English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 June 2002, 11:07   #1
Roderick
 
Posts: n/a
Enigma/Phenomena graphics corruption

Hi,

In the demo Enigma by Phenomena the text displays between demo parts are corrupted, see the attached image. This occurs with WinUAE 0.8.8R9, 0.8.21R2 and also 0.8.21R4. I've downloaded the demo from three different websites and all have this graphics corruption. Is this a bug in the emulation, or are all of the downloaded diskimages corrupt? Thanks for any help.
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 30 June 2002, 11:12   #2
Roderick
 
Posts: n/a
Sorry, forgot to attach the image. Here it is. The text should be: "Yes!!! Let the demo begin with a weird cube"
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	enigma.gif
Views:	326
Size:	4.4 KB
ID:	2841  
 
Old 30 June 2002, 11:19   #3
Roderick
 
Posts: n/a
No, havent't tried it with Winfellow (I also don't have winfellow installed). If people want to give it a try, here's a link to this cult demo:

http://www.marktallee.de/ada/showdemo.php3?id=182
 
Old 30 June 2002, 15:40   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,663
Known UAE bug. Easy workaround: tick "immediate blitter"

I'd say over 95% of current graphics problems are caused by wrong CPU/blitter speed emulation.

I am slowly adding cycle exact blitter and cpu emulation (there is no other way to fix this) to future version(s).
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 30 June 2002, 16:47   #5
Sune Salminen
Dinamáquina
Sune Salminen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: BH/Brasil
Age: 43
Posts: 364
Cool

I've downloaded the demo and transferred it to my A500. It seems to run OK. It's a really cool demo by the way!

So you can rule out disk image corruption.
Sune Salminen is offline  
Old 30 June 2002, 17:42   #6
Roderick
 
Posts: n/a
Yes the inmediate blitter fixes the problem! Thank you for pointing that out Tony Sune als thanks fot testing the diskimage on your A500; it is indeed a very nice demo

Additionaly ticking inmediate blit solved another problem which I was suffering lately. With SlamTilt the screen would fade to white after selecting a table and then everything would come to a halt. Ticking the inmediate blit also solves this.

Tony, you said that you are slowly adding cycle exact cpu and blitter emulation, which is very good indeed. Do you have any indication if current high end PC's, say AthlonXP 1500+ and DDR memory, will be fast enough for handling cycle exact Amiga emulation? Thanks.
 
Old 01 July 2002, 16:17   #7
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
I vaguely remember the demo looking like this on a real Amiga, too.
thomas is offline  
Old 02 July 2002, 11:37   #8
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,663
Quote:
Tony, you said that you are slowly adding cycle exact cpu and blitter emulation, which is very good indeed. Do you have any indication if current high end PC's, say AthlonXP 1500+ and DDR memory, will be fast enough for handling cycle exact Amiga emulation? Thanks.
I now have crude and totally unoptimized cycle-exact code in place.. I was quite surprised because it "only" requires about 50% more CPU power. My Athlon XP 1400+ with DDR can run most A500 programs full speed in cycle-exact mode.

Blitter seems to run with correct speed (if Hardware reference manual's blitter cycle usage chart is correct.. I don't want to waste time by doing some experiments with my real A500) CPU timing still needs tweaking.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 02 July 2002, 22:31   #9
Roderick
 
Posts: n/a
Great . I believe there are still some of us with a real Amiga in the closet somewhere, so if there's testing/benchmarking to be done with the real hardware then just give a shout. I don't think we would consider that to be a waste of time
 
Old 04 July 2002, 18:00   #10
Sune Salminen
Dinamáquina
Sune Salminen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: BH/Brasil
Age: 43
Posts: 364
Testing on real A500

Quote:
Originally posted by Roderick
Great . I believe there are still some of us with a real Amiga in the closet somewhere, so if there's testing/benchmarking to be done with the real hardware then just give a shout. I don't think we would consider that to be a waste of time
Right on!

So...I hereby volunteer for the blitter testers panel!

Testing equipment:

PentiumIII-600
256MB Ram
Geforce2 Titanium
Soundblaster Live

Amiga Explorer from Cloanto and twisted serial cable

Amiga 500 with 512Kb Ram expansion
Two external floppy drives
1024S Monitor
Sune Salminen is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Phenomena - Enigma Paul_s request.Demos 16 11 February 2016 02:08
Graphics corruption on scrolling demolition project.WHDLoad 3 11 November 2012 23:50
DraCo graphics corruption gulliver support.Hardware 1 11 September 2012 15:28
Graphics corruption Minuous support.WinUAE 9 21 July 2005 17:42
Graphics Corruption DW7 support.WinUAE 3 09 November 2003 01:45

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14386 seconds with 12 queries