English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 April 2010, 02:34   #1
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,981
Post Quick AmiTCP question

I am trying to set up AmiTCP and it's driving me bonkers.
Is there a possibility that the PCMCIA card reader device is conflicting with my PCMCIA 3Comdriver?

Do I have to avoid mounting the card reader driver whenever I want to use the network?
Akira is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 29 April 2010, 03:13   #2
Cammy
Registered User
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Age: 32
Posts: 1,134
I don't think there's any chance that the PCMCIA drivers are conflicting, I have them running all the time and I swap between network and card reader cards a few times a day. I have set up AmiTCP on my A600 and A1200 by following this guide: http://www.acc.umu.se/~patrikax/amig...miTCP_Install/

I hope you find the solution to your problem.
Cammy is offline  
Old 29 April 2010, 03:53   #3
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,981
I followed that guide. But it's wrong. It says, for example, to leave startnet without an execute command, a huge failure.

I think my cards have gone to silicon heaven. One was recognized and working and after I removed it, every time I start AmiTCP now it says :
OpenDevice: Device or unit failed to open

Also, prepcard shows the device as UNKNOWN instead of I/O device.
I just tried in both my A600 and A120. Same thing. My Multicard Reader still works on both computers, so I can rule out a PCMCIA port failure.


Tell me I didnt break 2 cards for removing them while the computer was on
Akira is offline  
Old 29 April 2010, 04:07   #4
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,981
I can't understand this crap.
The 3-Com card was being recognized just fine until I removed it.
AmiTCP said that the device was offline when I removed it.
And it didn't work again since!!!!!
My Prism2 card is not being recognized either, then again, I never got that stupid thing to run, so maybe it was faulty from the beginning.

PLease halp!!!!
Akira is offline  
Old 29 April 2010, 13:12   #5
Philophus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 151
Are you running a squirrel scsi?
Philophus is offline  
Old 29 April 2010, 13:54   #6
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,981
No?
This is a Network card.
Akira is offline  
Old 29 April 2010, 14:16   #7
Philophus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 151
The squirrel driver can sometimes "hog" the pcmcia port thats why i asked.
Philophus is offline  
Old 29 April 2010, 18:31   #8
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,981
I see.
Well, no, it at all, and my cards don't work on my A600 now either.

I want to know if I fried them somehow. All I did was remove them while the computer was on, which doesn't sound like a problem.

Something I did notice is that the fit of my card reader is a lot tighter than the fit of the network cards. Could my PCMCIA ports be worn out? hard to say since I barely used them, but you never know.
Akira is offline  
Old 30 April 2010, 00:22   #9
rare_j
Zone Friend

rare_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 737
I also killed a 3Com Etherlink III dead while messing around with it in my A1200. I don't know for sure what killed it, but I was removing it and inserting it with the machine on.
Luckily I have another card. (bought as a pair on ebay)
After that I only move the card with the power off.
rare_j is offline  
Old 30 April 2010, 06:05   #10
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,981
Is there any way to really know if my card is dead? Dont tell me I need a PC with a PCMCIA port.
Akira is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
a quick question extralife support.Hardware 3 02 January 2009 14:00
Quick question's noxenlux New to Emulation or Amiga scene 3 03 December 2008 19:26
Quick question AliasXZ New to Emulation or Amiga scene 1 21 January 2008 16:46
A Quick Question Reps Amiga scene 5 27 October 2003 10:42
Just a quick Question ! RetroMan project.SPS (was CAPS) 4 08 April 2003 11:00

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.16173 seconds with 11 queries