is fine. In fact, it's way more than enough.

It will work with all hard drive installable games - Battle Chess, F1GP, Monkey Island etc - the only problem being there aren't that many games which are installable in 1.3. If your happy with the ADF route on the minimig, which is after all what it was intended for, then great.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 17 August 2010, 17:44   #12
lolafg
Registered User

lolafg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tours/France
Age: 45
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodwych View Post
WHDLoad doesn't work in 1.3 Workbench anyway, so yeah if you just want to use 1.3 for a great nostalgia experience then 2.5MB is fine. In fact, it's way more than enough.

It will work with all hard drive installable games - Battle Chess, F1GP, Monkey Island etc - the only problem being there aren't that many games which are installable in 1.3. If your happy with the ADF route on the minimig, which is after all what it was intended for, then great.
cool ,

is your future 1.3 classic workbench will automatically install the 2 separate partition 1.3/2.1 or will it be possible to onlly choose 1.3 install ?
lolafg is offline  
Old 17 August 2010, 17:49   #13
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
The plan is to have a partition for either 1.3 or the 2.1 (with 1.3 theme), then a separate one for all the applications and games that are compatible with 1.3.

So you can choose which to run easily. I haven't decided how I'm going to do the install routine yet, but yeah I intend to give the user a choice.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 17 August 2010, 17:59   #14
lolafg
Registered User

lolafg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tours/France
Age: 45
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodwych View Post
The plan is to have a partition for either 1.3 or the 2.1 (with 1.3 theme), then a separate one for all the applications and games that are compatible with 1.3.

So you can choose which to run easily. I haven't decided how I'm going to do the install routine yet, but yeah I intend to give the user a choice.

Super , will wait seething with impatience
lolafg is offline  
Old 17 August 2010, 18:49   #15
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,748
I was a bit sceptical about this at first but looks like youve done a good job -adding to your line of ClassicWB Packs

You could run some WHDload Game Slaves under 1.3
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?p=686111#post686111
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 17 August 2010, 19:08   #16
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Thanks Boo Boo. I try and aim these packs towards satisfying the nostalgic feel rather than stunning looks.

Thanks for the link - really interesting. I'll definitely try and chuck JST and compatible WHDLoad slaves in too.

Last edited by Bloodwych; 18 August 2010 at 00:04.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 17 August 2010, 19:29   #17
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
*slaps self* No Steve! You can't get an A500+ & GVP HD+8 just to run this new awesome Classic Workbench!
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 17 August 2010, 20:14   #18
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
The fact you have mentioned it fitsteve means you are thinking about it...

...A500+ and GVP hard drive - tasty!

Last edited by Bloodwych; 17 August 2010 at 21:15.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 18 August 2010, 18:20   #19
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Updated the pic in the OP - removed the icon borders. Looks much better. Forgot 1.3 has no icon borders.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 18 August 2010, 18:26   #20
Techseeker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Cork / Ireland
Posts: 28
Looks fantastic. Can't wait
Techseeker is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Update ClassicWB - Without format? Neil79 project.ClassicWB 3 15 May 2013 02:44
How to Enable the 1.3 theme in ClassicWB Lite john1979 project.ClassicWB 2 26 February 2013 00:39
ClassicWB with 1.3 theme Bloodwych project.ClassicWB 44 13 April 2010 21:24
ClassicWB Update Packs Bloodwych project.ClassicWB 0 21 August 2007 11:56
Try to update the ClassicWB WinUAE frikilokooo project.ClassicWB 7 14 March 2007 10:52

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.28480 seconds with 12 queries