English Amiga Board Amiga Lore



Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 May 2010, 05:46   #1
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: #
Posts: 13,347
Looking for *cracked* GEOS 128 2.0

I'm looking for a cracked version of GEOS 128 2.0 in D64 format.
I need it to put it in a disk and restore some old files I have in a backup. I sold my old GEOS 128 2.0 disks like a damn fool!!!!

Any help will be appreciated.
Please, NO G64 files. Only CRACKED D64, and only VERSION 2.0 (or higher)
Akira is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
Old 18 May 2010, 08:43   #2
andy
Back.
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 113
Perhaps not the answer you wanted after specifying a cracked version but are the files over at cbmfiles.com definitely no good? There are ready-made D64 images and reading through various text files in the archive that I have here, they are fully functional. Having finally loaded it for the first time to see, it certainly looks that way too.

I have no real-world experience with GEOS, so sorry if that's of no use. Hope you get sorted, though!
andy is offline  
Old 18 May 2010, 08:46   #3
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 36
Posts: 23,702
Been there, done that. No need for a cracked version Akira. Grab the files mentioned by andy. They work fine.
TCD is online now  
Old 18 May 2010, 16:11   #4
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: #
Posts: 13,347
Hmm, coolness. I didn't know about that page. Thanks Andy!!!
By cracked I meant their copy protection removed. Those D64 files are certainly cracked otherwise they couldn't have been imaged as D64 because of their copy protection.

HOWEVER my request was for GEOS 2.0. These files are for GEOS 1.3. I really need 2.0 because my files are for geoWrite and geoPaint 2.0

I hope someone can help.
Akira is offline  
Old 18 May 2010, 16:14   #5
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 8,906
http://noname.c64.org/csdb/release/?id=59328

Works fine here.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 18 May 2010, 16:19   #6
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: #
Posts: 13,347
Well yeah, this is GEOS 2.0 but Commodore 64 version
I found this very useful page:
http://www.lyonlabs.org/commodore/on...t/geos.html#os
It has a bunch of stuff, including Geos 2.1 for C64.

My problem is I don't know if files created with geoWrite or geoPaint 128 are compatible with geoWrite or geoPaint C64

Then remains the problem of how to image my disks with my amiga properly...

This thread has been useful! Perhaps someone can find the 128 version, cracked
Akira is offline  
Old 18 May 2010, 16:22   #7
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 36
Posts: 23,702
Uploaded a zip with all six disks to the zone. Use NibTools to convert it to d64.
TCD is online now  
Old 18 May 2010, 16:24   #8
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 8,906
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Uploaded a zip with all six disks to the zone. Use NibTools to convert it to d64.
Which only works properly with unprotected or very old C64 originals. Not sure about Geos. You could convert to G64, but then you have problems to write it back to real disks.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 18 May 2010, 16:28   #9
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 36
Posts: 23,702
Anyway, good luck Akira
TCD is online now  
Old 18 May 2010, 18:42   #10
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: #
Posts: 13,347
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Uploaded a zip with all six disks to the zone. Use NibTools to convert it to d64.
I already got those. These are original diskfiles with their copy protection intact. Converting to D64 will NOT work, you need to convert to G64 which, as said before, will probably not work copying back to a floppy disk.

I never thought getting this will be that hard, if I knew, I wouldn't have sold my original copy
Akira is offline  
Old 18 May 2010, 18:45   #11
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 36
Posts: 23,702
What about doing it the other way around? Create images of your backup disks, extract what you need in emulation and put that data on disk again.
TCD is online now  
Old 18 May 2010, 19:08   #12
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: #
Posts: 13,347
Read this post from me for the answer to why I can't do that :/
Akira is offline  
Old 18 May 2010, 19:47   #13
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 36
Posts: 23,702
Okay, I see :s
TCD is online now  
Old 18 May 2010, 22:52   #14
andy
Back.
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 113
Phew, a long day! I'm too tired and in way too much pain right now to try to gather all of the info together and see what you need. There's thousands of files in my GEOS directory here, so I can have another look through if I understand anything further from other sites or continuing posts, Akira.

