English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

View Poll Results: Real Amiga or WinUAE?
Real Amiga of course! 44 28.76%
WinUAE is far superior! 22 14.38%
Both 87 56.86%
Voters: 153. You may not vote on this poll

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 April 2010, 10:19   #1
Kitty
Canít rain all the time..

Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,503
Real Amiga or WinUAE?

Now that WinUAE is at a stage where it's almost 100% as good as using a real Amiga, would you choose it over the real thing?

Last edited by Kitty; 19 September 2011 at 03:21.
Kitty is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 13 April 2010, 10:28   #2
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Time for another flame war thread already?
Why choose? Both have their advantages and if you don't need/like one, don't use it. But anyway, let the argumentation commence
Btw : Needs a 'Both for sure!' option
TCD is offline  
Old 13 April 2010, 10:36   #3
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Yep, another vote for Both!

Winuae is great for setting everything up but there's nothing like using original hardware
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 13 April 2010, 10:53   #4
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
Winuae is great but i prefer the nostalgic feel of using a real expanded Amiga plus i cannot get 50hz+Vsync on Winuae without the audio going bad
PowerPie5000 is offline  
Old 13 April 2010, 10:56   #5
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,586
Quote:
Now that WinUAE is at a stage where its almost 100% as good as using a real Amiga
Since there is no cache emulation and no way to limit speed to f.e. 060/50 yet it's real Amiga for me. Almost 100% as good as a real Amiga? I don't think so [and I'm sure Toni will agree ].
StingRay is offline  
Old 13 April 2010, 11:19   #6
deicidal
Registered Insane

deicidal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ununited Kingdom
Posts: 775
Winuae is brilliant been using it since it was command line driven but at the end of the day you cant beet the real thing, no slow downs tweaking settings etc. On the other hand I am still in the process of setting my real a1200 to a standard I like, I appear to have forgotton more than I thought.

Winuae though in the process of setting up the a1200 has been an abslute god send so Hats off to Toni and if it wasnt for his emulator.
deicidal is offline  
Old 13 April 2010, 11:26   #7
Graham Humphrey
Global Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 31
Posts: 10,974
Added a 'both' option due to demand
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 13 April 2010, 11:28   #8
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Cheers Graham
TCD is offline  
Old 13 April 2010, 11:43   #9
Anemos
70X7
Anemos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ἑλλάς
Posts: 1,073
Real Amiga of course!
Anemos is offline  
Old 13 April 2010, 11:46   #10
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
WinUAE.

Anyone who uses a real Amiga is an idiot.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 13 April 2010, 11:47   #11
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla View Post
WinUAE.

Anyone who uses a real Amiga is an idiot.
LMFAO!!!
FOL is offline  
Old 13 April 2010, 11:49   #12
seuden
uber cool demi god

seuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kent/England
Posts: 1,905
Haha!!

Both for me, WinUAE is just so convenient, I think work would notice if I was to have a real Amiga on my desk but you can't beat the nostalgia/feel of a real Amiga.
seuden is offline  
Old 13 April 2010, 11:59   #13
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
20 quid that KG voted for both
TCD is offline  
Old 13 April 2010, 12:56   #14
MazinKaesar
Super Robot Pilot
MazinKaesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Modena (Italy)
Age: 42
Posts: 848
Send a message via MSN to MazinKaesar Send a message via Yahoo to MazinKaesar
I use WinUAE just for lack of space. I really hope I can have a true 1200/040 in the future. I am not interested in "new generation" of Amiga (OS4, MorphOS, etc). I voted "both".
MazinKaesar is offline  
Old 13 April 2010, 13:29   #15
antonvaltaz
Registered User
antonvaltaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mirfield, West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 511
I voted 'both' although I only use WinUAE now. I am really starting to regret selling my A1200 with HD and Blizzard 1230/IV, but at the time I hadn't used it for about 10 years. Then I discovered EAB and how active the Amiga retro scene was and got back into it big time... but alas now only with WinUAE :-(

Still, realistically I don't have space for a separate Amiga, so perhaps it's just as well.
antonvaltaz is offline  
Old 13 April 2010, 13:43   #16
darkwave
Registered User
darkwave's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cambridge, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 119
WinUAE is great but it doesn't have the same feel as a real Amiga for me. I love the look and feel of the classic Amigas. I've still voted both though as I've used WinUAE in the past and will do in the future; it really is an amazing program!
darkwave is offline  
Old 13 April 2010, 13:50   #17
Anemos
70X7
Anemos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ἑλλάς
Posts: 1,073
Stick out tongue

Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla View Post
WinUAE.

Anyone who uses a real Amiga is an idiot.
about 90% of EAB users ! im in!
Anemos is offline  
Old 13 April 2010, 13:51   #18
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkwave View Post
I love the look and feel of the classic Amigas.
[ Show youtube player ]
Sorry, couldn't resist
TCD is offline  
Old 13 April 2010, 13:57   #19
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anemos View Post
about 90% of EAB users ! im in!
Exactly
killergorilla is offline  
Old 13 April 2010, 14:10   #20
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,928
Both of course.
Retroplay is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Networking WinUAE and my real Amiga ancalimon support.WinUAE 1 03 November 2011 13:30
WinUAE savestates on real Amiga Supamax support.Other 59 30 January 2009 10:42
Winuae 1.3.2 vs Real Amiga Dillon Retrogaming General Discussion 9 12 September 2006 13:42
Real Amiga HD to winUAE rartist New to Emulation or Amiga scene 14 01 May 2005 19:25
real Amiga HD under WinUAE Unregistered support.WinUAE 1 18 January 2005 11:33

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21542 seconds with 12 queries