English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 April 2010, 20:50   #1
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
060 Accelerator prices...

I was thinking about getting a decent 060 board but the prices lately have been quite high! What is the typical price for a good 060 board? (any model/brand).

I almost bought a relatively cheap 040 board once... but then decided against it as i heard the 060 boards run cooler and are more compatible with games.

Anyway can anyone please let me know the typical price for a 50mhz 060 board? Also which models fit nicely into a standard A1200 case with the trapdoor closed?

Cheers
PowerPie5000 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 18 April 2010, 22:06   #2
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
@powerpie5000

arguably the price is going to be difficult, but the cheapest out of 060 cards will be the Apollo, and as it would be it also fits in the case with the trapdoor closed.


Expect prices today in the region of 180 - 240 (32MB max inside the stock 1200 case)

next in line would be the Viper 060, (ALSO made by ACT) this is a better revision of the card, and Will accept 64MB max and can have the trapdoor closed. price about 190+


The blizzard 060 will cost more and wont fill well with the trapdoor slot, and isn't recommended anyway =)

this card will accept 128MB ram, but its got to be the thin low-profile ram,costing yet even more..

price 220 + RAM


the Blizzard also has the SCSI option which allows for another 128MB of ram + Fast SCSI2 7mb persec asycn and 10mb persec sync

this unit will be between 80 - 120 pending on RAM configuration.

Last edited by Zetr0; 18 April 2010 at 22:14.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 18 April 2010, 22:23   #3
stachu100
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Piaseczno/Poland
Posts: 286
Send a message via Skype™ to stachu100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
@powerpie5000
next in line would be the Viper 060, (ALSO made by ACT) this is a better revision of the card, and Will accept 64MB max and can have the trapdoor closed. price about 190+
Two days ago I sold mine Viper 1260 for 275...
stachu100 is offline  
Old 18 April 2010, 22:39   #4
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by stachu100 View Post
Two days ago I sold mine Viper 1260 for 275...
275 is a bit expensive for me but congratulations on the sale

@Zetro... Ok i think Blizz cards are out of the question then! Also will there be any issues using any of the other 060 cards with KS 3.1 roms? I have an Escom rev 1D4 motherboard so the timing fix will most likely be needed .

Cheers
PowerPie5000 is offline  
Old 18 April 2010, 22:40   #5
Philophus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 151
Id4 board i have is rock stable with the timing fixes in place with my 060.
Philophus is offline  
Old 18 April 2010, 23:01   #6
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
Quote:
Originally Posted by stachu100 View Post
Two days ago I sold mine Viper 1260 for 275...

Indeed my friend I was watching it, my sincere congrats on your sale. I am sure those whom get this card will be very happy with it.

Also If I am not mistaken you also put on 64MB of 50ns High Frequency compatible RAM. thus allowing the CPU and Memory to run at 60mhz.

Thats one amazingly fast card!

@thread

I will say that eBay only shows two or more people battling for an item, and only gives you a tempory instance, not a real general worth..

This problem is also compounded by location, currency fluctuations and expectations, although to be fair most 060 cards are commanding some seriuous prices... but lets take a moment here..

my Apollo 060 back in 1996 cost me 345 - included 32MB SIMM

that would be the equivilent of 600 in todays money at 4% interest

so if anything 060 cards are less than half the price they originall were...


KS3.1 wont be a problem with any 060 card, however custom 1MB roms may prove a problem for those cards that use a MMU map rom feature as it only shifts 512KB not the full 1MB - but this can be turned off on the blizzards, on the Falcon 040 it cannot.


Please note that the prices i quote are HIGHLY subjective, when looking at them remember that I will value them to what I think there worth, as I have 2 060's and 2 040's, 2 030's (thanks Steve!) subconciously I wouldn't value them financially as high... its just part of the human condition.

as I live in europe, compared to other places, Amiga is relatively abundant, again this plays on the numbers that form in my head.

at the end of the day, the value of an item is only what you place in it... thats about it really.

Last edited by Zetr0; 18 April 2010 at 23:09.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 29 April 2010, 14:34   #7
mully
Registered User
mully's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 40
What would the equivalent PC spec need to be running WinUAE to match the native Imagine/Real 3D'ish rendering speed of an 060 ?
mully is offline  
Old 29 April 2010, 15:29   #8
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
@mulligan

to achieve 060 rendering speed in imagine is relatively easy and you could use something like a 1GHz machine as this would easly achieve it.

The trick is having a fast enough processer that can emulate the custom chips as well as the CPU.


to be fair you can get quite a bit of PC kit these days for very little cash that would easly perform this task and then some more! =)
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 29 April 2010, 15:50   #9
Philophus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 151
But why have a cheap kit car when you drive a real Ferrari
Philophus is offline  
Old 29 April 2010, 15:53   #10
seuden
uber cool demi god

seuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kent/England
Posts: 1,905
Money?
seuden is offline  
Old 10 May 2010, 01:43   #11
JACK98
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: N/A
Posts: 420
i think the 060 cards are something only a very lucky few will ever own.Can 040 be swapped and changed?.

Last edited by JACK98; 05 November 2015 at 19:25.
JACK98 is offline  
Old 10 May 2010, 02:52   #12
jimmer78
Registered User
jimmer78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: London
Posts: 133
apollo 040 cards can be upgraded to 060 quite cheaply (under 70).
jimmer78 is offline  
Old 10 May 2010, 02:54   #13
JACK98
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: N/A
Posts: 420
I don't think that its that straight forward swap or is it?.

Last edited by JACK98; 05 November 2015 at 19:26.
JACK98 is offline  
Old 10 May 2010, 21:47   #14
jimmer78
Registered User
jimmer78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: London
Posts: 133
yeah there's a guy that does it for between 50-70 pounds in Norway. I can give you his details if you like.
jimmer78 is offline  
Old 10 May 2010, 22:07   #15
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Must have a MACH131 CPLD chip or AFAIK it's no go for Apollo 1240-1260 upgrading.
alexh is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted: 060 accelerator for Amiga 4000 8bitbubsy MarketPlace 0 03 October 2011 04:38
Wanted 040 or 060 accelerator for A2000 psodas MarketPlace 0 30 April 2011 00:29
GVP 060 accelerator for the A2000 source Hardware mods 15 27 October 2009 06:54
WTB: A1200 060 Accelerator Zetr0 MarketPlace 1 23 February 2009 20:44
WTB - 060 Accelerator card for A1200 ne7 MarketPlace 0 11 January 2009 03:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18821 seconds with 11 queries