English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 June 2010, 16:39   #1
Exl
Registered User
Exl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 110
The Chaos Construct


As mentioned in a previous thread, http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=53395, I have been working on a level editor for The Chaos Engine. Here's the first version of it, complete with some documentation on how to use it. I wanted to write a short tutorial on creating a level from scratch, but I'll see what the interest in it is first.

http://www.dvdflick.net/storage/chao...up_2.5.1.1.exe ~ 4.2 Mb
http://www.dvdflick.net/storage/chaosconstruct_docs for the documentation (which is also included in the setup, if needed). Source code will follow at some point.

Any bugs, nitpicks, spelling errors, strange grammar\language use, nonsensical nonsense, things you'd like explained... fire away. Keep in mind that this is a first version and despite my best efforts, bugs no doubt still exists. But as usual, enjoy.

Feel free to drop by on IRC and ask questions: http://wbe01.mibbit.com/?server=irc....truct&nick=Vis or just #ChaosConstruct (case sensitive) on irc.abime.net.

Last edited by Exl; 28 April 2011 at 21:16.
Exl is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 June 2010, 17:00   #2
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 9,076
I got this error. Tried to use "Save changes", then the editor quit. Windows XP SP2.



edit: Got the same error under Windows 7.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 21 June 2010 at 17:08.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 21 June 2010, 17:15   #3
Exl
Registered User
Exl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 110
Seems to occur under every OS. Working on it.
Exl is offline  
Old 21 June 2010, 17:18   #4
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 36
Posts: 23,831
Saving works here (just modified some tiles), but when trying to test the result with the settings you mentioned in the doc (A1200 non expanded, folder mounted as CD0) I get :
Code:
achaos
Program failed (error #8000006)
Besides that the editor looks really good I bet gimbal will like it aswell

Edit : If I try to add a template after 44 it won't let me. Just nothing happens.

Edit 2 : Could there be a 'clear level' option? You know, to design stuff from scratch

Last edited by TCD; 21 June 2010 at 17:27.
TCD is offline  
Old 21 June 2010, 17:29   #5
Boo Boo
LastSaluteToTheCommodore

Boo Boo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Village
Posts: 2,766
I had the same error as R-N looking forward to giving it ago

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Saving works here (just modified some tiles), but when trying to test the result with the settings you mentioned in the doc (A1200 non expanded, folder mounted as CD0) I get :
Code:
achaos
Program failed (error #8000006)
Im pretty sure the game used CD.DEVICE so will probably work under Quickstart CD32 -add HD/CD0......

I have a Devs folder with CD.Device that should fix this if any help.
Boo Boo is offline  
Old 21 June 2010, 17:43   #6
Exl
Registered User
Exl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 110
You need a CD32 quickstart setting after all, I didn't check properly when writing the docs. All the rest should be the same.
Exl is offline  
Old 21 June 2010, 17:47   #7
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 36
Posts: 23,831
Houston, we have edit



Will now fiddle with some more options

Edit : The template add works, but you can only see it after a restart
Also adding triggers and script blocks work. Freaky stuff though, so I'll stick to add some basic stuff for now

Last edited by TCD; 21 June 2010 at 18:14.
TCD is offline  
Old 21 June 2010, 18:40   #8
Exl
Registered User
Exl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Edit : If I try to add a template after 44 it won't let me. Just nothing happens.

Edit 2 : Could there be a 'clear level' option? You know, to design stuff from scratch
Can't replicate the template add bug. It shows up here (at the end of the list of course) immediately, both on XP and 7. I've added a clear level option though, and fixed the save bug. See top post for new download link.
Exl is offline  
Old 21 June 2010, 18:46   #9
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 36
Posts: 23,831
Quote:
Originally Posted by Exl View Post
Can't replicate the template add bug. It shows up here (at the end of the list of course) immediately, both on XP and 7.
When the last 'line' in the template panel is full and you add one, you can't scroll down. You need to switch modes to see it. At least here on XP SP3.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Exl View Post
I've added a clear level option though, and fixed the save bug. See top post for new download link.
Thanks, I'll have a look now
TCD is offline  
Old 21 June 2010, 18:48   #10
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 9,076
Great, the runtime error is fixed.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 21 June 2010, 18:52   #11
Exl
Registered User
Exl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
When the last 'line' in the template panel is full and you add one, you can't scroll down. You need to switch modes to see it. At least here on XP SP3.
Ah, that explains it better. I thought the template simply didnt appear in the list, but I never tested at a resolution low enough for scrolling to be necessary.

