English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 June 2016, 22:32   #41
fryguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hjo, Sweden
Age: 37
Posts: 681
I do realise that i've asked about it before in this thread

But does anyone have a working hardfile with MSDOS installed for PC-TasK?
fryguy is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 28 June 2016, 00:35   #42
LuMan
Amigan - an loving it!!
LuMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 47
Posts: 461
When you find one, fryguy, run dosuae on it, so you can have an Amiga emulated in dos, emulated on an Amiga

It'll be like infinity.. or singularity.. or something!!
LuMan is offline  
Old 28 June 2016, 00:49   #43
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 2,419
i've zoned two hardfile i've found on those BBS isos:
PCX-HDD-MSDOS6.lha (PC Emulation Hardfile MSDOS 6.22)
PCHDF_MSDOS622.lzx (PC Emulation Hardfile MSDOS 6)

not tested, but give them a try.
emufan is offline  
Old 28 June 2016, 01:51   #44
fryguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hjo, Sweden
Age: 37
Posts: 681
Quote:
Originally Posted by LuMan View Post
When you find one, fryguy, run dosuae on it, so you can have an Amiga emulated in dos, emulated on an Amiga

It'll be like infinity.. or singularity.. or something!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
i've zoned two hardfile i've found on those BBS isos:
PCX-HDD-MSDOS6.lha (PC Emulation Hardfile MSDOS 6.22)
PCHDF_MSDOS622.lzx (PC Emulation Hardfile MSDOS 6)

not tested, but give them a try.
Thanks!

Last edited by prowler; 28 June 2016 at 22:56. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged; please use multi-quote.
fryguy is offline  
Old 28 June 2016, 02:22   #45
amigoun
Registered User
amigoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Czech Rep
Posts: 316
I wonder if source code to PC-Task survived or maybe some kind of improved newer version than the last v4.4 released.
Plans were great at the time, implementing soundblaster audio and adding mmu support to get faster graphics... Also PPC version was planned.
Still best PC emulator available for Amiga, perfect speed and compatibility.
amigoun is offline  
Old 03 July 2016, 04:32   #46
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 42
Posts: 1,217
How does it compare to latest DOSBox? More or less compatible?
Will it run stuff that have use dos4gw (extended memory)?
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 07 July 2016, 12:41   #47
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 34
Posts: 2,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
How does it compare to latest DOSBox?
Terribly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0
More or less compatible?
Much less compatible.

Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0
Will it run stuff that have use dos4gw (extended memory)?
I have no idea.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 07 July 2016, 14:20   #48
Michael Sykes
WinUAE end user

Michael Sykes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Bremen
Age: 37
Posts: 607
It runs "scorched earth" thats all that matters...
Michael Sykes is online now  
Old 07 July 2016, 17:46   #49
amigoun
Registered User
amigoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Czech Rep
Posts: 316
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
How does it compare to latest DOSBox? More or less compatible?
Will it run stuff that have use dos4gw (extended memory)?
With the recent version of DOSBox of course less compatible.
It runs dos4gw (and other extenders) fine.
amigoun is offline  
Old 13 July 2016, 14:46   #50
TroyWilkins
Registered User

TroyWilkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 288
Does anyone know if there is a way of changing the text font that it uses for text screens, such as for the MS-DOS screen mode, so that it can be readable at higher resolutions than 640x200 (such as 640x480) without it only taking up the top half of the screen?

My apologies if this has been covered elsewhere, I have had a look around but was unable to find anything relevant.

Thanks.
TroyWilkins is offline  
Old 13 July 2016, 15:00   #51
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 2,419
here they talk about the problem. solution maybe the mode.com command: mode co40

edit: this does work in dosbox emulator, gives a bigger fontsize.
here is a help mage for the command - co80 switches back to normal mode.

Last edited by emufan; 13 July 2016 at 15:06.
emufan is offline  
Old 13 July 2016, 15:16   #52
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 36
Posts: 5,800
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Mode co80 and mode co40 adjust the amount of viewable columns. 80 and 40 respectively.

This of course increases the character size, as both take up the whole width of the monitor.

Most software will force a switch back to 80 column mode, that won't solve the actual problem.
Jope is offline  
Old 11 October 2016, 23:08   #53
trixster
Guru Meditating
trixster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: York
Posts: 400
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
i've zoned two hardfile i've found on those BBS isos:
PCX-HDD-MSDOS6.lha (PC Emulation Hardfile MSDOS 6.22)
PCHDF_MSDOS622.lzx (PC Emulation Hardfile MSDOS 6)

not tested, but give them a try.
Any chance you could pop them back into the zone?
trixster is offline  
Old 11 October 2016, 23:23   #54
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 2,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by trixster View Post
Any chance you could pop them back into the zone?
they were saved on the ftp. take a look here.
emufan is offline  
Old 12 October 2016, 21:32   #55
trixster
Guru Meditating
trixster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: York
Posts: 400
Nice one, thanks!
trixster is offline  
Old 13 October 2016, 01:31   #56
TroyWilkins
Registered User

TroyWilkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by TroyWilkins View Post
Does anyone know if there is a way of changing the text font that it uses for text screens, such as for the MS-DOS screen mode, so that it can be readable at higher resolutions than 640x200 (such as 640x480) without it only taking up the top half of the screen?

My apologies if this has been covered elsewhere, I have had a look around but was unable to find anything relevant.

Thanks.
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
here they talk about the problem. solution maybe the mode.com command: mode co40

edit: this does work in dosbox emulator, gives a bigger fontsize.
here is a help mage for the command - co80 switches back to normal mode.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
Mode co80 and mode co40 adjust the amount of viewable columns. 80 and 40 respectively.

This of course increases the character size, as both take up the whole width of the monitor.

Most software will force a switch back to 80 column mode, that won't solve the actual problem.
Perhaps these screen captures will help show what I'm talking about? It appears to me that PC-Task is using a CGA style text screen, instead of the higher resolution EGA/VGA text screens.

As you can see in the screen capture, it uses a fixed width and height - 640x200 - for the 80x25 character grid.



On a "real" EGA/VGA display, it doesn't use 8x8 pixel character cells.

On EGA, it uses 640350, and each character uses a 814 pixel character cell, to give the 80x25 character grid.

On VGA, it's 720400, each character using 916 pixel character cell to give the 80x25 character grid.

mode.com won't help in this regard. This seems hard coded into PC-Task, which means that using text mode in a window on a public screen with a resolution of 400 pixels or higher makes the screen too "short", and on say an 800x600 screen, it starts to become too small to be really useful.



It would be nice to have it use the higher resolution EGA and or VGA text screen modes if available, and if the graphics adapter was chosen as EGA or better, but it appears to me that PC-Task would need to be updated for this to happen.
TroyWilkins is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PC Task 4.4 Jimbo request.Apps 36 09 November 2013 13:18
Where to get PC-Task or PCx ? astuermer request.Apps 37 15 April 2011 22:44
Free Hat!!! Free Hat!!! Sorry I mean Free ZX Spectrum basic Programming Book fitzsteve MarketPlace 3 02 April 2010 19:48
PC-Task DyLucke request.Apps 18 06 February 2010 22:52
Once again PC Task! lurkist request.Apps 55 07 December 2008 16:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.28837 seconds with 12 queries