English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

View Poll Results: Real Amiga or WinUAE?
Real Amiga of course! 44 28.76%
WinUAE is far superior! 22 14.38%
Both 87 56.86%
Voters: 153. You may not vote on this poll

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 June 2010, 02:47   #61
Jimbo
Registered User
Jimbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Colchester Essex
Age: 38
Posts: 822
Winuae? you forget some of us won't be slaves to M$. So E-UAE for testing, but you can't beat a real Amiga
Jimbo is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 01 June 2010, 07:45   #62
Mequa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 497
WinUAE + Intel Atom netbook = cheap ultra-portable Amiga clone which can be taken anywhere!

Those who wish to do without MS can go for a Linux netbook with E-UAE (and/or Wine + WinUAE), all are free software.

My Acer Aspire One originally came with Linpus Linux Lite, but after a memory upgrade it runs Windows 7 so well I'm not going back.

I have two working A1200s too but like to save wear and tear on old hardware when I can.

Last edited by Mequa; 01 June 2010 at 07:59.
Mequa is offline  
Old 01 June 2010, 08:50   #63
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 41
Posts: 2,972
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kitty View Post
Now that WinUAE is at a stage where its almost 100% as good as using a real Amiga, would you choose it over the real thing?
Nope, my Amiga hobby is about Amigas and not about emulation. For old game consoles, emulators are fine, but for computing? No way
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
I'm known for saying repeatedly "nothing beats the real thing", however WinUAE is at such an advanced state of evolution nowadays, I can't see myself not deeming it a NECESSARY tool for ANY -real- Amiga hardware user.
I have to admit that for drive backups and settig up a system from scratch, WinUae is very useful if one is otherwise not interested in emulation.
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla View Post
Anyone who uses a real Amiga is an idiot.
I'm very happy to be an idiot, then

Last edited by Thorham; 01 June 2010 at 08:57.
Thorham is offline  
Old 01 June 2010, 10:07   #64
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimbo View Post
Winuae? you forget some of us won't be slaves to M$. So E-UAE for testing, but you can't beat a real Amiga
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mequa View Post
Those who wish to do without MS can go for a Linux netbook with E-UAE (and/or Wine + WinUAE), all are free software.
Guess you both missed P-UAE. Not bad for a 'M$ slave' to remind you that there is someone porting the latest WinUAE to Linux/Mac eh? When Akira mentions WinUAE, he does that for the reason that it's the state-of-the-art emulation of the Amiga today, not because it runs on Windows.
TCD is offline  
Old 01 June 2010, 10:11   #65
Jimbo
Registered User
Jimbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Colchester Essex
Age: 38
Posts: 822
P-UAE is very buggy. Best to stay with E-UAE for the moment. (for me anyway)
Jimbo is offline  
Old 01 June 2010, 19:14   #66
Marlon
Registered User
Marlon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: England, York
Age: 48
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimbo View Post
Winuae? you forget some of us won't be slaves to M$. So E-UAE for testing...
Well the thread is called "Real Amiga or WinUAE".
Marlon is offline  
Old 01 June 2010, 19:48   #67
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 46
Posts: 1,973
I love my A1200 but it's sooooo slow compared to WinUAE. Depressing.
jotd is offline  
Old 02 June 2010, 00:35   #68
illy5603
Registered User

illy5603's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: SPaT CiTY
Posts: 547
Send a message via MSN to illy5603
I don't have a working WinUAE setup at the moment as I erased my XP partition off of my iMac and put in Windows 7. Currently do my Amiga gaming on my A1200 and CD32 systems but really enjoyed having WinUAE running Amikit for the uber Amiga experience.
illy5603 is offline  
Old 02 June 2010, 02:55   #69
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimbo View Post
Winuae? you forget some of us won't be slaves to M$.
You dont need to be a slave if you pirate Windows and have a cheap netbook. It's your loss. E-UAE doesnt come anywhere near to CLOSE to WinUAE
Akira is offline  
Old 02 June 2010, 12:22   #70
gilgamesh
Linux snob

gilgamesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Monkey Island
Posts: 997
Not to mention Wine+WinUAE. (Rather slow, but works well otherwise.)
gilgamesh is offline  
Old 03 June 2010, 05:55   #71
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kitty View Post
Now that WinUAE is at a stage where its almost 100% as good as using a real Amiga


