English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 February 2010, 11:07   #101
filth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetroMan View Post
The so called game Virus was released on the Archie and renamed to Zarch
Fail. You have it backwards; Virus (1988) is an x86 port of Zarch (1987) from RISC OS, which is the original game! The effects in Zarch were more impressive than their equivalents in Virus, because the Acorn machines of the time had better capabilities to render the ingame 3D effects (lighting, shadows) than Wintel machines.

There are a lot of other inconsistencies and misconceptions in Archimedes/Acorn-related threads on this board, but I suppose it's only an Amiga board, so you can't be expected to know the details...

At least you are correct in your notes that ArcElite is *the* best version of Elite out there!
filth is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 27 February 2010, 11:30   #102
filth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie View Post
Newer Archie: RiscPC & clones (RiscOS 3.6->6) Will do the above, though some older games will need patching. It's also still a 'useful' computer.
Slightly misleading (since anything above RO 3.7 is really in a different class from anything below it). I'm going to nitpick now... first off, RiscPC and above weren't "Archies" at all, since the Acorn Archimedes range ended with the A5000. The RiscPC and the (misleadingly-named) A7000 were also the last Acorn-branded machines to be produced. Although the A7000 was more or less a RiscPC clone, it didn't have DEBI slots but it did have a floating-point calculator, but was otherwise quite similar. Later hardware diverged more; the R7500 is probably the closest to the RiscPC in that sense, while the Iyonix (XScale) and the A9Home (S3C2440) are much further diverged. I believe the Iyonix is the only RISC OS machine to have had a PCI bus and the ability to take PC graphics cards.

The latest machine, based around the Beagleboard SoC and RISC OS Open, is utterly unlike anything else. It's probably worth pointing out that RISC OS was developed by Acorn Computers Ltd (now dissolved) until the end of the 3.x line; RO4 was developed by RISCOS Ltd, while RO5 was developed by competitors Castle Technology Ltd. RO6 was developed by ROL in parallel with CTL's RO5 and isn't a true sequel, despite the version number. There's a whole lot of bloody infighting between these factions (and famous legal disputes over the code) but to cut a long story short, this is why you can't find free, legally-distributable ROM images of any RISC OS version. The links on the RPCEmuSpoon site of course point to pirate copies.

As a final note, especially for anyone wanting to pick up a cheap, second-hand Acorn from eBay: you can install RO 3.6, 3.7, 3.8 (in ROM), 4.02 (ROM or softload) and 4.39 (softload) on a RiscPC, but nothing higher. RO 3.7 is the minimum requirement for a StrongARM processor. You need an Iyonix or A9Home for RO5 or better.
filth is offline  
Old 27 February 2010, 16:55   #103
Tom Walker
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Nottingham / UK
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by filth View Post
Slightly misleading (since anything above RO 3.7 is really in a different class from anything below it).
With the exception of the A9Home and Iyonix, any machine running ROS above 3.5 is either a RiscPC or register compatible with a RiscPC.

Quote:
I'm going to nitpick now... first off, RiscPC and above weren't "Archies" at all, since the Acorn Archimedes range ended with the A5000.
If you want to nitpick, the A540 was the last Archimedes... A30x0, A4000 and A5000 were never called Archimedes machines by Acorn.

Quote:
Although the A7000 was more or less a RiscPC clone, it didn't have DEBI slots but it did have a floating-point calculator, but was otherwise quite similar.
A7000 had no floating point hardware. A7000+ did however. And there was almost no software that used it. Did the slot in the A7000 not support DMA transfers?

Quote:
I believe the Iyonix is the only RISC OS machine to have had a PCI bus and the ability to take PC graphics cards.
Omega has PCI slots also I think. Though I'm not sure if they ever worked.
Tom Walker is offline  
Old 23 November 2011, 00:29   #104
arpz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 25
I'd like to share a little of my experience with the Acorn. Like most of the people in school in the UK alive in the 80's and early 90's the Acorn was the machine I grew up on in school. Ours were mostly 3010's iirc, quite distinctive machines with the green function keys and floppy switch.

