English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

View Poll Results: Real Amiga or WinUAE?
Real Amiga of course! 44 28.76%
WinUAE is far superior! 22 14.38%
Both 87 56.86%
Voters: 153. You may not vote on this poll

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 June 2010, 13:49   #81
lost_lemming
Registered User
lost_lemming's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Birmingham
Age: 32
Posts: 334
Both
lost_lemming is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 June 2010, 13:52   #82
haynor666
retro maniac

haynor666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tarnobrzeg/Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,462
Send a message via Skype™ to haynor666
This goes to emulation generally. I've never seen perfect screen scrolling on any emulator with typical windows setup. Only Powerstrip can help here.
haynor666 is offline  
Old 03 June 2010, 13:53   #83
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
Thats absolute bullshit and you know it.
No it isn't.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 03 June 2010, 13:55   #84
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by haynor View Post
Only Powerstrip can help here.
Ask yourself why Powerstrip helps. Then go and buy another monitor
TCD is offline  
Old 03 June 2010, 13:55   #85
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by haynor View Post
This goes to emulation generally. I've never seen perfect screen scrolling on any emulator with typical windows setup. Only Powerstrip can help here.
Also not true.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 03 June 2010, 14:22   #86
haynor666
retro maniac

haynor666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tarnobrzeg/Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,462
Send a message via Skype™ to haynor666
On LCD is almost not possible. For that I have CRT Samsung 950p plus. It was range from about 47 to 150 Hz. But to setup freq like 57,617 (yep there are such odds - look in MAME, try setup without windows 55,017 Hz for Air Gallet) you need Powerstrip. I used Powerstrip to make ideal TV//amiga alike resolution and 50/100 Hz freq.
haynor666 is offline  
Old 03 June 2010, 14:24   #87
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Arcade games are a bit special, true. LCDs without a nativ 50Hz mode will never scroll smoothly.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 03 June 2010, 14:30   #88
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by haynor View Post
On LCD is almost not possible.
Which means that it's not the emulators fault
TCD is offline  
Old 03 June 2010, 14:32   #89
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
I have a Plasma with 50/60/100Hz modes. Great for 99% of all emulators.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 03 June 2010, 14:32   #90
haynor666
retro maniac

haynor666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tarnobrzeg/Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,462
Send a message via Skype™ to haynor666
I didn't say it's emulators fault. I say it goes to emulation (on typical hardware).

I say that on typical windows setup (XP or vista or 7 with LCD monitor) it's not possible. I think most people have such configuration. How much these days are using CRT monitor

Plasma is not typical setup, isn't it
haynor666 is offline  
Old 03 June 2010, 14:39   #91
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
A lot of people (and retro-freaks) connect their PCs to a Plasma TV, nothing special imho. Of course it's not my standard monitor, still have my 19" CRT.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 03 June 2010, 14:41   #92
haynor666
retro maniac

haynor666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tarnobrzeg/Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,462
Send a message via Skype™ to haynor666
retro freaks do not have typical setup either

I'm retro freak and I have Samsung 19 " CRT just for emulation. For standard work modern playing I have LG 22 '' LCD.

But I prefer original/genuine hardware that's why I have consoles and computers in my home.
haynor666 is offline  
Old 03 June 2010, 14:41   #93
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by haynor View Post
I didn't say it's emulators fault. I say it goes to emulation (on typical hardware).
Er... If you use NTSC emulation there is no problem (so 90% of the consoles don't count in your definition of 'emulation'). I know what you're trying to say, but Hewitson claimed that it just isn't possible, which is of course pants

Last edited by TCD; 03 June 2010 at 14:57.
TCD is offline  
Old 07 June 2010, 13:49   #94
paulo_becas
Registered User
paulo_becas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Porto/Portugal
Age: 41
Posts: 452
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla View Post
WinUAE.

Anyone who uses a real Amiga is an idiot.
Speak for yourself, have you ever owned a real amiga?
Everybody knows,well almost everybody, that there are things that don't work so great in WinUAE.
For me WinUAE is great for preparing everything to migrate to real amiga, but you can't beat the real thing.
Don't get me wrong, i love WinUAE, i think that most things in amiga world still happens because of this great piece of software.
My way of seing things is that both, WinUAE and the Real amiga, have there places, so my vote goes to both. WinUAE to set things up and The real Amiga to enjoy the Amiga experience.
WinUAE was one of the reasons to make me get back to the Amiga Experience 15 years later.
paulo_becas is offline  
Old 07 June 2010, 13:51   #95
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
I've got about 7.

It was a joke
killergorilla is offline  
Old 07 June 2010, 14:03   #96
paulo_becas
Registered User
paulo_becas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Porto/Portugal
Age: 41
Posts: 452
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrbob2 View Post
Im sorry but i just dont get it!!

