English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 April 2011, 00:15   #241
rare_j
Zone Friend

rare_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 754
Michael has released a distribution with the 5.3 patch applied. What a very nice thing to do!
http://www.amiga.org/forums/showthread.php?t=57447
rare_j is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 17 May 2011, 17:01   #242
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,928
I finally got around to installing this on my 1200.
Backing up the WHDLoad partition took forever to do but boy it was worth it.
Bye bye FFS I won't be missing you.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 17 May 2011, 17:31   #243
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by rare_j View Post
Michael has released a distribution with the 5.3 patch applied. What a very nice thing to do!
http://www.amiga.org/forums/showthread.php?t=57447
Unfortunately that package is incomplete, it doesn't include PFS3DS for 68000. Refer to this thread:

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=59254

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamiga2002
It would be nice to have a HDToolBox version which has all the fixes of the 3.9 version and still it would work on WB 3.0 or even lower versions.
That would be brilliant.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 18 May 2011, 02:33   #244
rare_j
Zone Friend

rare_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 754
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
Unfortunately that package is incomplete, it doesn't include PFS3DS for 68000. Refer to this thread:

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=59254
Oh dear thats a bit of a shame for unexpanded a600 owners who want to go large.
Could we contact the author and get a copy of pfs3ds 68000 v5.3 sorted? Gulliver?
rare_j is offline  
Old 06 June 2011, 07:01   #245
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
I tried to use it on my new 1200 build-up but after spending about 4 hours with it I'm giving up and going back to SFS.

For some strange reason I couldn't get it to see my partitions beyond 4GB (I'm using a 16GB drive). After formating (using the PFS3 utility) I could see the partitions and everything looked fine but as soon as I restarted they would come back as unrecognized?

Maybe I just missed something or did something silly?
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 06 June 2011, 12:50   #246
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,552
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
I tried to use it on my new 1200 build-up but after spending about 4 hours with it I'm giving up and going back to SFS.

For some strange reason I couldn't get it to see my partitions beyond 4GB (I'm using a 16GB drive). After formating (using the PFS3 utility) I could see the partitions and everything looked fine but as soon as I restarted they would come back as unrecognized?

Maybe I just missed something or did something silly?

You need TD64-compliant device driver or use the PFS3ds variant.

Note that OS3.9 is not TD64-compliant, so you need to use the ds version.
thomas is offline  
Old 06 June 2011, 14:57   #247
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Thanks for that Thomas, I'll give it a try sometime...
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 06 November 2011, 16:11   #248
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,949
Quote:
KS 1.3 compatibility is the only missing "feature" but perhaps it isn't too difficult when sources are available. (at least I am going to try..)
I finally felt lazy enough to attempt this..

It compiles, all KS2.0+ routines replaced with wrappers (mainly using AROS library code). PFS3 even detects PFS3 formatted hardfile under 1.3 but thats all before whole AOS crashes (probably due to some memory corruption, crash is due to bogus values in some unrelated OS structures.. difficult to debug)

After some more debugging, I noticed PFS3 compiled under AROS amiga-m68k compilation environment does the same even if running under KS3.1. So there must be some kind of incompatibility somewhere.

I am using AROS compilation environment because it allows tricks like hiding all 2.0+ function prototypes, allowing 1.3 support with minimal changes to PFS3 source files.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 15 November 2011, 22:33   #249
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,949
It works! PFS3 hardfile boots and seems to work fine under 1.3 now (both standard and direct scsi version).

Some kind of public version will be released soon.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 15 November 2011, 22:37   #250
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
corrr nice one toni,
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 18 November 2011, 22:20   #251
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,949
KS 1.3 (probably all 1.x version compatible if booting is not needed)/68000 compatible PFS3/PFS3DS is now available for testing: http://www.winuae.net/files/stuff/pfs3ks13.zip

WARNING: As usual, data loss possible if things go wrong.. Tested on emulation and real A500 + Supradrive 500XP (ROM version 3.8 = AMAB6)

NOTE: Stupid drivers (like Supradrive 500XP boot ROM) only load RDB filesystems that have dostype "DOSx" where x can be anything. (I used "DOSP" instead of correct "PFS\3" or "PDS\3"). Anything else and driver simply ignores the RDB filesystem... I hope this is not common problem. (also 500XP does not support Direct SCSI. SCSI controller without Direct SCSI support. Perfect..)