They were all networked, unfortunately I don't recall which method but I'd assume it was BNC. A small group of us had a play around with this functionality by 'developing' a series of scripts and BASIC programs which would allow us to login to a single persons user area and leave each other mails and things. There were a few other features but I've forgotten the details, I do remember us taking it quite seriously, making up labelled disks proudly announcing the latest version or whatever.

There was something interesting about all the 3010's in our school, they all had the F12 key disabled by removing the membrane underneath so the key would always be depressed slightly (with nothing to hold it up underneath). The reason behind this was because the F12 key gave access to a kind of console. Actually, it was well known within the school that you could push down the key really hard and still access it. This console would shift the entire RISC OS screen up by a characters height and the prompt (again iirc) was a black '*' on a white background. You could type stuff in here and presumably they attempted to disable it to stop people messing around too much. All of this was actually negated, because you could put all that same stuff in a command file (unsure on what it's actual name was, but essentially like a batch file) which wasn't restricted at all.

There were a few 'games' going around on disks at the time, most of them were just BASIC demos really, I remember the names of a few, but I don't know if it's the names the original authors intended since I can't seem to find any information about them online. There was 'string' (and a few variations) which basically just let you move a mouse pointer around with some 'string' following it around. There was another called 'weirdo' which was a bit like one of those pointy bras that span around a bit in some odd colours. As for actual games, the only two I remember are Lander ( [ Show youtube player ]) and the wings-esque Chocks away ( [ Show youtube player ])

There were one or two higher powered machines, I believe a RISC PC and maybe an A4000, these had more colours and backgrounds and things on the OS but I don't remember anything more than that.

If anyone remembers anything about anything I've said I'd love to hear your opinions or elaborations, I enjoyed writing this but wish I could remember more of the specifics
arpz is offline  
Old 23 November 2011, 01:00   #105
PaulyQ
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hartlepool, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 237
You know, I still haven't been back into the loft to see what Acorn I have since I posted above in 2007... that is six years ago and the machine hasn't been touched. Might be a spiders house now, think I will have to check when I get the xmas tree out in a few weeks time.
PaulyQ is offline  
Old 23 November 2011, 01:05   #106
arpz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulyQ View Post
You know, I still haven't been back into the loft to see what Acorn I have since I posted above in 2007... that is six years ago and the machine hasn't been touched. Might be a spiders house now, think I will have to check when I get the xmas tree out in a few weeks time.
I just found out that there's a far wider library of games available than I was aware of, lots of Amiga ports etc. You should definitely drag it down and see if any of them are any good
arpz is offline  
Old 23 November 2011, 08:25   #107
filth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by arpz View Post
They were all networked, unfortunately I don't recall which method but I'd assume it was BNC.
Quite possibly Econet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by arpz View Post
the F12 key gave access to a kind of console.
This was called the Supervisor and was a kind of equivalent of Windows' command prompt, sometimes called the star prompt because of the asterisk. F12 activated fullscreen mode (by bumping the desktop up), while Ctrl-F12 would have activated it within a task window on the desktop.

Quote:
Originally Posted by arpz View Post
All of this was actually negated, because you could put all that same stuff in a command file (unsure on what it's actual name was, but essentially like a batch file) which wasn't restricted at all.
An 'Obey' file.

Quote:
Originally Posted by arpz View Post
Lander ( [ Show youtube player ]) and the wings-esque Chocks away ( [ Show youtube player ])
Lander was only a demo. The full version was called Zarch, and was later ported to the PC as Virus. It was authored by David Braben, co-author of the famous space trading game Elite. Chocks Away was a classic :-)

