English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 July 2010, 09:03   #1
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
My Amiga 600HxC SD

[ Show youtube player ]

Edit: 14 August 2010 : [ Show youtube player ]

Edit: 17 August 2010 : [ Show youtube player ]

Edit: 18 Dec 2010 : [ Show youtube player ]

Last edited by gibs; 18 December 2010 at 19:55.
gibs is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 July 2010, 10:02   #2
1time
Amiga Lover

1time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 599
Really really really nice! =)
1time is offline  
Old 16 July 2010, 10:04   #3
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 44
Posts: 5,175
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
nice job!
DDNI is offline  
Old 16 July 2010, 10:22   #4
Allen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Blyth England
Age: 62
Posts: 756
That really is a great Mod, I don't know much about the floppy disk emulator and its uses but what you have there is so much better than all the external cables, board plus power supply

Basically an A600 Minimig type multiload device especially if you also have an internal CF hard drive and WHDLoad etc
Allen1 is offline  
Old 16 July 2010, 10:35   #5
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Of course inside there's a 4GB CF and the last rom switcher (by keyboard)

For all the productions in trackdisk and others that are not been ported in whdload the floppy emu is neat.
gibs is offline  
Old 16 July 2010, 10:41   #6
Allen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Blyth England
Age: 62
Posts: 756
Quote:
Originally Posted by gibs View Post
Of course inside there's a 4GB CF and the last rom switcher (by keyboard)

For all the productions in trackdisk and others that are not been ported in whdload the floppy emu is neat.
Now THAT'S a machine worth having, absolutely fantastic M8
Allen1 is offline  
Old 16 July 2010, 10:42   #7
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Looks really good

I like the buttons - I have a similar plan for my setup just waiting for the A608 before I crack on...

Nice work and thanks for sharing the Vid.

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 16 July 2010, 10:54   #8
Peter
Unemployed & Lovin' it
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 50
Posts: 2,614
Where do you buy the card reader??
Peter is offline  
Old 16 July 2010, 11:12   #9
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
@ the loratek website : http://www.mmj.pl/~lotharek/atari/

You can buy with confidence. He is well known and serious !

@Allen1 : This soft is going to be ported soon on Amiga, it allow on screen display selection :
[ Show youtube player ]

Last edited by gibs; 16 July 2010 at 11:20.
gibs is offline  
Old 16 July 2010, 11:17   #10
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Some picture I took while I was working on it.
I'll do some better one soon.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1566495/A600HxC/P1020517.JPG
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1566495/A600HxC/P1020520.JPG
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1566495/A600HxC/P1020522.JPG
gibs is offline  
Old 16 July 2010, 14:11   #11
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,933
Looking good - How did you manage to move the components i.e the SD card reader at one end, switches in the middle and LCD on the right? they look quite attached to the HxC PCB.

Last edited by Retro1234; 16 July 2010 at 14:21.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 16 July 2010, 14:11   #12
Allen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Blyth England
Age: 62
Posts: 756
Quote:
Originally Posted by gibs View Post
@ the loratek website : http://www.mmj.pl/~lotharek/atari/

You can buy with confidence. He is well known and serious !

@Allen1 : This soft is going to be ported soon on Amiga, it allow on screen display selection :
[ Show youtube player ]
Blimey, when the software/disk manager is developed for use with the Amiga, I would have to say that the Amiga itself will become something to out-rival a Minimig with its ease and ability to use ADF files and you can still use an internal CF card for normal use and WHDLoad games.

I was thinking about saving up for the ARM board for my Minimig, but now I am spoiled for choice! Oooh you are cruel just as well that I'm hard up at the moment
Allen1 is offline  
Old 16 July 2010, 14:21   #13
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,675
when the On Screen Display is released it will be a lot better than having to mod the case for the LCD screen and of course no buttons required. Very nice mod though, i was thinking of doing the same to mine but based on what Jeff said for the upcoming Amiga upgrades to OSD i'll wait
kipper2k is offline  
Old 16 July 2010, 15:33   #14
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Boo Boo : with a ribbon cable and some soldering. I'll post some pictures of the inside.
Therefore at the page 17 (of the HxC PDF manual) they explain that they are the place for a connector on the HxC board with which you can control "display + buttons"

If you want something that looklike the minimig, but it's not commercial yet, have a look at this (The UFE) : http://retromaster.wordpress.com/ufe/

You're going to love it

I'm really happy with my setup.
gibs is offline  
Old 16 July 2010, 17:51   #15
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by gibs View Post
Boo Boo : with a ribbon cable and some soldering. I'll post some pictures of the inside.
Therefore at the page 17 (of the HxC PDF manual) they explain that they are the place for a connector on the HxC board with which you can control "display + buttons"

If you want something that looklike the minimig, but it's not commercial yet, have a look at this (The UFE) : http://retromaster.wordpress.com/ufe/

You're going to love it

I'm really happy with my setup.
Thankyou for your reply yes I saw the UFE intresting.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 17 July 2010, 09:55   #16
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 39
Posts: 1,576
Nice job mate. I also made an HxC setup back in May which was almost done in July. Only the buttons left to install and some glass over the LCD screen to look a lot better.

You can check it out here: http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=683109&postcount=37

Nice vid and try! \o/
mfilos is offline  
Old 17 July 2010, 11:36   #17
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,933
Im haveing problems plays Gibs video again?

@mfilos your screen looks in a very strange position - symmetry wise.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 17 July 2010, 11:52   #18
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Boo View Post
Im haveing problems plays Gibs video again?

@mfilos your screen looks in a very strange position - symmetry wise.
I think thats becuase of the position of the keyboard ribbon.

I'll have to think of somewhere else for my HxC screen to go

Maybe slide out on an tray pimp my ride style
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 17 July 2010, 11:57   #19
lolafg
Registered User

lolafg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tours/France
Age: 46
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
I think thats becuase of the position of the keyboard ribbon.

I'll have to think of somewhere else for my HxC screen to go

Maybe slide out on an tray pimp my ride style

Sure you'll do something great !!
lolafg is offline  
Old 17 July 2010, 23:39   #20
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 39
Posts: 1,576
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Boo View Post
@mfilos your screen looks in a very strange position - symmetry wise.
Well, apart from making a really clean cut (and in the future putting a glass surface as thick as the cases gap for LCD to be ubersmooth) there weren't any other places this screen would fit in my setup. (For example in my setup... where gibs putted the LCD panel, I have the ATX adapter+PicoPSU mounted)

PicoPSU+ATX adapter, Apollo 630, Subway and A603+Indivision ECS don't give a big space for this LCD screen to be mounted elsewhere. Not to mention ribbon space and fans spaces that are needed
mfilos is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09051 seconds with 11 queries