Let me know when it is capable of scrolling text across the screen smoothly
Hewitson is offline  
Old 03 June 2010, 09:25   #72
tekkendp
Registered User
tekkendp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Brum/UK
Posts: 12
I voted for both. The emulation is great and serves it's purpose. But owning and using a real Amiga is what it is all about. A 20+ year Amiga is never going to be perfect, but that is what makes it perfect. WinUAE just makes it too easy, too clean.

Like watching old skool Kung Fu films. You want the cheesy dialogue, the out of sync dubbing, and the scratchy picture quality. It's what adds to the charm and fun.

Plus, like a teenage boy-racer, you can spend time personalising, upgrading and tweaking your Amiga. After a while, you will have something truly unique, rather than a generic emulation that you run on your PC.

Well that's my $0.02 worth.

Long live the Amiga and all who play play with her. She's well over 18 years old - so it's legal!!!!

Last edited by tekkendp; 03 June 2010 at 09:29. Reason: Grammar!!!
tekkendp is offline  
Old 03 June 2010, 09:45   #73
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
Let me know when it is capable of scrolling text across the screen smoothly
Ah, you mean that you don't get a smooth 50 to 60 hz translation on your monitor. That can be fixed. Trust me.
TCD is offline  
Old 03 June 2010, 11:23   #74
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post


Let me know when it is capable of scrolling text across the screen smoothly
Now.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 03 June 2010, 11:39   #75
h0ffman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Salisbury
Posts: 469
Pretty much most emulators suffer from screen tearing where the frame rate is different. I mean, for gods sake, even modern day consoles tear the bloody screen! Imagine if your old amiga games did this!

You can't beat genuine old skool hardware with a 50hz VBlank solid refresh!
h0ffman is offline  
Old 03 June 2010, 12:39   #76
Maccara
The Spanish Songstress
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Finland
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by h0ffman View Post
You can't beat genuine old skool hardware with a 50hz VBlank solid refresh!
"It hurts when I do this" "Then don't do that!"

It is not the emulator's fault if you run it on "bad" hardware.
Maccara is offline  
Old 03 June 2010, 12:44   #77
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maccara View Post
It is not the emulator's fault if you run it on "bad" hardware.
TCD is offline  
Old 03 June 2010, 13:42   #78
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla View Post
Now.
Thats absolute bullshit and you know it. Even with vsync ON, and a 50hz vertical refresh, there will still be jerkiness.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid
Ah, you mean that you don't get a smooth 50 to 60 hz translation on your monitor. That can be fixed. Trust me.
No, I've even tried running it on a PAL TV which did improve things greatly, but they were still far from perfect.

Nothing compares to the smooth hardware scrolling of a REAL Amiga or C64.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 03 June 2010, 13:46   #79
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
No other machine compares to the smooth hardware scrolling of the Amiga & C64. Never has and never will.
Talking about absolute bullshit... ah, there it is. Rrrright, one type of 50 hz scrolling is a lot different than another.

Last edited by TCD; 03 June 2010 at 13:52.
TCD is offline  
Old 03 June 2010, 13:46   #80
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Ermh no. WinUAE is very smooth on 50/100Hz capable displays. If you use e.g. 56-60Hz displays, your fault.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Networking WinUAE and my real Amiga ancalimon support.WinUAE 1 03 November 2011 13:30
WinUAE savestates on real Amiga Supamax support.Other 59 30 January 2009 10:42
Winuae 1.3.2 vs Real Amiga Dillon Retrogaming General Discussion 9 12 September 2006 13:42
Real Amiga HD to winUAE rartist New to Emulation or Amiga scene 14 01 May 2005 19:25
real Amiga HD under WinUAE Unregistered support.WinUAE 1 18 January 2005 11:33

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.51048 seconds with 12 queries