English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 June 2002, 19:48   #1
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Can ADZ's/zipped-ADF's be written too?

Or are they read only?

From what I can tell ADZ's and zipped ADF's can only be read and have to be converted back to ADF in order to be written to within WinUAE.

Are there any plans to change this, or does the re-archiving cause problems?

Last edited by Bloodwych; 26 June 2002 at 20:25.
Bloodwych is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 26 June 2002, 20:48   #2
Chuckles
The Ancient One
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas City/USA
Age: 62
Posts: 685
I know at one time that .adz images were just being decompressed at runtime to a work .adf file, and though any writes done would be done to the work file, the original .adz was left untouched. I could have sworn though that at some point Brian had made a change to look at the write protect status of the .adz file, and if it wasn't marked read-only, to re-compress the .adz from the working .adf. For this to work though, all exits from the emulator would need to be carefully trapped, and I've always been rather skeptical about the feasibility of doing that. Of course, Toni would be the guy who'd be most likely to be able to give a completely accurate answer on this. Toni? Any thoughts on the subject?
Chuckles is offline  
Old 26 June 2002, 21:37   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,672
Adding write support to adz-files is quite simple (of course there is always danger that something bad happens during recompressing), but I don't think this is worth the trouble.. Why not just unpack them manually? (>99.9% of disks are always "read-only". Or did I miss something important?)

Another "problem": I am sure I'll get useless "bug reports" that complain why zipped images are not supported
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 26 June 2002, 21:47   #4
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Thanks Toni
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 29 June 2002, 00:50   #5
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Toni, you mean those ADZ files inside ZIP files, true?
andreas is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dropping zipped ADF images does not works Leandro Jardim support.WinUAE 1 01 July 2013 21:15
ADF/ADZ compare tool? the wolf request.Apps 3 17 October 2010 18:34
ADF to ADZ with windows ? Tony Landais New to Emulation or Amiga scene 7 26 August 2006 02:25
Converting adz to adf nnever2000 support.Games 2 21 August 2006 15:36
adz -> adf -> files staticgerbil support.Apps 12 06 November 2003 11:40

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.19045 seconds with 11 queries