English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 May 2010, 22:05   #21
Amiga4ever
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Israel
Posts: 25
Thomas, i love you man, it's working.
I have partitioned to system and work, and format it using the system format.

now, i'm copieng all the files from my WInUAE to my new system. hopefully it will work. traying doing so with Opus did not work, since when choosing DH1 it says that i need to insert the drive (WTF???)...

any clue to that?
Amiga4ever is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 04 May 2010, 00:29   #22
Cammy
Registered User
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Age: 32
Posts: 1,134
It looks like you may have formatted those partitions as GDH0: and GDH1: instead of DH0: and DH1: which is what a lot of Amiga programs (and ClassicWB) use or look for by default.
Cammy is offline  
Old 04 May 2010, 02:44   #23
Amiga4ever
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Israel
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cammy View Post
It looks like you may have formatted those partitions as GDH0: and GDH1: instead of DH0: and DH1: which is what a lot of Amiga programs (and ClassicWB) use or look for by default.
when partitioning , i've changed there names to "system" and "work".
but this is old story now.

after taht i had some crc checksum erors on "system" partition, and then i reformated it using the "3.1 install classic" disk, and now it's ok, for now.

but my feeling is the faulty CF which i intend to exchange.
Amiga4ever is offline  
Old 04 May 2010, 08:08   #24
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,551
Quote:
i had some crc checksum erors on "system" partition
CF cards need a correct MaxTransfer value, otherwise partitions will corrupt. Run HDToolbox, select the first partition, enable Advanced Options, click on Change, enter 0x1fe00 into the MaxTransfer field and press Enter. Click on Ok and repeat it for the other partition(s). Save changes and reboot.
thomas is offline  
Old 04 May 2010, 14:46   #25
Amiga4ever
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Israel
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
CF cards need a correct MaxTransfer value, otherwise partitions will corrupt. Run HDToolbox, select the first partition, enable Advanced Options, click on Change, enter 0x1fe00 into the MaxTransfer field and press Enter. Click on Ok and repeat it for the other partition(s). Save changes and reboot.
Thanks Thomas...
Amiga4ever is offline  
Old 04 May 2010, 14:52   #26
Amiga4ever
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Israel
Posts: 25
thomas, can you explain what 0x1fe00 means ? I know it's the transfer speed, but how you got to this value?

thakns.
Amiga4ever is offline  
Old 04 May 2010, 15:16   #27
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,551
0x means that the following is a hexadecimal number and 1fe00 is the hexadecimal representation of 130560 which is 255 * 512. It tells the driver that one read or write command to or from the device may use not more than 255 blocks of 512 bytes each.
thomas is offline  
Old 04 May 2010, 21:52   #28
Amiga4ever
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Israel
Posts: 25
Great man, thanks
Amiga4ever is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vollldo transfering problems :( Vollldo support.Games 0 07 July 2011 20:54
Big Problems in transfering team 17 games ! Vollldo support.Games 29 22 April 2011 14:35
Miscellaneous problems after transfering games to my A500 Vollldo support.Games 7 05 September 2010 16:34
Need advice on how to put adfs on amiga FDD dword New to Emulation or Amiga scene 29 15 July 2008 17:11
How can a floppy be a PC 720k disk and an Amiga 880k disk at the same time? dreamkatcha New to Emulation or Amiga scene 33 24 July 2004 15:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.13111 seconds with 11 queries