Thanks for sharing your memories, and I hope I helped bring out a few more!
filth is offline  
Old 24 November 2011, 22:28   #108
Sektor 83
Registered User
Sektor 83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: UK
Age: 34
Posts: 143
We had these in school... the only things I remember from them were Lander and another game called Fervour, which was like a constantly rolling ball on these platforms in space, and you had to avoid the holes in the platform by jumping over them...
Sektor 83 is offline  
Old 08 August 2012, 19:21   #109
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 51
Posts: 1,609
Arc experts - is there a list of Archimedes exclusives? Stuff not available on Amiga or ST? Would like to have a play with emulators and see if the stuff is any good!?!?!
Methanoid is offline  
Old 20 August 2012, 23:45   #110
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,811
I think it's something similar to Wings - Shocks Away: http://www.youtube.com/user/Archimed...s?query=shocks Please avoid his anti-Amiga comments, let him be happy in his small world.
s2325 is offline  
Old 22 August 2012, 20:13   #111
starlord
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: france
Posts: 188
question: does anyone know if the CD version of archie games like the "starfighter other worlds" and the "shmup collection" from 4play made it to the TOSEC? I have both CDs and would be interested to contribute should it not be the case...

Also, am I wrong to think that aldebaran is in the tosec?
starlord is offline  
Old 09 March 2013, 04:21   #112
caluser2000
 
Posts: n/a
Over the last year and a half I've aquired a reasonable collection of Acorn related stuff-an A410/1 with ARM3 processor along with ram upgrade, A4000 and a few RiscPCs c/w x86 processor cards as well a few different podules/mini podules and such.

Makes a nice change from the usual x86 stuff I'm familiar with. Looking forward to getting them networked via Uni Boot.
 
Old 09 March 2013, 09:03   #113
Astrofra
Amos Basic
Astrofra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Orleans | France
Age: 43
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodwych View Post
Decide for yourselves. The Falcon specs are below.

Note, the Blitter ran at 16MHz and the DSP 32MHz.
This chart mentions a central bus in 32bits, but it is widely known that the bus of the Falcon was 16/24bits :

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Atari_Falcon

Actually, I don't want to start the good old flame war again, because I LOVE every single machine of this era

I just wanted to make the point that, if Commodore made a wrong decision when shipping the A1200 without any 'fast ram', it appears the Atari made the same kind of strategic error.

Both decisions resulted in a 32bits CPU running at half its speed (more or less).
Astrofra is offline  
Old 09 March 2013, 10:17   #114
Baboon
Moon Monkey
Baboon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Plymouth, Devon
Posts: 376
I've got fond memories of playing on the arc in school... and also playing games on a couple mates machines too. I did an I.t course in 6th form using just arcs and although I lost contact with one mate years ago he went onto write educational software for the bbc and apparently became a millionaire a while ago!

I see arcem got ported to pandora recently... would love to see an android port in the fututre too? ;-)
Baboon is offline  
Old 26 December 2016, 01:23   #115
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 843
Thread resurrection!

I've just bought a Falcon. 24 years too late for Atari, but better late then never!
trixster is offline  
Old 26 December 2016, 02:14   #116
Locutus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 768
So why did you post that on a thread about the Archimedes? >;-)
Locutus is offline  
Old 26 December 2016, 02:20   #117
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,414
I've got a RiSC PC600 and a A7000 tucked away at work, think we got rid of the A3000 unfortunately!
BarryB is offline  
Old 26 December 2016, 02:36   #118
Locutus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 768
I have a RasPI running RISCOS 5 Open does that count? :-)
Locutus is offline  
Old 26 December 2016, 11:29   #119
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 843
Quote:
Originally Posted by Locutus View Post
So why did you post that on a thread about the Archimedes? >;-)
The first two pages were mostly about Atari
trixster is offline  
Old 27 December 2016, 00:38   #120
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 836
I've been trying to get an A3010/3020 for years ---
With no luck
Nobby_UK is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is the best Acorn Archimedes Model mfletcher Retrogaming General Discussion 40 17 July 2017 22:53
Last Ninja Acorn Archimedes longplay laffer Retrogaming General Discussion 25 05 July 2011 19:03
Last Ninja Acorn Archimedes version? laffer request.Old Rare Games 151 17 March 2010 23:56
Acorn Archimedes? SilentBob Nostalgia & memories 36 02 March 2010 09:51
Acorn Archimedes, and how its almost impossible to emulate MethodGit Retrogaming General Discussion 28 25 February 2010 22:35

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.28282 seconds with 12 queries