English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 May 2010, 23:46   #1
junkmanuk
1989 = win
junkmanuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Welwyn Garden City, UK
Posts: 20
Introductions...

Hi, I'll introduce myself to the site first...!

I've been a huge Amiga enthusiast since first owning an Amiga 500 oh so many years ago. I've still got the original (and horribly yellowed!) beast and a 1200 as well. My recent addition has been an Amiga 4000/030 which I've wanted since they were first released... Finally I have one!

I'm going to be slightly impertinant and ask some questions on my first visit if that's ok...! It is? Good...

Currently I'm running v39.106. I've been hunting around for information on 3.1 ROMs for the 4000 so I can install OS3.5.

ROM version 40.068 is the right one to go for but I can only find 40.070 versions for sale, and the sites suggest this is fine for a 4000D.. which confilicts with other people's experiences...

So, should I a) not bother upgrading at all? b) Try to find 40.068 ROMs c) go for the 40.070 ROMs... or d) Stop looking like an ass and come back with more facts about my hardware...!

Hmmm, Apologies for the questions - I'm new to the 4000 and want to treat it nicely... it's so satisfying to have my hands back on an Amiga after all this time!
junkmanuk is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 05 May 2010, 04:36   #2
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
welcome to EAB, my knowledge on A4000s is ermmm weak to the say the least, but a few guys here are experts on them... i have new A1200 and an old A600..

search the board for some threads regarding cleaning up the yellow, some guys have developed a non harmful (if you get the mixture right) gel that is the world's first proper old computer yellow remover

and again welcome
Djay is offline  
Old 05 May 2010, 06:46   #3
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,382
Official 40.70 ROMs are for A4000T, they are missing the workbench.library which you need to have on disk.
zipper is offline  
Old 05 May 2010, 09:02   #4
junkmanuk
1989 = win
junkmanuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Welwyn Garden City, UK
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by zipper View Post
Official 40.70 ROMs are for A4000T, they are missing the workbench.library which you need to have on disk.
Hi Zipper, thanks for your answer. I did read this somewhere and there was also mention of potential problems with SCSI hard drives? Is this still regarded as an issue or do you have to have some very particular setup?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Djay View Post
welcome to EAB... search the board for some threads regarding cleaning up the yellow, some guys have developed a non harmful (if you get the mixture right) gel that is the world's first proper old computer yellow remover
Thanks for the welcome, and the advice - I'll look for that right now!
junkmanuk is offline  
Old 05 May 2010, 17:21   #5
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
Hi ya and welcome to the mad cap world that is EAB, the right place to be

seems amigakit has`t got the roms in but Vesalia has

http://www.vesalia.de/e_kickstart%5B153%5D.htm
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 05 May 2010, 20:22   #6
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by junkmanuk View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by zipper View Post
Official 40.70 ROMs are for A4000T, they are missing the workbench.library which you need to have on disk.
Hi Zipper, thanks for your answer. I did read this somewhere and there was also mention of potential problems with SCSI hard drives? Is this still regarded as an issue or do you have to have some very particular setup?

Thanks for the welcome, and the advice - I'll look for that right now!
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmicfrog View Post
seems amigakit has`t got the [40.068] roms in but Vesalia has

http://www.vesalia.de/e_kickstart%5B153%5D.htm
Hi junkmanuk, and welcome to EAB!

As Zipper says, the 40.070 ROMs are for the A4000T, they are missing the workbench.library which is included on the A4000T Workbench 3.1 disk.

The workbench library was moved to disk to make way for extra support for SCSI hard drive controllers in ROM, so you will need to think about the implications of this if you intend to use a SCSI hard drives and/or optical drive in your A4000D.

As cosmicfrog says, AmigaKit have only the 40.070 ROMs, but Vesalia have the 40.068 ROMs as well.

I have some further information about the changes made for the 40.070 ROMs which I gathered before deciding to purchase 40.068 ROMs for my A4000D. I will post the info here for you when I have found it.
prowler is offline  
Old 05 May 2010, 20:34   #7
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Hola junkmanuk and welcome to EAB!
Enjoy your stay and Miggy
TCD is offline  
Old 05 May 2010, 20:54   #8
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,203
Right, here's the info on the A4000T 40.070 ROM update from Lemon Amiga:
The Kickstart for the A4000T does not contain the workbench.library. It was removed from the ROM to the Workbench disk (in the LIBS: directory), to make room for the A4091 SCSI support.

