English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 June 2010, 17:13   #41
paul2010
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghost_of_war View Post
Ah, the good old days before the internets...
I'm 30 but I never experienced the days before the Internet.

I didn't use the Internet until 1996, when I went to Further Education college and didn't get the Internet at home until 2004.

Before I got broadband at home, I was using 3G through my phone and it was slow and really expensive!

The first computer I ever used was a BBC Micro at primary school, followed by my brother's Acorn Electron and then an Acorn Archimedes A3000 and A5000 at secondary school.
paul2010 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 12 June 2010, 17:45   #42
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Good choice in games Paul =)

Yes the Megadrive Pads work fine with the Amiga, good to know if you want to play any two player games like Sensi Soccer

You should be able to pick up those games for 1-2 each on ebay.

If you decide to get an A1200 you can get an easyADF kit from Amigakit (uses the PCMCIA port) and you can make your own game disks which is what I used to do before getting the memory upgrades and such, now I run the games off the hard drive.

There are ways I think to do it with the A500, but it wont be straight forward.

Glad you got everything ok, looks like a standard A1200 mouse to me, and I think they are a little basic

Enjoy,

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 13 June 2010, 09:11   #43
ck1200
CBM & Retro Mad
ck1200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: North Wales/Wirral Uk
Age: 35
Posts: 611
Send a message via MSN to ck1200 Send a message via Yahoo to ck1200
Quote:
Originally Posted by paul2010 View Post
I'm 30 but I never experienced the days before the Internet.

I didn't use the Internet until 1996, when I went to Further Education college and didn't get the Internet at home until 2004.

Before I got broadband at home, I was using 3G through my phone and it was slow and really expensive!

The first computer I ever used was a BBC Micro at primary school, followed by my brother's Acorn Electron and then an Acorn Archimedes A3000 and A5000 at secondary school.
I remember the bbc-micro in art and design but favoured the archimedes and could mostly be found in this room on my break

Last edited by ck1200; 13 June 2010 at 15:41.
ck1200 is offline  
Old 14 June 2010, 11:23   #44
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 34
Posts: 2,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by paul2010 View Post
I get a good picture on my 26" LCD TV from the RGB to Scart cable but it only fills 75% of the screen - is this normal?
For NTSC games, yes.

Same as how you get the "letterboxing" when using say a PAL SNES or Megadrive, except this is all at the bottom instead of being divided between the top and bottom.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 19 June 2010, 21:48   #45
paul2010
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 86
I've rummaged through my bedroom and managed to find the following games:


Sid Meier's Colonization (boxed but a bit tatty - sleeve needs gluing back together)

Top Gear 2 (boxed - in almost new condition - has a price tag on it, showing the price as 10 down from 26)

At the top of the Top Gear 2 box, it proudly claims to be 'The World's No 1 race game' - not now, it isn't!


European Champions (boxed and very good condition)

Thundercats (in cassette)

Mercenary and The Second City compendium (in cassette)

Insanity Fight (in cassette)

Ikari Warriors (just disc)

Captain Fizz (just disc)

Barbarian - The Ultimate Warrior (just disc)
paul2010 is offline  
Old 19 June 2010, 21:51   #46
paul2010
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 86
I still love the simplicity of the games.

Nice being able to straight away jump into a game instead of spending 15 mins reading an Xbox 360 game manual.
paul2010 is offline  
Old 20 June 2010, 14:47   #47
ck1200
CBM & Retro Mad
ck1200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: North Wales/Wirral Uk
Age: 35
Posts: 611
Send a message via MSN to ck1200 Send a message via Yahoo to ck1200
Some good finds there, i could never get in to the Thundercats game though despite loving the cartoon as a kid!!

Ikari Warriors is ace
ck1200 is offline  
Old 21 June 2010, 12:29   #48
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,715
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
For NTSC games, yes.
I think its more the other way around
Quote:
Originally Posted by paul2010 View Post
Nice being able to straight away jump into a game instead of spending 15 mins reading an Xbox 360 game manual.
I can agree with that just jumping into a game never played before or having a quick game at 2 in the morning.

Last edited by Retro1234; 21 June 2010 at 13:24.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 21 June 2010, 13:24   #49
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,715
Sorry to confuse things its like someone said to me european games made with NTSC in mind 525 lines or just limiting the screen size for speed but on a NTSC TVs/NTSC/60 appear full screen or larger screen.

Also sorry mods I deleted my above message and had to type it again
Yes im a dick.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 21 June 2010, 16:16   #50
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,879
Quote:
Originally Posted by paul2010 View Post
managed to find the following games:
Thundercats (in cassette)
Mercenary and The Second City compendium (in cassette)
Insanity Fight (in cassette)
Ikari Warriors (just disc)
Captain Fizz (just disc)
Barbarian - The Ultimate Warrior (just disc)
Looks like you bought your Amiga from Silica. All these games came free with an Amiga from Silica in what was known as the TenStar Pack
alexh is offline  
Old 27 June 2010, 19:49   #51
paul2010
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Looks like you bought your Amiga from Silica. All these games came free with an Amiga from Silica in what was known as the TenStar Pack
I'm not sure, as, as I mentioned above, I got it off a mate of someone living with us at the time.

It's a shame I can only find 4 or 5 of the 12 or so games in the collection and shame I can't find the cases to some of them.

I've been playing some more games today:

Stardust (demo disc)
Cybernoid, Major Motion, Buggy Boy, Virus (all on the one floppy!)