In the meantime, I've put the GEOS 128 that I have in the zone. At first glance, I actually have it twice here in a ready-made form and in both cases the info panel states that it has been "Upgraded to V2.0". I've also noticed that there are conversion tools spread through the collection's directories, though I can't currently say what they're all for or if they're of any use to you. Oh, there's no sign of any G64 files as yet either. Was that format only needed if protection was a problem or could it help with what you're trying to do?

I'll try to return and check on your progress later.
andy is offline  
Old 19 May 2010, 00:37   #15
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: #
Posts: 13,347
I am going to put on a disk the disk images provided in ShadowM's site as D64. If that works out I -should- be able to backup my files to a new, CBM DOS single sided disk which I can then transfer to my AMiga no problems.


I thank you a lot to you all for your concern! I will post more info here son
Akira is offline  
Old 19 May 2010, 04:28   #16
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: #
Posts: 13,347
Some sort of success has been achieved!

Using ShadowM's D64 images, I put them on a bunch of diskette sides and my SX-64 booted GEOS 2.0

It was a bit of a pain at first because ShadowM's diskfile comes configured for Mouse and I don't have a mouse. Some dabbling in WinVICE and I had made the necessary modifications to the disk (attached here).

What I did in the end is format a bunch of disks in 1541 single sided (flippy disk) mode and copy the stuff over from my 1571 double sided disk, read through my 1571 drive. It all worked fine and now my geoPaint Workdisk is backed up onto a fresh new diskette! Next step will be to put all that into a D64 for posterity.

Then it wil be the turn of the geoWrite disk

I am happy to confirm GEOS 2.0 files are compatible in both 64 and 128 versions, something I was not completely sure of.

Thanks a lot to everyone that helped. I still wonder if there's any tools for better use of Easy1541 on the Amiga. The D64 writing utility doesn't work on unformatted disk and I couldn't find any utilities coming with Easy1541 to format a CBM disk.
Akira is offline  
Old 19 May 2010, 15:14   #17
Korodny
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 470
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
I still wonder if there's any tools for better use of Easy1541 on the Amiga. The D64 writing utility doesn't work on unformatted disk and I couldn't find any utilities coming with Easy1541 to format a CBM disk.
Didn't Magic64 support a real 1541? I don't know what kind of cable easy1541 is, but if it's the one supported by Magic, reading your GeoPaint disks might have been a lot easier. Formatting disks shouldn't be a problem either.
Korodny is offline  
Old 24 May 2010, 08:13   #18
sleggan
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
I'm looking for a cracked version of GEOS 128 2.0 in D64 format.
I need it to put it in a disk and restore some old files I have in a backup. I sold my old GEOS 128 2.0 disks like a damn fool!!!!

Any help will be appreciated.
Please, NO G64 files. Only CRACKED D64, and only VERSION 2.0 (or higher)
Did you know that GEOS 2.0 64 and 128 are free nowdays. You can download it from http://cbmfiles.com/

Thomas
sleggan is offline  
Old 24 May 2010, 10:58   #19
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 36
Posts: 23,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by sleggan View Post
Did you know that GEOS 2.0 64 and 128 are free nowdays. You can download it from http://cbmfiles.com/

Thomas
Quote:
Originally Posted by andy View Post
Perhaps not the answer you wanted after specifying a cracked version but are the files over at cbmfiles.com definitely no good?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira
Hmm, coolness. I didn't know about that page. Thanks Andy!!!
Yes, yes he does.
TCD is online now  
Old 25 May 2010, 20:27   #20
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: #
Posts: 13,347
They only have GEOS 1.3
Akira is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dug out my c64 also 128/d johnim Nostalgia & memories 8 24 July 2012 14:57
C64/128 GEOS (the free release) Leandro Jardim request.Other 4 29 December 2011 00:11
Soundblaster 128 Wasagi MarketPlace 0 03 July 2010 12:49
64 Mb Simm -> 128 Mb protek support.Hardware 2 11 November 2008 06:53
For Sale : 128 Mb Ram module Effy MarketPlace 0 10 May 2005 17:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20050 seconds with 11 queries