And, If you're interested, here is a link to fitting instructions for 3.1 ROMs, including those for the A1200, A500, A600, A500 Plus, A1500, A2000, A3000 and A4000 (PDF 2.01MB).
http://www.classicamiga.com/images/s...91;manual].pdf

Last edited by prowler; 05 May 2010 at 23:02. Reason: Fixed link.
prowler is offline  
Old 05 May 2010, 23:01   #9
junkmanuk
1989 = win
junkmanuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Welwyn Garden City, UK
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
Right, here's the info on the A4000T 40.070 ROM update from Lemon Amiga:
The Kickstart for the A4000T does not contain the workbench.library. It was removed from the ROM to the Workbench disk (in the LIBS: directory), to make room for the A4091 SCSI support.

And, If you're interested, here is a link to fitting instructions for 3.1 ROMs, including those for the A1200, A500, A600, A500 Plus, A1500, A2000, A3000 and A4000 (PDF 2.01MB).
http://www.classicamiga.com/images/s...91;manual].pdf
Hi, and thanks for the warm welcomes!

The link is perfect cosmicfrog, I'm going to go buy those roms right now!

Unfortunately the link to the manual didn't work (looks a bit odd too!) but I found these: http://www.softhut.com/cgi-bin/test/...&cart_id=52674

It looks straight forward enough as long as you don't go in all crazy like.. What's the best way to remove the old ROMs though? I'm guessing there are tools for that purpose?

Again, thanks for the welcome, I'm looking forward to enjoying my time here! I'm currently working on getting my network card working at the moment, currently I'm burning CDs to get stuff from place to place which is working.. but tedious (yes, I know there's CrossDOS but my PC doesn't have a floppy drive, I'm using the pain as extra motivation! )
junkmanuk is offline  
Old 05 May 2010, 23:05   #10
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by junkmanuk View Post
Unfortunately the link to the manual didn't work (looks a bit odd too!) but I found these: http://www.softhut.com/cgi-bin/test/...&cart_id=52674
I've fixed the link to the manual (it had been corrupted by cut & paste ), but the information is essentially the same as that given on the SoftHut site.

Quote:
Originally Posted by junkmanuk View Post
What's the best way to remove the old ROMs though? I'm guessing there are tools for that purpose?
Just ease them out by using a thin-bladed small or jewellers' screwdriver, inserting it under each end of the chips in turn and lifting the chip out a bit at a time until they pop out.
prowler is offline  
Old 05 May 2010, 23:11   #11
junkmanuk
1989 = win
junkmanuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Welwyn Garden City, UK
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
I've fixed the link to the manual (it had been corrupted by cut & paste ), but the information is essentially the same as that given on the SoftHut site.

Just ease them out by using a thin-bladed small or jewellers' screwdriver, inserting it under each end of the chips in turn and lifting the chip out a bit at a time until they pop out.
Great stuff... hoped it would be that easy(!), will let you know how it goes!
junkmanuk is offline  
Old 05 May 2010, 23:17   #12
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by junkmanuk View Post
...will let you know how it goes!
That's the idea. You're getting the hang of EAB already!
prowler is offline  
Old 06 May 2010, 11:42   #13
Muzkat
Into the Wonderful
Muzkat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Earthrealm
Age: 36
Posts: 1,279
Greetings junkmanuk, and enjoy your stay.
Muzkat is offline  
Old 08 May 2010, 22:02   #14
SubM00nS
Registered User
SubM00nS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Nacogdoches, USA
Age: 42
Posts: 18
I'm new here too. Enjoy your 500. Mine still works after all these years!
SubM00nS is offline  
Old 18 May 2010, 09:17   #15
junkmanuk
1989 = win
junkmanuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Welwyn Garden City, UK
Posts: 20
Well, to save making a new thread. I've successfully upgrade my 4000 to Kick 3.1 and installed OS3.5. It was surprisingly fun, more so than a normal PC because there's just 'more bits'

I've got an x-surf network card and scandoubler now as well - so I'm good to go. Where to next though, I think a graphics card could be the next step but which should I go for?!

I've also got the ingredients for Retr0brite as well now, I'm going to test it on a Sega Dreamcast first though, hehehehe!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG00046-20100511-1844.jpg
Views:	123
Size:	444.4 KB
ID:	25341  
junkmanuk is offline  
Old 19 May 2010, 08:54   #16
4pLaY
resistance.no
4pLaY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Norway
Age: 37
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by junkmanuk View Post
I've got an x-surf network card and scandoubler now as well - so I'm good to go. Where to next though, I think a graphics card could be the next step but which should I go for?!
Id go for a CPU upgrade first (preferably a card in the Cyberstorm family), and then if you can, get your hands on a Picasso IV card (they are usualy hard to come by and expensive though) and if that fails id look for a Cybervision 64 with or without the 3D .
4pLaY is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Member Introductions section.... Akira project.EAB 70 09 March 2009 15:51
Moderator Introductions BippyM Member Introductions 1 06 March 2009 22:30

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20279 seconds with 12 queries