English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 July 2002, 21:18   #1
Syko
Now got GSX750F :))
Syko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Halifax UK
Age: 53
Posts: 584
internal PC modems

I've got an internal modem in the PC, anyone know if I can use this direct from inside UAE?

I've tried sharing com3 (where the modem is), tried not sharing it. No joy either way :-(

Specificaly I want to start the amiga web browser and have it dial up using the PC modem.

If I've missed somthing simple, please don't shout to hard
Syko is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 July 2002, 11:15   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
Just enable the bsdsocket emulation option and remove (don't start) your Amiga TCP/IP stack. Start the web browser and Windows will dial up.
thomas is offline  
Old 03 July 2002, 15:34   #3
andreas
 
Posts: n/a
Hooooo

Very interesting.

So this means Miami should in NO case be installed on a Workbench used with UAE?
 
Old 03 July 2002, 17:00   #4
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
Miami or Genesis can be used if only the Amiga should have access to the internet using the serial port (and an external modem). This also might be a rather slow solution.

If you enable WinUAE's bsdsocket.library emulation, WinUAE replaces Miami's function and maps all TCP/IP calls to Window's TCP/IP stack. This way you can share Windows's internet connection between Windows and Amiga programs. You can even use a DSL/cable modem connection with your favourite Amiga internet applications. If you now try to start Miami (or Genesis), it will tell you that a TCP/IP stack is already running and quit.
thomas is offline  
Old 03 July 2002, 20:41   #5
Syko
Now got GSX750F :))
Syko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Halifax UK
Age: 53
Posts: 584
Thanks Tom,

just cranked up WinUAE and run Yoyager 3.2, and it worked perfectly.

Only prob (& it's not UAE) is that the XP dialog box switches the screens.
Syko is offline  
Old 03 July 2002, 20:57   #6
Syko
Now got GSX750F :))
Syko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Halifax UK
Age: 53
Posts: 584
And just to prove that I'm not lying,

Here's a post from Voyager 3.2 and WinUAE!

Dialed and connected without having to start the PC side :-)
Syko is offline  
Old 04 July 2002, 01:51   #7
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Quote:
If you enable WinUAE's bsdsocket.library emulation, WinUAE replaces Miami's function and maps all TCP/IP calls to Window's TCP/IP stack.
Thanks for the clarification.
On the other hand, I've always thought that enabling bsdsocket.library emulation is the ONLY way to get into the internet with UAE. I don't think WinUAE has Miami support yet. Has anyone ever tried this with bsdsocket.library disabled and been successful in getting into the net?

Last edited by andreas; 04 July 2002 at 01:56.
andreas is offline  
Old 04 July 2002, 09:36   #8
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
Quote:
Originally posted by andreas

Thanks for the clarification.
On the other hand, I've always thought that enabling bsdsocket.library emulation is the ONLY way to get into the internet with UAE. I don't think WinUAE has Miami support yet. Has anyone ever tried this with bsdsocket.library disabled and been successful in getting into the net?
There is no "Miami Support" nor can there be one. Miami is a software that uses the serial port to control a modem and provides a bsdsocket.library which is the standard TCP/IP interface for the Amiga (derived from NetBSD). Genesis does the same. If you enable WinUAE's bsdsocket option, WinUAE is the one who provides the bsdsocket.library. Starting Miami or Genesis in parallel does not work, because there already is a bsdsocket.library (WinUAE's one).

Instead of doing real TCP/IP WinUAE's bsdsocket.library maps Amiga's TCP/IP calls to the Windows TCP/IP stack as if WinUAE was a Windows TCP/IP application (Web browser, FTP client etc.)

//TG: arrrggghhh.
thomas is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internal DF1 TroelsDK support.Hardware 25 08 January 2013 09:58
Internal hd on a500? h4tt3n support.Hardware 6 17 February 2010 03:16
Wanted: 2x internal floppy A500, 1x internal floppy A1000, A500 512kb fastmem high-5 MarketPlace 2 08 January 2010 21:48
Hardware Virtual modems - Possible? Andec Hardware mods 5 14 January 2008 11:58
Internal IDE-CF Shrub Amiga scene 25 25 July 2005 14:32

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14579 seconds with 11 queries