English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 July 2010, 01:35   #1
UberFreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: the world
Posts: 262
BPPC, OS3.9 & soft-kicked KS3.1

Hi

Before I completely lose my hair, I'd like to know if someone here successfully running the following setup:

- A1200 with BPPC, onboard KS3.0
- AmigaOS3.9 BB1,2,3 with soft-kicked KS3.1 + patches, via BlizKick

I was told its probably not possible, I'm having lots of issues with it which I've spent way too many hours trying to fix, without luck

If anyone is running such setup, can you please post your Startup-Sequence here?

Thanks!
UberFreak is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 06 July 2010, 09:41   #2
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,879
From what I understand this should be possible. Go over to Amiga.org and ask Piru (author of Blizkick)

But why tear your hair out when you could make and buy a KS3.9 (yes 3.9) for €20?
alexh is offline  
Old 06 July 2010, 10:25   #3
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
What's your prob with the setup? Anyway i have used OS3.5 in the past with only 3.0 ROMs kicking it to 3.1 but you must specify something like this:

C:Blizkick Kickfile=Devs:Kickstarts/kick40068.a1200 QUIET
SetPatch NOROMUPDATE QUIET

Have you extracted all the wanted ROM-updates from the "AmigaOS ROM Update" -file? You can then use the files in BlizKick. Extraction-tools included in BlizKick-package (RTFM ).

EDIT: this is what my BlizKick line with 3.1 ROMs looks like:

"BlizKick * EXTRESBUF=100000 SANITY=1000 NOPUPREBOOT MODULE IDEfix BPPCFix BBlank Colour NewAlert NoClick PatchMath020 RemCards Ram-Handler FastFileSystem FileSystem.resource romfixes QUIET

Last edited by Bamiga2002; 06 July 2010 at 10:31. Reason: add info
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 06 July 2010, 11:45   #4
UberFreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: the world
Posts: 262
Hi

Thanks for the replies!

Basically I've done the following:
Took a working (on WinUae) CWB OS3.9, added BB3 & latest 68040/60 libs, then added BlizKick to kick KS3.1 + modules from BB2 ROM update + modules from BB3.
The HDD was then moved to my A1200.

After boot, this is what I see in WB:

ROM 3.9 , ks45.57 ,wb45.4
exec - 45.20
workbench - 45.131
filesystem - 45.15
icon - 46.4
bootmenu - 44.7
scsi - 44.2
68060 - 46.8
68040 - 46.7
ram-handler - 44.24
console - 44.8

This looks ok (afaik) besides the 68040/60 libs, which come from the BPPC flash & I cant seem to get rid of them using BlizKick's BPPCFIX040, as it freezes the system.

The problem I have is that every warm-reboot results in an endless reboot cycle with red screen!
I've tried everything I can think of - changed the order of modules in the BlizKick line, tried running SetPatch before or after BlizKick, disabled all CWB patches (IconBeFast,FBlit,CopperDemon,BlazeWCP) etc, nothing helped.
Tonight I'm going to try CWB3.0 & see if I still get this problem. I hope its not the BPPC's fault

Btw, just before WB loads I get a requester with "Intuition is attempting to reset the workbench...", no idea where that comes from, it doesnt happen on WinUAE (without BlizKick).

Any idea on what to try next would be great!
UberFreak is offline  
Old 06 July 2010, 12:39   #5
UberFreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: the world
Posts: 262
@alexh:

I'm still undecided as to which OS I'd like to stay with.
If I decide to stay with OS3.9 I'll probably get myself proper ROMs
UberFreak is offline  
Old 06 July 2010, 12:41   #6
UberFreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: the world
Posts: 262
@Bamiga2002

This is currently the beginning of my S-S:

c:BlizKick KICKFILE devs:rom_v45.57 EXTRESBUF=500000 MODULE romupdate.idtag exec.library bootmenu L:FastFileSystem Filesystem.resource L:RAM-Handler console.device L:Shell-Seg DEVS:scsi.device LIBS:icon.library LIBS:workbench.library

C:SetPatch NOROMUPDATE QUIET
UberFreak is offline  
Old 07 July 2010, 09:56   #7
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
It seems the red-screen boot issue might be related to this (from BlizKick.guide):

"Q: When BlizKick has loaded it reboots the system, and then my system give me red screen (ROM checksum error). If I give my machine three-finger-salute (Ctrl-Amiga-Amiga) and afterwards it works just fine, and the ROM is mapped ok. What's up?

A: I finally managed to trace the root of this problem! It seems that the reboot magic in some PowerUP boards is somehow broken, and cause this "one-shot ROM checksum error". I could avoid this problem by replacing the official PowerUP reboot code with standard one. You can choose this new reboot method with "NOPUPREBOOT" option"

So as i typed in my previous post, try "NOPUPREBOOT" option in BlizKick command line.

And i don't think you need "romupdate.idtag" in Blizkick-line. What's that for anyway?
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 07 July 2010, 11:58   #8
UberFreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: the world
Posts: 262
Hi!

Thanks for the advice, but in my case the red-screen is permanent & not a one-time thing

Anyway, I've located the problem last night, its a HW issue with the BPPC's angled SIMM socket (the only one I can currently use inside the desktop case).
When I moved the SIMM to the horizontal socket, the problem went away

Now I have to figure out if its the socket itself thats faulty, or the BPPC's memory controller...
UberFreak is offline  
Old 07 July 2010, 12:54   #9
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
When you use BlizKick, i remember you must have SIMM in the first socket, modules are not mapped otherwise and hail red-screen! Find a SIMM that fits there nicely (single-sided or flat double-sided).
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 07 July 2010, 13:07   #10
UberFreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: the world
Posts: 262
That is some VERY useful info!

Apparently, this also happens with the card's own MAPROM feature, not only with BlizKick.
I tried installing a clean WB3.0 yesterday, without any ROM kicking/patching of any kind.
If the card's MAPROM was enabled, I got the same red-screen.

I'll try tonight to add a small 16 or 32MB SIMM to the first socket & see if that solves the problem.

Thanks!
UberFreak is offline  
Old 08 July 2010, 00:32   #11
UberFreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: the world
Posts: 262
Hi

Currently, 128MB in angled socket + 16MB in the other = no red screen!
I'd still like to run some memtest program, before I declare this case closed

Btw, where did you read/hear about Blizkick needing a SIMM in the horizontal socket?
UberFreak is offline  
Old 09 July 2010, 00:17   #12
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
I remember reading it in the BlizKick.guide.
Once i used BlizKick i have never been without it .
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 09 July 2010, 03:25   #13
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 9,769
@UberFreak

There have been some cases whereby the angled socketed SIMM contacts the small Metal Bracket of the FDD drive - thus causing a short / ground - once this occurs the memory is not visible to the PPC card and a full reboot is required.

The happend to a couple of fellow forum chummies that I know.
Zetr0 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: Amiga A1200, Mint & Recapped + BPPC 060/66 PPC330 & BVision PPC RTG fitzsteve MarketPlace 23 04 April 2013 22:23
Clearing out a lot of stuff, A4000T & Zorro Boards, BPPC&Bvision , A1000 etc fitzsteve MarketPlace 3 29 January 2013 00:03
BPPC is now in A&E twizzle support.Hardware 8 03 June 2009 19:49
BPPC 603e+ 68040 25mhz OS3.9 DDNI New to Emulation or Amiga scene 1 01 October 2006 14:02
Got my BPPC, now what soft/drivers/libs to install? keropi support.Apps 3 08 March 2005 09:41

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.17656 seconds with 11 queries