I was also real chuffed that I got Captain Fizz to finally play properly (the joypad was in the wrong joystick connector, which is weird, as it hadn't been a problem with the other games).

Stardust is great graphics and Major Motion a fun little car shooting game.

I'm in the process of ordering 2 games from retrogames.co.uk (can't decide which ones yet).

I think I'm going to keep my A500 for several years yet, as it's still working after 23 years and what's to say it can't carry on for another 5-10 years?

I'd pretty much like an A1200 but am I going to use it more than I'm using the A500 (for about an hour a fortnight)?
paul2010 is offline  
Old 28 June 2010, 19:20   #52
ck1200
CBM & Retro Mad
ck1200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: North Wales/Wirral Uk
Age: 35
Posts: 611
Send a message via MSN to ck1200 Send a message via Yahoo to ck1200
Glad your enjoying the 500!!
ck1200 is offline  
Old 28 June 2010, 22:39   #53
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,879
Quote:
Originally Posted by paul2010 View Post
shame I can't find the cases to some of them.
Pretty sure that some didn't come with cases. Just instructions on a printed sheet and the disk.

Quote:
Originally Posted by paul2010 View Post
I'd pretty much like an A1200 but am I going to use it more than I'm using the A500 (for about an hour a fortnight)?
Almost certainly not. It's just a fact of life that we are older and our spare time is more precious. I'd be surprised if you used anything (cept maybe your TV & PC for web) for more than an hour once a fortnight.

The hard drive makes it much more accessible (you dont have to fiddle with disks). Before you buy perhaps try WinUAE emulator on your PC to see if you would enjoy the experience more?
alexh is offline  
Old 30 June 2010, 21:55   #54
paul2010
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 86
After much deliberation (resulting in me checking Amiga games web sites on the bus to work), I ordered Pinball Dreams and Jimmy White's Whirlwind Snooker the other day.

I wanted two games that were 'pick-up-and-play' and games that I could have a long as well as short session on.

I've never had a pinball game on any computer or console so far and I hated the snooker games on my Xbox and Sony PSP (World Snooker Championship).

I very nearly bought Fire and Ice or James Pond 2: Robocod but I didn't think I'd have the time to play it.

Pinball and Snooker have cost me 18 together with shipping from Retro Games, so good value.
paul2010 is offline  
Old 30 June 2010, 22:11   #55
Steve
Kickstarter Addict!
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 2,109
Hunter

http://www.retrogames.co.uk/more/on/details/017571


I very much recommend this game for your Amiga 500 if you like arcade adventure games set in a 3D world. Drive vehicles, kill soldiers and rabbits, get chased by bulls, fly helicopters etc. I have the original of this which I bought off eBay. Really fun game to play and way ahead of its time. No one realised at the time but this game was a glimpse of the future.
Steve is offline  
Old 30 June 2010, 22:16   #56
ck1200
CBM & Retro Mad
ck1200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: North Wales/Wirral Uk
Age: 35
Posts: 611
Send a message via MSN to ck1200 Send a message via Yahoo to ck1200
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve View Post
http://www.retrogames.co.uk/more/on/details/017571


I very much recommend this game for your Amiga 500 if you like arcade adventure games set in a 3D world. Drive vehicles, kill soldiers and rabbits, get chased by bulls, fly helicopters etc. I have the original of this which I bought off eBay. Really fun game to play and way ahead of its time. No one realised at the time but this game was a glimpse of the future.
Seconded i remember that
ck1200 is offline  
Old 03 July 2010, 14:48   #57
paul2010
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 86
Nooooo.

My Workbench 1.3 and Amiga Basic 1.2/Extras 1.3 discs appear to have failed.

I've got the original 'green label' discs and Workbench 1.3 didn't do anything when I inserted it from power-on, so I loaded Deluxe Paint 2 to Workbench and then took it out and inserted Workbench 1.3 but it comes up as 'Lazarus' on the 'desktop'.

Does this mean this and the Basic/Extras disc are likely to have had it?

I've tried blowing dust out of them and I'm sure I'd kept them protected in the disc box since last using them.

My 'The Very First English Version' disc works OK, so it's not the floppy drive.

Last edited by paul2010; 03 July 2010 at 14:54.
paul2010 is offline  
Old 03 July 2010, 14:53   #58
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by paul2010 View Post
...inserted Workbench 1.3 but it comes up as 'Lazarus' on the 'desktop'.
That means someone already tried to 'repair' them with diskdoctor. Seem like they've indeed had it
TCD is offline  
Old 03 July 2010, 20:18   #59
paul2010
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
That means someone already tried to 'repair' them with diskdoctor. Seem like they've indeed had it


I hardly ever use Workbench but I suppose I'd better look for another copy on one of the auction sites in case I need it.

I've got a copy of Workbench 2 but this of course requires Kickstart 2 to boot from and I've only got 1.2(?).
paul2010 is offline  
Old 03 July 2010, 20:26   #60
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,203
Hi Paul,

You can send me all your corrupted Workbench, etc. disks and I will repair them for you, FOC!
prowler is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What will be retro in 20 years? demolition Retrogaming General Discussion 36 02 June 2015 01:02
My first Amiga in 12 years! GarethPW Hardware pics 29 15 July 2011 15:40
1497: Five Years After ricky500 request.Old Rare Games 7 06 August 2010 14:11
after long 11 years s2325 Nostalgia & memories 52 11 April 2007 22:42
After 15 years I finally....... Bad Mr Frosty Nostalgia & memories 10 12 May 2004 13:15

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25158 seconds with 11 queries