English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 July 2010, 20:35   #61
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
@Prowler, how do you repair the disks? Do you just write an ADF back to it several times? Or is there another secret method you use

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 July 2010, 20:43   #62
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
@Prowler, how do you repair the disks? Do you just write an ADF back to it several times? Or is there another secret method you use
Yes, that's the method I use mostly, and I usually repeat the operation in several disk drives. It works as long as ther's no physical disk damage.

Also, it is important to make sure that the ADF actually represents the true, original content of the target disk.
prowler is offline  
Old 04 July 2010, 00:25   #63
paul2010
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 86
Earlier in this thread, people were mentioning about getting a hard drive for the Amiga.

I've just this minute come across a boxed GVP HD8+ Series II 120 MB hard drive with 4 MB of Fast RAM installed on the Internet but there's a problem.....it's 100 or nearest offer.

Is this way too much to pay for such an item (it's in its original box with instructions and appears to be in good condition)?

Gawd - this Amiga addiction is really coming back to me.

I was earlier looking at getting an external CD-ROM drive to play CDTV games (such as the Commodore A570).

I've just remembered - before I do all this, I need a Workbench disc.
paul2010 is offline  
Old 04 July 2010, 00:31   #64
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by paul2010 View Post
I've just this minute come across a boxed GVP HD8+ Series II 120 MB hard drive with 4 MB of Fast RAM installed on the Internet but there's a problem.....it's 100 or nearest offer.

Is this way too much to pay for such an item (it's in its original box with instructions and appears to be in good condition)?
I would say that around 65-70 is a fair price to pay for that item.

Quote:
Originally Posted by paul2010 View Post
I've just remembered - before I do all this, I need a Workbench disc.
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
You can send me all your corrupted Workbench, etc. disks and I will repair them for you, FOC!
prowler is offline  
Old 04 July 2010, 00:50   #65
paul2010
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
I would say that around 65-70 is a fair price to pay for that item.
Thanks.

Auction has 19 days to run yet, so I'll see how it goes.

It's just that I know how rare they are (especially boxed ones) and I hate all that disc-swapping.
paul2010 is offline  
Old 04 July 2010, 01:06   #66
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by paul2010 View Post
Thanks.

Auction has 19 days to run yet, so I'll see how it goes.
If it's this one, good luck! It looks like a good one. I would say 75 max. with 4MB RAM.

If it's not sold within a day or two of the end of the auction, make an offer and see what happens.
prowler is offline  
Old 04 July 2010, 01:14   #67
paul2010
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
If it's this one, good luck! It looks like a good one. I would say 75 max. with 4MB RAM.

If it's not sold within a day or two of the end of the auction, make an offer and see what happens.
Yep - that's the one.

I wasn't sure if I could post eBay links on here.
paul2010 is offline  
Old 04 July 2010, 01:21   #68
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by paul2010 View Post
I wasn't sure if I could post eBay links on here.
It's okay in this context, but there is a dedicated thread here for "Hey Guys, take a look at this!"-type links.
prowler is offline  
Old 05 July 2010, 23:14   #69
paul2010
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 86
I was just talking to someone about putting some old stuff in my bedroom on eBay and they said, "I thought you said you were going to put your Amiga on eBay?".

It's got me thinking - how much would I be likely to get for my A500 in its current state (also have 16 working cassette/boxed/disc only games and 15 magazine demo floppies) and would the Amigakit parts have added some value to it?

Also, say I was to pick up the GVP HD8+ hard drive mentioned above and also a 1010 external floppy (seen one for sale), would these increase the value much over the coming years?

I just find it a bit hard to believe that a 23 year-old, heavy Amiga is only worth 25 on average, according to Retro Gamer magazine.
paul2010 is offline  
Old 05 July 2010, 23:26   #70
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by paul2010 View Post
I just find it a bit hard to believe that a 23 year-old, heavy Amiga is only worth 25 on average, according to Retro Gamer magazine.
That's the truth of it. They sometimes go for much more if "bidding fever" takes hold, so it can be very much a matter of timing.

I have two A500s and I paid 20 each for them within the last year or so.

Upgrades, and peripherals like external floppy drives and hard drives are best sold separately to get the most for them, IMO.
prowler is offline  
Old 05 July 2010, 23:27   #71
ck1200
CBM & Retro Mad
ck1200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: North Wales/Wirral Uk
Age: 35
Posts: 611
Send a message via MSN to ck1200 Send a message via Yahoo to ck1200
From your pic it does look in fair condition so maybe a little more than 25.00 with what you have added, will also stand a better chance if you include foreign bids.

....and a gvp unit will ad value for sure but i'd say only the price of the unit or a little more again so maybe 65.00/70.00 max, i've seen them go a little higher together though. I would say just watch a few similar condition units to the 500 you have on e bay and see what they finish for

Edit: and as Prowler says it all depends on how much one person is willing to pay!


chris
ck1200 is offline  
Old 06 July 2010, 13:04   #72
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,879
You'd be mad to pay 75 + p&p for an A500 HD8+ just because it is boxed in "collectors" condition. You could get a nice unboxed A1200HD with RAM card for about the same price.

Wait a bit longer for an un-boxed one in the 30-40 mark or consider an A590 instead.

