English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 July 2002, 00:09   #1
AdamSelene
 
Posts: n/a
Grrr...BSOD!

Howdy folks! I've recently started using WinUAE (w/ AIAB...nice!), and it's worked fine...until now.
I'm trying to get WinUAE to load and it throws up a BSOD saying that there is error occurring in a "module VXD IOS(blah)...".
I don't know what said module is, or what it does, or why WinUAE has a new problem with it.
Anyone got any thoughts?
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 02 July 2002, 00:59   #2
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
Which version of Windows are we talking? That error usually means that Windows is tired of dealing with it and wants you to reinstall the OS for the umpteenth time.
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 02 July 2002, 11:01   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,682
from WinUAE's readme.txt (may not be too easy to find..)

Quote:
- Windows 95/98/ME users: IOS.VXD bluescreen = updated ASPI drivers required..
http://www.adaptec.com/worldwide/sup...duct/ASPI-4.70
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 02 July 2002, 12:02   #4
AdamSelene
 
Posts: n/a
It's Win98SE. Only thing is, I've tried it this morning and it's fine. Hmm. Anyone else believe in Windows Gremlins?
 
Old 02 July 2002, 12:35   #5
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Quote:
Originally posted by AdamSelene
Anyone else believe in Windows Gremlins?
A Gremlin called Bill ´the gremlin` Gates
RetroMan is offline  
Old 02 July 2002, 19:01   #6
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
Quote:
Originally posted by AdamSelene
It's Win98SE. Only thing is, I've tried it this morning and it's fine. Hmm. Anyone else believe in Windows Gremlins?
Not only do I believe in them, I am looking at one right now outside the airplane Window...
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 02 July 2002, 19:22   #7
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
If it's not the ACPI:

I sometimes get the BSOD with the latest WInUAE and once it arrives I have to reset the machine in order to get WinUAE to operate normally again. It may occur after I've had the machine connected to the net running IE 5.5. Not sure however.

If I track down the issue, I'll make a proper bug report to Toni.

8.17R3 didn't display this problem, but it occurs so rarely in 8.21R4 I just ignore it.

It's either this or you've got your machine overclocked too far for the summer
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 04 July 2002, 13:05   #8
AdamSelene
 
Posts: n/a
Bloodwych: I tried the ACPI update, and that didn't sort it.

I use IE 6, and the problem doesn't seem related to whether that's been run recently. Only thing is, WinUAE is now complaining that it can't access "uaescsi.device 0".

Typical! Trouble always comes in threes... I wonder what's going to happen next!
 
Old 04 July 2002, 22:43   #9
andreas
 
Posts: n/a
Arrow

I hope unticking the 'UAEscsi.device' box (Misc. settings) works for you.
 
Old 05 July 2002, 12:41   #10
AdamSelene
 
Posts: n/a
Unticking the UAEscsi.device checkbox removes the problem with the device error message. Does that mean that the "UAEscsi.device" and the "Use ASPI SCSI layer" are mutually exclusive?

Toni: Why do I need to have ASPI installed if I don't have any SCSI devices present in the system?
Also, since installing the ASPI software, Windows Media Player has complained that it can't use the CD-drive for digital playback and/or recording (leading to a lack of visualisations etc.). Could this problem be related to WinUAE's complaint about UAEscsi.device unit 0? (Possible conflict with ASPI and the drivers or somesuch?)
 
Old 05 July 2002, 18:14   #11
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,682
Simple reason: IDE (ATAPI) CDROMs support subset of SCSI command set. This is the only easy way to access CDROM devices directly on Windows 9x/me.

Maybe you have other and incompatible CDROM driver installed? (possibly comes with crappy CD burning software) or maybe newest ASPI is simply bad. Try older version.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 06 July 2002, 00:34   #12
AdamSelene
 
Posts: n/a
Ahhh. Glad someone knows technical stuff like that! Okee dokee, I'll have a nosy for replacement CD Burning Software (I know there's a newer version of Easy CD Creator knocking about), and also look into older ASPI stuff. Ta very muchski Toni!
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4way IDE interface hard drive problem (grrr!!!) CU_AMiGA support.Hardware 4 31 August 2009 08:58
WinUAE 8.22R8 + 8.22R9 BSOD Doobrey support.WinUAE 2 27 August 2003 03:37
grrr.no mercy for the bad...... ToTalXS support.Hardware 7 22 June 2002 15:19
Illegal operation / BSOD Retroid support.WinUAE 9 21 April 2002 16:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.17799 seconds with 11 queries