Technical details:

All features supported. Uses original rom dos routines if v37 or higher OS. Uses wrappers when running under OS older than v37.
All requesters are disabled if running under 1.x. (1.x has only crappy and stupid requester routines, I didn't bother to add requester wrappers)

(source patch will be also available soon)

EDIT:

Files updated.
- Direct-SCSI fix (TD64 should not be defined when building DS). Works on my Supradrive 500XP now.
- Minimum allowed buffer changed to 10 buffers.

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 19 November 2011 at 09:37.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 18 November 2011, 22:52   #252
Dwyloc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Age: 41
Posts: 81
@Toni Wilen
I think I asked some were before, but would it be possible to have a low memory 68000 build that supports just having 50 buffers like FFS?

For us really limited memory users how are stuck using FFS on our hard drives as less than 2MB of RAM is just to limited to use 150K as a hard disk buffer :-)
Dwyloc is offline  
Old 19 November 2011, 09:38   #253
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,949
Updated, see above. (includes also smaller minimum buffer size)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 06 December 2011, 15:28   #254
lifeschool
Local Moderator

lifeschool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lancashire, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 959
Really encouraged to see threads like these. I grabbed the PFS update ZIP above and it comes up with 2 handlers. I'm guessing I have to rename those and place the appropriate one in the L directory? I'm looking at the PFS3 archive now and I can't see an 'L' or any 'handlers' on there. Perhaps I should wait until it becomes part of the main executable UAE package?

Thanks for this supported feature Toni!
lifeschool is offline  
Old 06 December 2011, 15:56   #255
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,949
Quote:
Originally Posted by lifeschool View Post
Really encouraged to see threads like these. I grabbed the PFS update ZIP above and it comes up with 2 handlers. I'm guessing I have to rename those and place the appropriate one in the L directory? I'm looking at the PFS3 archive now and I can't see an 'L' or any 'handlers' on there. Perhaps I should wait until it becomes part of the main executable UAE package?

Thanks for this supported feature Toni!
Name or location is irrelevant. Use hdtoolbox/hdinstools to install the handler to RDB, configure partition(s) to use new filesystem, the usual.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 10 December 2011, 22:39   #256
lifeschool
Local Moderator

lifeschool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lancashire, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 959
Thanks again Toni!

With the help of this thread and the one about 'setup and install' I finally got around to installing a new (and faster!!) PFS3 hardfile on my PC. Works like a charm! I had it crash once on me already (copying way too many files with extra long path locations makes my DOpus v4 hang sometimes), but the drive stayed 'validated' and with zero data loss or corruption. So you see, installing this has saved me a large amount of time rescuing duff disks already.

In an attempt to make this BREAKTHROUGH available to the general amiga community, I made this video today which hopefully shows an installation of PFS3 via WinUAE for newbies. It comes in two parts: installing the 020 (DS) version, and installing the new KS1.3 handlers you made. Feel free to link to this if you think its good enough. The video also contains some of the essential posts from these EAB threads in case they get 'lost-in-the-heap' in years to come.

[ Show youtube player ]

EDIT:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Retroplay
Worth mentioning is that you have to change SCSI.device to UAEHF.device in icon info in HDToolbox and HDInstTools (what I use) if using WinUAE and HDF files.
^ What he said!

Last edited by lifeschool; 11 December 2011 at 15:17.
lifeschool is offline  
Old 11 December 2011, 02:20   #257
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,464
Brilliant video lifeschool. I think that will make any newcomer configuring PFS3 easily with that guide!
AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 13 December 2011, 00:54   #258
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
Indeed Nice videos Lifeschool perhaps you should make a thread about em
heres part 1 just to make it easier to find

[ Show youtube player ]
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 17 December 2011, 17:30   #259
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,949
http://www.winuae.net/files/stuff/pfs3ks13.zip updated. Handlers converted to single hunk executable. Perhaps this helps with ancient boot roms that only worked with FFS.

FFS is single-hunk and boot rom developers may have been lazy and didn't implement full executable loader..
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 13 February 2012, 04:45   #260
tom256
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Poland
Posts: 121
Any progress with PFS3 for OS3.x??
tom256 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PFS3 or PFS3 SCSI Direct xalakibaniou project.ClassicWB 105 27 July 2013 23:08
Free Hat!!! Free Hat!!! Sorry I mean Free ZX Spectrum basic Programming Book fitzsteve MarketPlace 3 02 April 2010 19:48
Can you say free AmigaOne computers and free Amiga phones? Pyromania Amiga scene 26 16 February 2010 14:49
PFS3 error: INVALID PFS3 COPY !!! WTF? keropi support.Apps 10 18 March 2008 23:30
Microsoft pays $6.1M for opensource Amiga program alexh Amiga scene 2 20 June 2006 17:34

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25496 seconds with 11 queries