I also think that 25 suggestion by RetroGamer for an A500 is too high. They made millions and millions of PAL units. They are not rare, they are not sought after. They have little or no commercial value at all. 10 absolute maximum for an unboxed one. They are going the way of scrap cars. They are probably worth more as spare parts than a full working unit.

Last edited by alexh; 06 July 2010 at 13:09.
alexh is offline  
Old 06 July 2010, 13:30   #73
ck1200
CBM & Retro Mad
ck1200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: North Wales/Wirral Uk
Age: 35
Posts: 611
Send a message via MSN to ck1200 Send a message via Yahoo to ck1200
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
You'd be mad to pay 75 + p&p for an A500 HD8+ just because it is boxed in "collectors" condition. You could get a nice unboxed A1200HD with RAM card for about the same price.
agreed crazy prices i've seen unboxed ones in good condition go for the 65/70 mark though with gvp unit, there is a good condition a500 on e bay now bidding ends very shortly, current bid a fiver!!
ck1200 is offline  
Old 06 July 2010, 14:04   #74
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
@paul 2010, Alexh offers sound advice.. Instead of a hard drive for your A500 look out for a cheap A1200, you can even buy one without all the leads if it were to crop up as you have them all from the A500.

You'll be able to install a 2.5in Laptop style hard drive or a CF Card via CF-IDE adapter.

The A1200 if you put an 8mb Ram upgrade inside is a very capable machine, you'll have access to a huge number of WHDLoad games that you can run straight off the hard drive, no more need for all those floppy's and they load a hell of a lot quicker.

I sold my A500 for 20, in fact it was Prowler who bought it! I just didn't need that along with my A1200 once I got the Ram upgrade. As the others have said they really don't sell for a huge amount unless they are in immaculate condition, maybe one to keep for nostalgia's sake.

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 06 July 2010, 15:49   #75
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,879
There is a guy here selling off his Amiga collection. Included is an A590 which needs a little TLC. Make an offer and see if you can get it for little more than the postage.

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=53530
alexh is offline  
Old 27 July 2010, 23:21   #76
paul2010
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 86
I'm back again.

I've just started my 7 weeks off work (due to working at a college) and I'm spending miles too much time thinking about my A500, A500 accessories, the A1200 and accessories, other old computers.

I'm going to try and get a cheapish (no more than 60) A1200 and use my 'new' accessories from my A500 with it (but not the PSU, as won't be needed and I doubt will be powerful enough).

To keep or flog my A500 on eBay? I don't know, as I like most of the 15 or so games I've got (and another 15 or so demo discs) and I know they may not work under Kickstart 3.
paul2010 is offline  
Old 27 July 2010, 23:25   #77
ck1200
CBM & Retro Mad
ck1200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: North Wales/Wirral Uk
Age: 35
Posts: 611
Send a message via MSN to ck1200 Send a message via Yahoo to ck1200
Have a look at this

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=54081
ck1200 is offline  
Old 28 July 2010, 01:12   #78
paul2010
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 86
Thanks for the link ck1200.

I first thought about getting an A1200 almost a year ago - when AmigaKit were selling 'new old stock' and 'refurbished' models for something like 165 and 100.

You were able to configure the 'new old stock' ones a bit, though.

It was a crazy thought at those prices but this was before I signed up to PayPal and eBay and there weren't many places you could buy them outside of eBay.
paul2010 is offline  
Old 28 July 2010, 17:15   #79
ck1200
CBM & Retro Mad
ck1200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: North Wales/Wirral Uk
Age: 35
Posts: 611
Send a message via MSN to ck1200 Send a message via Yahoo to ck1200
You should be able to pick up a standard 1200 with some little goodies for a fair price on here or e-bay
ck1200 is offline  
Old 10 September 2010, 11:01   #80
boyo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 38
Well I picked up an Amiga 1200 from E-bay with yellowing keys for 35 plus p&p. I then bought a 4GB Compact Flash disk off E-bay also for 39.99 inc p&p. This little device has 2,400 WhdLoad games on it so a bargain.

Once putting the CF hard drive into the Amiga, which was pretty straight forward, I soon realised that many of the games would not load due to low memory. I could run many from the CLI but I really wanted to run them from Workbench.

I was told about amibay.co.uk. Here I bought an Apollo 1220 Accelerator card with 4mb of memory for 53 inc p&p. I installed that and now my Amiga 1200 can run 95% games off the CF HDD and WB runs much, much quicker.

Also purchased a Zip Stick off E-bay for a few pound, and I had to source a mouse so chose the origianl A500 one.

So far I have spend around 130 to get myself a nice little Amiga 1200 that can run pretty much all the games I want.

Currently the Amiga is connected to my projector via composite, and to a Creative 5.1 surround system using left and right phono. I am looking into getting a Scan Doubler as I would love to use the computer on my existing 22" Acer LCD monitor.
boyo is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What will be retro in 20 years? demolition Retrogaming General Discussion 36 02 June 2015 01:02
My first Amiga in 12 years! GarethPW Hardware pics 29 15 July 2011 15:40
1497: Five Years After ricky500 request.Old Rare Games 7 06 August 2010 14:11
after long 11 years s2325 Nostalgia & memories 52 11 April 2007 22:42
After 15 years I finally....... Bad Mr Frosty Nostalgia & memories 10 12 May 2004 13:15

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24850 seconds with 11 queries