Thanks for the feedback so far guys.
Exl is offline  
Old 21 June 2010, 19:02   #12
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 36
Posts: 23,831
One more thing...
When I 'updated' my install with the new version, it didn't ask me if I would like to keep my data. Guess there is a way to check if the data folder is already existing and keep it for future versions
TCD is offline  
Old 21 June 2010, 19:05   #13
Exl
Registered User
Exl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 110
I added some checks for that to the isntaller though. It should not have overwritten the game data folder, unless it did?
Exl is offline  
Old 21 June 2010, 19:13   #14
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 36
Posts: 23,831
It did. The 'LEVSDAT.BIN' file has the filedate 14.08.2009 again, yet I still have the '.BAK' file with todays filedate.

Edit : You should mention that the data structure is compatible with the WHDLoad install for CE CD32

Edit 2 : Would be great if there could be a 'position' (in the grid with X/Y coordinates) display somewhere. With a clean level is rather confusing to see where you are

Last edited by TCD; 21 June 2010 at 20:11.
TCD is offline  
Old 21 June 2010, 20:25   #15
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 36
Posts: 23,831
Okay, I have another feature request after starting with an empty level

Export / Import templates.

Also there's an error when you double right-click in the editor window with tile mode enabled. "Runtime error 91. Object or with block variable not defined" (translated from German ). I tried to copy a tile from the editor window, so I could use it. Is there a way to do that or do I need to find it in the tile panel?
TCD is offline  
Old 21 June 2010, 20:30   #16
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 43
Posts: 859
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Okay, I have another feature request after starting with an empty level

Export / Import templates.

Also there's an error when you double right-click in the editor window with tile mode enabled. "Runtime error 91. Object or with block variable not defined" (translated from German ). I tried to copy a tile from the editor window, so I could use it. Is there a way to do that or do I need to find it in the tile panel?
Typical (crap language) VB error

Great work!!! Obviously the editor needs some finetuning but great work Exl.
I hope I'll have the time to create a custom level myself (and yes WHDLoad install is compatible with edited files which simplifies testing)
jotd is offline  
Old 21 June 2010, 20:30   #17
capehorn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: UK
Age: 31
Posts: 832
I can't even get the editor to run. I get 'Run Time Error 76: Path Not Found' when trying to run it after installation.

Vista SP2.
capehorn is offline  
Old 21 June 2010, 20:36   #18
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 36
Posts: 23,831
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
Typical (crap language) VB error
I guessed that aswell (having not worked with VB much)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
I hope I'll have the time to create a custom level myself (and yes WHDLoad install is compatible with edited files which simplifies testing)
Oh, that brings me to another feature request The 'test level' one Small dialog with paths to winuae.exe and a config file. Then just start it from Chaos Constuct

@Exl
It might be an idea to join our IRC server for the initial testing Would shorten the feedback times a bit
TCD is offline  
Old 21 June 2010, 20:47   #19
Boo Boo
LastSaluteToTheCommodore

Boo Boo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Village
Posts: 2,766
This and your SuperFrog editor -Very impressive

Ill be having a good play but not seriously, I realy hope people knock up some levels

Do any of the options of the editor change file ACHAOS?

and I notice you havent included a option like in Froggy to change tiles -This might be a good thing as the original tiles are realy good -
The tiles are fairly easy to alter anyway and just wonderd if you were going to include a option for this.

Yet again Great work and well done EXL
Boo Boo is offline  
Old 21 June 2010, 21:34   #20
Exl
Registered User
Exl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
Typical (crap language) VB error
I make no excuses for the crap language, it was frustrating to work with. I wanted to use soemthing else, Python + wxWidgets perhaps, but that means I have to learn the ins and outs of wxWIdgets first. At the end of the day, I just want to get something done. It is a hobby after all.

Quote:
Originally Posted by capehorn
I can't even get the editor to run. I get 'Run Time Error 76: Path Not Found' when trying to run it after installation.
I suspect new installs wont actually work with this installer, I messed up once again. I'll upload a working one in a short while.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Boo
Do any of the options of the editor change file ACHAOS?
Not right now. Palettes, sprites and pickup types are read from it, but there's not much use in editing that yet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Boo
and I notice you havent included a option like in Froggy to change tiles
A next version maybe, if there is enough interest in creating new levels.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid
It might be an idea to join our IRC server for the initial testing Would shorten the feedback times a bit
So it appears there is a #ChaosConstruct on irc.abime.net now.
Exl is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kid Chaos Boo Boo project.Sprites 2 16 July 2009 23:32
Total Chaos pubzombie support.Games 1 15 February 2009 12:25
Chaos Engine 2 SWOS Retrogaming General Discussion 32 14 November 2007 20:21
Total Chaos benkid77 support.WinUAE 19 27 June 2005 05:49
Chaos Engine CD Unregistered request.Modules 15 17 August 2002 19:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.26531 seconds with 11 queries