English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 November 2007, 22:40   #81
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 49
Posts: 1,792
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodwych View Post
...Akira still needs to write his Sharp x68000 review... ...the Arch was so close to being a perfect computer - all it was missing were those dedicated video chips...
Wholly agree

I would love to know more about the x68000 computers - not knowing the lingo is a bit of an impediment. Played a few of the games under emulation & they speak volumes about the underlaying hardware.

Acorn suffered badly from lack of funds & poor management. (Sound familiar?)
The chipset was a wonderful example of thinking on a budget. It was flexible enough to do amazing things with support from the ARM processor...
...but, yes, if there had been time & funding to design it the other way round...

A good example of Acorn's chronic lack of funding for R&D is the RiscPC. Designed as a multi-processor system from the outset. Two processor slots as standard, never mind the Hydra board! But the OS (hacks aside) was always single-threaded so didn't support this.

Given the OS needed a protracted/expensive rewrite to become MP-aware Acorn planed a simpler strategy:
Use additional ARM processors supported by the hardware to 'improve' the chipset. You re-write software modules for each 'function' so that they either shared the main CPU with the rest of the OS as normal or optionally had a processor to themselves. This would remain transparent to the system but would drastically improve the performance of these functions where extra processors were available.
eg:
ARM#1: CPU
ARM#2: GFX
ARM#3: DSP
ARM#4: I/O
ARM#5: FPU (yes, there is a hardware FPU, but an ARM processor is faster!)
etc, etc...
Piecemeal replacement of some parts of the OS being much easier than a ground-up rewrite. Also for a single-user system this would have a much more obvious effect on performance.

-Sadly Acorn ran out of time even for this. -

If you're mad enough buy a RiscPC + Hydra board. Add 8, yes EIGHT StongArm 300 processor cards for it & install *nix. Still a pretty quick system by modern standards. I think the last hydra board I saw on eBay went for about 600.00 in the end!
Charlie is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 12 November 2007, 22:49   #82
danwood
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: oldham/england
Posts: 71
of course many divisions of acorn and split off to become independent companies, lots of them very successful for instance ARM holdings was a division of acorn (i think that is what they are called anyway) and there were a few more off shoots too though im too lazy to check which ones. of course apple bought acorn, so i imagine apple swiped all of acorns stuff like RISC though i honestly know nothing about apples so i dont know if they use RISC processors but they would be pretty brain dead if they didnt.
danwood is offline  
Old 13 November 2007, 00:19   #83
PaulyQ
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hartlepool, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 237
Hi all, just noticed this thread and decided to jump in.....

Shockingly I have an Archimede's machine in the loft, was given to me around this time last year as it was "old" school stock(my wife works in a school) SOoooooo the question is this..... do I hold onto it or do I sell, it has a 40 meg hard drive(I think) and has a few odds and sods of educational software installed(for kids). Not sure of the CPU or memory to be fair... tried it out quickly to see if it worked and bunged it and the monitor up in the loft.
PaulyQ is offline  
Old 13 November 2007, 01:26   #84
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 49
Posts: 1,792
@PaulyQ:
If you have room, keep it.
Older Archie: A305->A3020 (RiscOS 2->3.11)- Good retro games machine - esp with HDD.
(you could consider it equivalent to a WHDLoad'ed A1200 with a nice monitor as most of the best Amiga games were ported to it)
Newer Archie: RiscPC & clones (RiscOS 3.6->6) Will do the above, though some older games will need patching. It's also still a 'useful' computer.

But I guess I would say that wouldn't I?

Um, or you could mod it...
Charlie is offline  
Old 13 November 2007, 09:42   #85
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,811
some games here: http://acorn.revivalteam.de/?site=Downloads http://acorn.revivalteam.de/?site=Downloads2
s2325 is offline  
Old 13 November 2007, 13:05   #86
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 49
Posts: 1,792
thanks for the links.

Hey, Hamsters is there!
Charlie is offline  
Old 13 November 2007, 15:37   #87
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
Is it possible to write Archimedes disks back to floppy?

Or is it another Amiga scenario?
killergorilla is offline  
Old 13 November 2007, 22:17   #88
rsn8887
Registered User
rsn8887's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 739
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie View Post
Older Archie: A305->A3020 (RiscOS 2->3.11)- Good retro games machine - esp with HDD.
(you could consider it equivalent to a WHDLoad'ed A1200 with a nice monitor as most of the best Amiga games were ported to it)
Whatever you say
rsn8887 is offline  
Old 30 November 2007, 16:20   #89
sine
Registered User
sine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: diskdrive df0
Posts: 10
horizon crackers on konami

yep the sharp x68ooo is a sweet machine, and as always i got it running on
the good ol chipped xbox, but i am only posting here due to an AMIGA cracktro Reference and the x68ooo- you want to know the connection between what i always thought was a quality horizon cracktro music tune on the amiga?, well its from nemesis or salamander on the x68ooo.