Why the hell are people saying "ooh but with WINUAE you dont get exactly cycle 030 blitter emu on the vsync 50mhz blah de blah"

Bollocks!

Ok how about having every amiga game ever instantly loading at the touch of a button, the ability to have a 500gb HD, every HDLOAD game accssible, custom screen modes. Speeds faster than an 060 with a decent pc. Hires GFX that your A500 could never dream of, the abilty to use any joypad rather than your 30 year old cruiser, multiple workbench configs, save states!

Or a real amiga that smells, is a musty yellow colour, modulator needs bending to get a colour display, slow clunky loading via disk, crap mouse, slow as hell WB which is next to impossible to be of any benefit. A computer the size of a small family hatchback sat on your desk. Having to search through thousands of game disks to find the one you want. Discovering your fave game has a disk read error.....

Dont get me wrong, i love my amiga(s) but the hardware is irreleant now. WINUA is the best emulator on any platform of any system. Everything i could do on my real amiga, i can do on WINUAE better.

For example, on my A1200 config i can have 8mb of chip ram!!! so animations in animated, octamed etc can store more sound samples.

What can you do on a real amiga that you cant on WINUAE?

probably some really anal coding demo that doesnt quite run at 58.23 mhz with accurate cpu timing zzzzzz
It's the feel.. don't you get it???
It's like owning a 1969 Mustang or collecting watches.

IT'S THE FEEL
I FEEL THE NEED... THE NEED FOR AMIGA.
I know it's not realistic but spending money to put the amiga running like i never could, back on the days, parents were funding my addictions, now i'm working... it's the joy, hell nothing can beat the real amiga feel.

Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla View Post
I've got about 7.

It was a joke
Ok my bad, i thought you were just throwing gasoline in to a fire place.
I got 4.

Quote:
Originally Posted by StarEye View Post
Nostalgia is very important, imo. Everyone just blows that off as something you should not take into account, but I never understood why. It's the same when people say "the old Final Fantasy games are no less linear than the original, the freedom you feel is just an illusion". To that, I say, who the fuck cares if it's an illusion or not. What counts is the experience I feel, not why I feel it. Now THAT'S pointless.

If I feel it, I feel it. It's like hearing a song, and if you love it you love it. You can try to reason why you like it, but in the end, it's really unexplainable. That's why two people who hears the same song can have two totally different opinions of that song, even though they enjoy music for the exact same reasons. Some aspects just can't be explained or reasoned at all. Two good melodies, you don't necessarily like them both even if they're similar in style and approach. At least, not equally. And that's not because one is objectively better than the other, but because you just feel one more than the other.
I rest my case

Quote:
Originally Posted by haynor View Post
I didn't say it's emulators fault. I say it goes to emulation (on typical hardware).

I say that on typical windows setup (XP or vista or 7 with LCD monitor) it's not possible. I think most people have such configuration. How much these days are using CRT monitor

Plasma is not typical setup, isn't it
I still think that an LCD Monitor is no match for a CRT in terms of emulation, but that's just my opinion.

Last edited by Graham Humphrey; 07 June 2010 at 17:47. Reason: Multiple posts merged
paulo_becas is offline  
Old 07 June 2010, 14:40   #97
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
You really like to keep those lazy mods busy eh? There is a button to quote multiple messages
TCD is offline  
Old 07 June 2010, 15:00   #98
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 1,658
Quote:
How much these days are using CRT monitor
I am for one...
Minuous is offline  
Old 07 June 2010, 17:23   #99
Jack Burton
It's all in the reflexes!
Jack Burton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wingkong warehouses
Posts: 156
I prefer the real thing. But I use WinUAE for testing and copying some ADF programs, when it's possible, to my PCMCIA CF SD adapter, since my DF0: is slowly dying (would be nice if the real Amiga could read ADF).

And by the way, my Amiga starts faster than my pc, and is more power efficient, so my Amiga is more ecological !

Concerning the display, I still use an old 14" Thomson CRT with an mmm... 0.94 mm dot pitch !
Jack Burton is offline  
Old 07 June 2010, 17:40   #100
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Burton View Post
(would be nice if the real Amiga could read ADF).
http://aminet.net/package/disk/misc/...age_device-os3 for example
There are several other ways to do it and I'm sure people will chime in
TCD is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Networking WinUAE and my real Amiga ancalimon support.WinUAE 1 03 November 2011 13:30
WinUAE savestates on real Amiga Supamax support.Other 59 30 January 2009 10:42
Winuae 1.3.2 vs Real Amiga Dillon Retrogaming General Discussion 9 12 September 2006 13:42
Real Amiga HD to winUAE rartist New to Emulation or Amiga scene 14 01 May 2005 19:25
real Amiga HD under WinUAE Unregistered support.WinUAE 1 18 January 2005 11:33

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.36151 seconds with 12 queries