English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 July 2010, 21:05   #1
Benighted
Amiga = Metal!
Benighted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Stavanger / Norway
Posts: 92
C64 breadbox - blank, pink or multicoloured screen.

Hope it's ok to post this here.

I received a boxed C64 breadbox yesterday. I get the following result when i try to fire up the bad boy which came with two different PSU's:

Power Supply 1: Pink Screen on TV - Screen returns to snow when i turn it off, and the TV is correctly set to Channel 36 and UHF obviously. I know that the RF cable is working properly as I allready use it for my Atari.

Power Supply 2: Black, flickering multi colour or pink screen.

After doing some googling I have stumbled over various C64 sources. It seems the most likely culprit is the PLA chip. Wouldn't this be the best bet, or are there any other suspects as well?

After popping the hood I see that the board is a version B. Where can I find a proper schematic / drawing with the exact chip placement on the rev B? Or can someone point it out for me.

If I need to change the PLA I understand there are one german supplier who makes reliable replacements. Can I merely swap the faulty PLA with the EPROM, or must I solder? I'm not very good with that. Of course I could also get hold of a different c64.

Thanks for all your help in advance!
Benighted is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 July 2010, 06:20   #2
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,301
Could also be character ROM or other stuff, you should get some stuff on screen if it was only the PLA.
Black screen with lines on the other PSU means the PSU is faulty, throw it away before it makes more damage to the C64

You can change the PLA with the eprom I think, no need to solder, it's a socketed cmponent.
Akira is offline  
Old 16 July 2010, 07:15   #3
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,235
PLA not always socketed.

No such thing as "reliable" EPROM PLA replacement.

The fact that you get different results with your two power supplies is worrying. Maybe they're both stuffed? Got a known working one or a multimeter?
Hewitson is offline  
Old 16 July 2010, 16:13   #4
Benighted
Amiga = Metal!
Benighted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Stavanger / Norway
Posts: 92
Thanks for your replies Akira and Hewitson.

Unfortunetaly I do not have a multimeter or a working C64 for testing. The reason why I beliveved it to be the PLA was the symptoms described on Ray Carlsens site. But he also says that this problem can be caused by a lot of different IC's, like i.e. the character ROM.

Here's Retro-Donald who produces the PLA replacement.

Might just have to get a working c64 too, but there's nothing as satisfying as fixing something yourself :-) Hmm.. not sure what do do next :-/
Benighted is offline  
Old 16 July 2010, 16:34   #5
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,301
Get a spare C64 and make a good one out of the spares of the two.
Akira is offline  
Old 16 July 2010, 19:32   #6
Benighted
Amiga = Metal!
Benighted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Stavanger / Norway
Posts: 92
Yup. Probably the best bet.
Benighted is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Platformer with pink charakter on title screen. Kettenhund Looking for a game name ? 5 22 March 2013 21:36
Picasso II pink screen problem amiman99 support.Hardware 1 02 December 2012 06:24
WinUAE 2.3 D3D blank screen Steve support.WinUAE 48 15 April 2011 03:07
blank screen - doing something stupid? billytf support.WinUAE 0 09 February 2006 05:36
Blank Screen with games Mike support.WinUAE 0 12 May 2004 21:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23032 seconds with 11 queries