but horizon's port of the tune to the miggy is superior than konami's
original arcadetune and the sharpx68ooo version. well done horizon! respect is due... awsome tune on amiga! and a superior listening experience allround.

amiga rules rocks and blows yer socks OFF!


kind regards

sine

Last edited by sine; 30 November 2007 at 17:28. Reason: o
sine is offline  
Old 02 December 2007, 22:04   #90
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 49
Posts: 2,802
I am about to try the ArcEm emulator on my GP2X. Wish me luck.
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 15 September 2008, 01:59   #91
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,278
Archimedes disk reading/writing/formatting utility

@killergorilla:

Yes, it's perfectly possible to write Archimedes disks back to floppy on a PC using a DOS program called 'Arcimage' available from http://knowbody.org.uk/arcimage/

I suggest you grab both versions 1.1 and 1.2

Version 1.2 adds support for 1600k floppies, but support for 800k floppies may be broken. However, 800k floppies are fully supported in version 1.1

An intermediate version 1.1.2 is available from http://bbc.nvg.org/software.php3 in case you find other bugs.

Development of this utility is rather patchy, being the result of three programmers' effort - each working independently. Details are provided in the readme files.

For completeness, the original version 1.0 (executable only) is available from http://bbc.nvg.org/util/Arcimg.exe

A combination of these versions of this utility will certainly fulfil all your Archimedes disk imaging/restoring requirements.

Hope this helps!

Last edited by prowler; 15 September 2008 at 17:38. Reason: More detail and fixed link.
prowler is offline  
Old 23 February 2009, 14:32   #92
hit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: planet earth
Posts: 1,115
found an eBook ( Archimedes Operating System. A Dabhand guide ) http://www.pagetable.com/?p=68
hit is offline  
Old 23 February 2009, 14:39   #93
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
I think I had that book many many years ago.
alexh is offline  
Old 24 February 2009, 11:25   #94
rattus
Registered User
rattus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 328
Whoa, I remember the Archimedes... My high school had them in the Business Studies department (along with a few Atari ST's in the Music rooms) but these were all replaced with fully-networked Windows machines in the later half of the 1990's.

As for the X68000... Had no idea it existed until recently (!) it has 99% perfect arcade ports for it (additional disk loading screens were added to the games I tried on WinX68k; Bubble Bobble, New Zealand Story, etc) which is pretty impressive considering how cut down the Amiga/ST versions were.

It's interesting to learn about all these unfamiliar 16/32-bit computers that were around before the world went PC/Mac. Thanks
rattus is offline  
Old 10 April 2009, 23:57   #95
hit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: planet earth
Posts: 1,115
found an auction with (maybe rare) software which needs a home to get preserved
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Acorn-RISCOS-s...1%7C240%3A1318

the seller has many other archimedes related things. just in case you missed it.
hit is offline  
Old 11 April 2009, 01:32   #96
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 49
Posts: 1,792
Quote:
Originally Posted by hit View Post
found an auction with (maybe rare) software which needs a home to get preserved
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Acorn-RISCOS-s...1%7C240%3A1318

the seller has many other archimedes related things. just in case you missed it.
Hmmm, keeping an eye on that auction - could be bonus time for the RiscOS resource site some of us are setting up.
Charlie is offline  
Old 11 April 2009, 11:35   #97
hit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: planet earth
Posts: 1,115
yep, i second that. didnt digged that much, but i can only find some games (offten demos) but almost no apps for the archimedes. i hope those tools wont get lost
hit is offline  
Old 11 April 2009, 11:46   #98
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 49
Posts: 1,792
Quote:
Originally Posted by hit View Post
yep, i second that. didnt digged that much, but i can only find some games (offten demos) but almost no apps for the archimedes. i hope those tools wont get lost
That's what the Qube RiscOS Server is all about, preservation.
(early days)
Charlie is offline  
Old 12 April 2009, 20:05   #99
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 51
Posts: 1,609
If someone has a server set up pls give details... I've got a fair few Arch disks I could upload if no-one has yet...
Methanoid is offline  
Old 12 April 2009, 20:09   #100
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,278
Hi Methanoid,

Charlie's Qube RiscOS Server is here:
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=44011

prowler

prowler is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is the best Acorn Archimedes Model mfletcher Retrogaming General Discussion 40 17 July 2017 22:53
Last Ninja Acorn Archimedes longplay laffer Retrogaming General Discussion 25 05 July 2011 19:03
Last Ninja Acorn Archimedes version? laffer request.Old Rare Games 151 17 March 2010 23:56
Acorn Archimedes? SilentBob Nostalgia & memories 36 02 March 2010 09:51
Acorn Archimedes, and how its almost impossible to emulate MethodGit Retrogaming General Discussion 28 25 February 2010 22:35

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.35417 seconds with 12 queries